We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kem1609
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Aug 2016
This is a great location just across the road from the beach, The bungalows are comfortable and the hosts very welcoming. There was tea, coffee and milk provided with a fridge to keep any food you had brought with you. The traffic can be a little intrusive st some times during the early morning but the view across the bay and tranquility at other times makes up for it. Walk along the beach to the right and you might see the odd crocodile lazing in the sun! This is excellent value for money and ideal for exploring both up to Cape Tribulation and down to the discovery centre.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$263
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$275
  • Booking.com
5.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$205
  • Hotels.com
9.5 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$896
  • Hotels.com
    AU$896
  • Expedia.com
    AU$896
  • Trip.com
14.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.2 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.0 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
34.8 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
34.9 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
67.8 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thornton Beach
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main road bbq facilities watch the sunrise off grid dean telstra rain birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Planning to spend more time in the Daintree after leaving Port Douglas and its Southern Tourist hordes (and yes, we fit into that group, too ;-) our online research quickly convinced us that a Bungalow at TB would fit the bill. With only 2 set up on the property we quickly booked for 2 nights, knowing from photos and descriptions that things would be a little more basic than the usual run of apartment locations, with full facilities, which we normally favour.

But, the bungalows have a fridge and tea / coffee making, a good shower, mosquito proof fly screens, an effective ceiling fan and a great little covered front veranda, with deck chairs, from which to look out just a stones throw to the excellent TB Kiosk, and very natural beach with its little off-shore island.

Hosts Karen and Drew are very helpful and knowledgeable, as was everyone we met in this close little community. (Here, we should also especially mention Kim and other staff at the Kiosk, whose tucker we certainly enjoyed). As an FNQ boy in my youth, it was great to visit much - loved locations again, now accessible by hire car on sealed roads, and to enjoy some excellent and energetic walks. Karen provides guests with an encyclopaedic list of all the local attractions and options, with something for everybody.

Thoroughly recommended, a great little base. (Albeit a pity that the elusive Thornton Peak, although right in the immediate background, chose once again to hide demurely in the mists and rain during our stay. Next time! ;-)
PS Drew mentioned that he was looking into making portable electric BBQs available, for use on the front decks. That would be an excellent addition, in my view,

Room tip: Keep things shut at night, even in winter the mozzies can be lethal.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank growingold_never13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2016

This is a great base from which to explore the Cape Tribulation region. The cottage was comfortable and opposite the beach which was good for a relaxing walk, fishing and a sunset drink or two. Beautiful scenery, thousands of butterflies and the rainforest actually meets the sea.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We stayed 3 nights at Thorntons and loved it. Best bit was the location, opposite the beach, cafe right there to sit and ponder life and it was roughly the middle of the coast so we could easily explore to Cape Trib and back to the river. Beds were comfy, room was a cosy size but manageable. No aircon but heaps of windows and a fan kept us very comfortable at night. Hosts were friendly and happy to book tours. The beach opposite is the only place we got phone/internet reception with Telstra too. Would recommend and hope to return.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Nice spacious rooms in the middle of the rainforest with the beach just across the road. Very quiet en peaceful area Nice helpful owners who are willing to give you all the information you need about the daintree rainforest.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Sadly we only were able to stay one night due to having to return for work. The Bungalow is perfect for people like us who travel light and don't need 5 star accommodation . Bed, Shower, Fridge and 50 metre walk to the beach. What more does one need ? ;-) The key was left for us as we were unsure of time of arrival. Facilities were all we expected and needed and very clean and well presented. Will certainly be back and hopefully for longer next time.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DancesWithGoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews