We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Raphi Ela

Lovely bach, lovely hosts, super relaxing stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Oct 2016
My partner and I stayed with Karen & Drew for a couple of days last week. We absolutely loved it! The location is super quiet, right across the road from a stunning beach (unfortunately no swimming because of crocs, but that's pretty normal for the area), and there are only two baches and the hosts' house, so it's very quiet. Across the road there's also a licensed cafe which we didn't use. Karen & Drew supplied us with extra stuff for cooking and using the brand new barbie, and were always there to give us tips for trips and our subsequent journey. The bach is tiny but has all you need, a fridge, kettle, crockery, and tea & coffee, with a wee deck and an additional seating area around the barbie.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Noah Creek
Booking.com
AU$215
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$215
  • eDreams
    AU$215
2.5 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$270
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$280
  • Hotels.com
    AU$270
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$278
3.2 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Restaurant
Deep Forest Lodge
Booking.com
AU$195
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
3.4 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$295
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$265
  • Hotels.com
    AU$280
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$295
5.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$462
  • Hotels.com
    AU$416
  • Expedia.com
    AU$404
  • Vio.com
5.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Breakfast included
Luxury Garden Loft Exterior
Official Site
AU$210
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
9.5 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Beachfront
Jungle Lodge
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Lol.travel
9.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$81
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$81
9.7 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Booking.com
AU$185
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$185
6.1 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$122
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
6.7 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Thornton Beach
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main road bbq facilities watch the sunrise off grid dean telstra rain birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We just loved the little bungalows and what Thornton Beach had to offer. The bungalow was nice and small - perfect for 2. We loved having a little patio off the bungalow to sit on in the evening and reflect about the beauty that surrounds the area. At night time, the only sounds we heard were those of the rainforest and the ocean. Absolute peace!

The owner, David, was super friendly, helpful and informative. He provided us with ideas about where to eat in the area and what to do. Will most definitely recommend to anyone I know travelling up to the Cape Tribulation area.

Thanks so much!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WanderingAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We booked one night in the bungalows, it was everything we expected. The room is small, however, we spent most of our time out, so we only needed it to sleep and shower. The beach across the road was lovely and the bungalows are situated approximately in the middle of the Daintree so great for going either way.

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This is a great location just across the road from the beach, The bungalows are comfortable and the hosts very welcoming. There was tea, coffee and milk provided with a fridge to keep any food you had brought with you. The traffic can be a little intrusive st some times during the early morning but the view across the bay and tranquility at other times makes up for it. Walk along the beach to the right and you might see the odd crocodile lazing in the sun! This is excellent value for money and ideal for exploring both up to Cape Tribulation and down to the discovery centre.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kem1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Planning to spend more time in the Daintree after leaving Port Douglas and its Southern Tourist hordes (and yes, we fit into that group, too ;-) our online research quickly convinced us that a Bungalow at TB would fit the bill. With only 2 set up on the property we quickly booked for 2 nights, knowing from photos and descriptions that things would be a little more basic than the usual run of apartment locations, with full facilities, which we normally favour.

But, the bungalows have a fridge and tea / coffee making, a good shower, mosquito proof fly screens, an effective ceiling fan and a great little covered front veranda, with deck chairs, from which to look out just a stones throw to the excellent TB Kiosk, and very natural beach with its little off-shore island.

Hosts Karen and Drew are very helpful and knowledgeable, as was everyone we met in this close little community. (Here, we should also especially mention Kim and other staff at the Kiosk, whose tucker we certainly enjoyed). As an FNQ boy in my youth, it was great to visit much - loved locations again, now accessible by hire car on sealed roads, and to enjoy some excellent and energetic walks. Karen provides guests with an encyclopaedic list of all the local attractions and options, with something for everybody.

Thoroughly recommended, a great little base. (Albeit a pity that the elusive Thornton Peak, although right in the immediate background, chose once again to hide demurely in the mists and rain during our stay. Next time! ;-)
PS Drew mentioned that he was looking into making portable electric BBQs available, for use on the front decks. That would be an excellent addition, in my view,

Room tip: Keep things shut at night, even in winter the mozzies can be lethal.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank growingold_never13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2016

This is a great base from which to explore the Cape Tribulation region. The cottage was comfortable and opposite the beach which was good for a relaxing walk, fishing and a sunset drink or two. Beautiful scenery, thousands of butterflies and the rainforest actually meets the sea.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews