We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$130
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
76lynn
Cairns, Australia
What an amazing place
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2017
Right across the road from the beach and right in the middle of the rainforest. Hosts were extremely helpful in organising our tours. Listening to the waves and animal life, best relaxing break away. Definitely recommend.
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Looking towards Cape Tribulation from above Thornton beach on the Daintree coast.
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
AU$270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Restaurant
Jungle Lodge
Tripadvisor
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Queen Suite with Kitchenette
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$122
  • Vio.com
6.7 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
  • Vio.com
11.7 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$929
  • Hotels.com
    AU$929
  • Expedia.com
    AU$928
  • Priceline
14.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.2 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.0 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
9.5 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thornton Beach
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main road bbq facilities watch the sunrise off grid dean telstra rain birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Lynn and Jeff were amazing! Extremely helpful planning our 3 days in their area! We cooked some food. All was fine! Lynn and Jeff who were covering for the other couple. They would join us for happy hour and check up on our adventures! One evening adventure was cancelled due to weather and Lynn was able to track us down and tell us. As we had no phone. We are an adventures couple with a rental car and this place was perfect for us! We booked everything through Lynn.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lost_Roman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gralton, Manager at Thornton Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to have you with us at Thornton Beach Bungalows and we wish you all the best on your future adventures :)
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

we booked one of the two bungalows for one night and our experience is fantastic. A beautiful view, just across the cafe and a beautiful beach. The hosts were very nice and helped us to plan our day. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Bungalows have two independent cottages - we stayed in no.1 but n.2 is also equally good.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deepak V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2016

My partner and I stayed with Karen & Drew for a couple of days last week. We absolutely loved it! The location is super quiet, right across the road from a stunning beach (unfortunately no swimming because of crocs, but that's pretty normal for the area), and there are only two baches and the hosts' house, so it's very quiet. Across the road there's also a licensed cafe which we didn't use. Karen & Drew supplied us with extra stuff for cooking and using the brand new barbie, and were always there to give us tips for trips and our subsequent journey. The bach is tiny but has all you need, a fridge, kettle, crockery, and tea & coffee, with a wee deck and an additional seating area around the barbie.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RaphiEla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We just loved the little bungalows and what Thornton Beach had to offer. The bungalow was nice and small - perfect for 2. We loved having a little patio off the bungalow to sit on in the evening and reflect about the beauty that surrounds the area. At night time, the only sounds we heard were those of the rainforest and the ocean. Absolute peace!

The owner, David, was super friendly, helpful and informative. He provided us with ideas about where to eat in the area and what to do. Will most definitely recommend to anyone I know travelling up to the Cape Tribulation area.

Thanks so much!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WanderingAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We booked one night in the bungalows, it was everything we expected. The room is small, however, we spent most of our time out, so we only needed it to sleep and shower. The beach across the road was lovely and the bungalows are situated approximately in the middle of the Daintree so great for going either way.

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews