We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Giovanni V
Breda, The Netherlands

Sleeping on the beach

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2015
Nice spacious rooms in the middle of the rainforest with the beach just across the road. Very quiet en peaceful area Nice helpful owners who are willing to give you all the information you need about the daintree rainforest.
Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Noah Creek
AU$215
  • Priceline
    AU$215
  • Agoda.com
    AU$215
  • eDreams
    AU$215
2.5 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Deep Forest Lodge
AU$195
  • Priceline
    AU$195
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
3.4 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$295
  • Expedia.com
    AU$295
  • Hotels.com
    AU$251
  • Priceline
    AU$295
5.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
AU$459
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
5.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Breakfast included
Jungle Lodge
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$155
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
  • Hotels.com
    AU$147
9.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
AU$81
  • Priceline
    AU$90
  • Agoda.com
    AU$81
9.7 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Your Beautiful Rainforest Setting
AU$120
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
  • eDreams
    AU$120
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$250
  • Agoda.com
    AU$211
  • Priceline
    AU$226
11.7 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
AU$222
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
  • Priceline
    AU$216
9.5 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$929
  • Expedia.com
    AU$928
  • Hotels.com
    AU$929
  • ZenHotels.com
14.6 km from Thornton Beach Bungalows
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Thornton Beach
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
23
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main road bbq facilities watch the sunrise off grid dean telstra rain birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Sadly we only were able to stay one night due to having to return for work. The Bungalow is perfect for people like us who travel light and don't need 5 star accommodation . Bed, Shower, Fridge and 50 metre walk to the beach. What more does one need ? ;-) The key was left for us as we were unsure of time of arrival. Facilities were all we expected and needed and very clean and well presented. Will certainly be back and hopefully for longer next time.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DancesWithGoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night and loved it. Easy to find, two little cabins out on their own, owned by a very sweet couple. Thornton Beach is right across the road and there is a great spot for breakfast too. Cabins are cosy and just perfect for a couple who wants to head up and explore Cape Tribulation.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZoeLeigh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2015.
2 adults, 3 kids. Highly recommend the large bungalow. Everything you need is provided. Clean and well set out. Owners are very helpful. Great spot. We did the cape tribulation horse ride and the crocodile tour just down the road. Recommend them both.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Corin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2015

This is a lovely little cabin in the middle of the rainforest away from civilisation where we stayed for a couple of nights. It is a really good base to explore the beautiful surroundings. We went sea kayaking and jungle surfing thanks to karen for helping us with the bookings (she knows all the good things to do in this area!) there are plenty of places to eat within a short distance and we thoroughly enjoyed trying kangaroo and local fish at the Whet restaurant just up the road.
If you want to get away from your mobile phone and Internet this is the place for you. It isn't a massive space but the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is good, with the sea and the rainforest on your doorstep there is no need to spend much time in doors.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sarahfP3080WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Rented the large bungalow for 2 days. Bungalow situated with road to cross before entering beach. Very well laid out bungalow. Place is extremely quiet, and there is not much to do there. Cafe across road very mundane. You have to drive +10km to get to a restaurant (and they all close real early). The place is nice enough, just a bit boring. No wifi, no reception for mobile phone, no tv.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Poul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews