We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
387
256
91
42
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
256
91
42
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa safari great fun reindeer camp northern lights the main hotel frozen river snow suits and boots across the bridge petrol station husky ride transun reps ice hotel fantastic holiday icing on the cake once in a lifetime whole experience recommend this trip
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We had a four-night stay at the Davvi - comfortable but nothing fancy. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. The food was fine (despite all the negative reviews) - hats off to chef Dragos for the variety. Good, sustaining meals to keep out the cold: salads, soups, two choices for main course and he bakes lovely cakes!
Only one quibble: a problem with the plumbing which was supposedly fixed but when we reported it again, nothing was done.
We did a good range of activities but were lucky in that we had lots of daylight to enjoy it at this time of year and it wasn't too cold - they do provide thermal suits though. Everyone seemed to enjoy driving the dogs best of all; it was great fun.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the public rooms but not the bedrooms. We stayed in the main building to avoid having to get dressed against the cold coming in from the cabins.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Thank you for your review. Your kind comments regarding our chef Dragos has been passed on, we are pleased that you enjoyed the wholesome food that was on offer for all our guests. With regards to your comment about the plumbing, please be assured that your second report regarding the issue was addressed with maintenance and we are sorry that it was not fixed during your stay and apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Warm, comfortable and adequate. Get to the restaurant early though or the food is cold and there are no staff to serve you, because they are eating themselves. However the activities are great if a little expensive. Added bonus though we got to see the Northern Lights twice. I would probably return to take the kids.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future with your children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stay in this hotel for 7 days from the15th March 2015 as a Transun Aurora Hunter holiday package. The hotel is fairly basic but comfortable but we don't come here for a five star hotel experience. We joint this tour to see the Northern Light and we were not disappointed, we were privileged to see the light 7 nights during our stay. When we arrive were asked to give the reception our mobile number and they will text us when the light show up over the hotel and one evening they did and what a show of the wonder of the nature. The other nights when the light activities were not so strong we can see it up the hill behind the hotel about 15 minutes walk. Hotel staffs were friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and warm. After read other traveller experience we did bring a travel kettle and a hot water flask so that we have a hot drink while we stay up to four hours watching the light show in freezing night up the hill. The activities organised by the Transun and hotel were very enjoyable. The Transun representative Kate was alway available to sort out any problems during our stay.
We will treasure this holiday for many years to come.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabin.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HAHAHOLIDAY87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel, while simply furnished, is well maintained and is an ideal base for undertaking various Arctic activities during your stay. Furthermore, with walking trails behind the hotel up to a fantastic vantage point, our hotel is ideal for those wishing to watch the Northern Lights in the Arctic terrain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

For us this holiday was all about getting to see the northern lights and we weren't disappointed. Our holiday was a seven night stay at the Davvi Arctic Lodge in Karesuando Finland which we booked through Transun.
We found the room was adequate for our needs, no tea or coffee making facilities (more savvy travellers had brought their own kettle with them) . We would recommend booking a cabin rather than staying in the hotel if you prefer a bit more space, however this is more expensive. Our room had a very limited view as we were downstairs. The view from the restaurant was lovely.
Our holiday The Aurora Hunter included activities within the price, which we enjoyed immensely. More activities were available at a cost from Transun rep Kate (a lovely, happy, helpful young lady) We felt these extra activities were too expensive and so didn't book them, however, other guests did and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.
We chose to walk the short distance across the bridge( which links Finland to Sweden), wearing our Transun issued thermal snow suits. On the Swedish side of Karesuando we discovered a tourist information centre with very helpful staff who speak excellent English. We made arrangements via them with a local man to go out for a day long adventure in the beautiful Swedish frozen countryside. We highly recommend doing this as after seeing the northern lights this full day activity was the highlight of our holiday. Our guides were Swedish and spoke excellent English. They regaled us with stories of their adventures and local points of interest etc. We got to fish for salmon/trout through holes we bore in the ice and we ate moose meat cooked over an open fire in the snowy wilderness. The snow mobiles we used were different to those used by Transun and we found we were able to travel much faster, which was great fun.
The activities organised by Transun usually last max of 2hrs depending on the activity. The young guides have to cater for all abilities within the one group so some activities can be limited by the fears of those taking part.
We felt Transun could do more by providing nighttime transport to help their guests to find the at times elusive Northern Lights. A group of tourists organised their own transport to a local vantage point one night and were rewarded with the most spectacular aurora borealis display.
We had the most amazing holiday and would highly recommend the location to anyone wanting to see the lights and also experience snowy activities.

Room Tip: A cabin will give you more space and a private sauna. All the guests we spoke to who had a cabin said that they felt is was worth paying the extra. We had a room with a double bed and room for two further guests but there is no way four people could fit comfortably in the room as the folding sofa bed filled the remaining floor space in the room leaving no space for cases etc. Perfectly adequate for two people sharing though. Try to get a room on the first floor at the rear of the hotel as our room was on the ground floor and had a very limited view.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you particularly enjoyed the unique location of our hotel on the Finnish/Swedish border and were able to see the Northern Lights during your stay in a remote, wilderness and un-commercialised location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the davvi as part of a 7 day package holiday with transun. Transun was a very good company to travel with, no fuss at all with the flights and baggage. We were taken away right away to the hotel by Kate, who was very well organized and very happy and cheerful.
We had one issue on our return with a refund we were due, and they sorted it on the phone within 10 minutes, no questions asked.

The hotel: The bus journey was 2 hours, but you have lovely views of the frozen lakes and snow as you go, so it's not too bad. We stayed in aurora suite 2, and this room was lovely, the floors were always warm and we even had stunning views of the lights through the window, this room has well stocked tea and coffee making facilities, and the log fire always had plenty of wood to burn (and when they didn't, there was plenty of firewood lying around anyway). We spent many a happy evening with the fire lit enjoying the view.
The room also has a personal sauna that worked wonderfully and was nice to use after a cold day.
The electricity went out one evening, and maintenance was out within 15 minutes to fix it.
I also had a nosey at the cabins and the hotel rooms, and I would have been happy enough to stay in one of those, they were clean and tidy, what more do you need in such a beautiful place!!
We could not have asked for a better room or location.

The food: The food was very interesting... About 98 percent of the time the food was tasty and filling, my boyfriend is a very fussy eater and ate it all, one or two little odd dishes that were too odd even for me, but there are 4 courses every meal, so it's not like we were left starving, even if we were, there was a shop down the road with snacks. We took some noodles and snacks with us, but most of it came home with us. Breakfast was toast, bacon or sausage, egg and they had an omelette bar, as well as cereals and fruit.
I would recommend you take something to snack on, if you get a bit peckish or are a fussy eater, as the snacks there are rather expensive and drinks are not included with your meal.

The excursions: we booked practically all available excursions before we got out there, and we were not disappointed at all. The weather was warmer than expected so every day was beautiful and we had lovely views. Personal favorite was the husky ride by night, but even though it was expensive I would recommend going to see the ice hotel. The rooms there are amazing!
If you do decide to go to the igloo, take all the warm clothing you have, because it does get cold in the night (my water froze solid within an hour) and the temptation is there to stay out and look for the lights, you have the warm room as a backup, but you may as well brave the cold for the experience.
The excursions that come with the 7 day package were all very enjoyable, and gave you a taste of everything, when going to the reindeer park, again I would recommend wearing lots of clothes, it was the coldest i have ever been on that sleigh!
Although it seems more relaxed than the other excursions, the candlelit walk through the forest was well worth it, it was beautiful! The fire and hot gloggi waiting for us at the top was the cherry on the cake, and again with a gorgeous light Show to entertain us, we hardly felt the cold wind.
We were lucky enough to have amazing northern light shows every night, with the mixture of solar storms, sunsets, sunrises and the eclipse we literally saw everything on offer! We had the lights on most of the night trips we did, and the bus driver was happy to wait for us to finish watching them before taking us home. The night husky ride went on for longer, as by the time we got back, the lights were in full swing and no one wanted to be stuck on the bus. I watched the lights dance while a husky buried himself in my scarf. It was a truly amazing night.

We didn't bother taking an expensive camera with us, but other people seemed to have a lot of fun messing around with theirs, and took awesome photos.

All in all, this is a once in a life time experience we won't forget in a hurry.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you Kathryn M for leaving a lovely review. We are so pleased to read that your enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and that you especially enjoyed your accommodation in the Aurora Suite and all the fantastic facilities the room offers. The village of Karesuando is on the official Northern Lights route and we are pleased to read that you were able to see the Northern Lights throughout your seven night stay. We have had some truly spectacular sightings this year and the vantage point located behind the hotel up a small trail is certainly an ideal viewing spot for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews