We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chilli lovely place an oasis other guests national park cape york jane luke wildlife rainforest property roads range hosts river veranda wifi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

We were very surprised by the Greenhoose. We expected “rustic” from the website but received one of the friendliest stays we have experienced in remote accommodation. The staff are so friendly. The price is very reasonable. The facilities are really good. There is a very comprehensive kitchen if you bring your own food but meals can be purchased.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RobynLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We stayed at The Greenhoose twice during our trip to Iron Range national park last week. On the second night we were greeted back like old friends! Just a really lovely place with a welcoming atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble for Tim & crew and we felt very at home in their special place. The rooms are compact, but clean and with everything you need. Two of us had a double en suite room, one was in a single room and used shared facilities. Apparently they were clean and well maintained. The communal kitchen was one of the best we've used during our travels in Australia and was conducive to meeting other guests and chatting with the team who work there. We enjoyed listening to their yarns and gathering their knowledge of best places to visit and where to see the many things we were looking for. We self-catered (CEQ in Lockhart River is well-stocked and reasonably priced), but saw the meals that were provided and heard the positive comments of guests eating them! We were sad to leave and wish them all the best with their future plans. A must-stay in the Lockhart river area.

Room tip: All rooms are in dongas, in a clearing in the rainforest.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We'd meant to camp at Chilli Beach but the conditions were so inhospitable we went in search of an oasis and found it in the Greenhoose. We were warmly welcomed and really enjoyed our stay with clean comfortable accommodation around a beautiful green garden and friendly hosts who went out of their way to take us to a local swimming spot. Highly recommended! Would love to stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 424edwinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Nestled in a patch of Iron Range rainforest, the rooms are very small, and there is no WiFi, but it was our favorite place on our Queensland trip. The grounds and rooms are very clean, dinners were great, and above all the the owner and his family are very hospitable and helpful, whether it be the whereabouts of rare birds or an unmarked trail to a hidden waterfall. In addition to air conditioning and laundry, the best amenity were the communal camp fire and dinner table where you meet interesting people traveling through this remote area from artists to scientists and tradesmen to firemen.

Room tip: Dinners must be pre-booked.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank egropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Given the remote location it surprised us that Greenhoose existed. The hospitality from Stu and Lynne was warm and genuine. There are four small en-suite rooms and Lynne cooked a delicious supper each evening. It is a bit like staying in a friends house. If alcohol is needed you have to bring it with you for which there is no corkage. The lodge is also popular with contractors who add further colour to the place.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wynvlieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews