We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jussantupa(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hetan Majatalo(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lapland Hotels Hetta(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
USD 117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lannavaara Lodge(Lannavaara)
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lapland Hotel Pallas(Muonio)(Great Value!)
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ounasloma Luxury Cabins(Enontekio)(Great Value!)
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveller rating
386
256
91
41
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
256
91
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel kettlesanta safarigreat funreindeer campnorthern lightsthermal suits and bootsthe main hotelfrozen riveracross the bridgepetrol stationhusky ridetransun repsarctic circleice hotelfantastic holidayicing on the cakeonce in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 809 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A wonderful experience. After reading other's reviews I must say " It takes all sorts." As for the French comments, I can only suggest that they haven't holidayed in France very often. The Davvi Arctic Lodge is what is to be expected. Basic. Transun give you what you have paid for. Any extras are at a price, but you can get them for half the cost from Tony in the village. The people who brought Kronor should check their geography. The food was good and varied, not up to Heston's standards I agree, but I've never liked lark's tongues and faggots anyway. All the activities were enjoyable and well organised. If others found the staff rude, I feel that they should study their own approach to overworked staff. The trip to the ice hotel could be combined with the return airport trip. Mandy, in my opinion, was not the cheerful rep that I dealt with. The free snow suits provided were great and I need not have taken my own ski gear. We took our own electric kettle, coffee and wine box, which was good planning. The other guests, all Transun, were a mixed lot who mostly fit in. Luckily no kids. The main entertainment was provided by one woman who complained about absolutely everything. She had no idea that she became a laughing stock. Stick to Saga cruises love! The garage,shop,cafe at the bottom of the hill was a good break from the hotel. We found out too late that we could have hired the snowmobiles for ourselves and not been part of the organised funeral procession. Saw the 'Lights' on four of the six nights by staying up late, well worth it. The locals were friendly, spoke some English and were happy to let us ice fish without paying for the privilege. My wife was given a free ride on a snowmobile, but sadly he brought her back. A great holiday with a difference.

Room Tip: This is a basic holiday. Plan ahead.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Davvi Arctic Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Log cabin are simple but pleasant enough. However, there is no sound insulation whatsoever with an incredibly thin and ill-fitting door between adjoining cabins. We could hear the people next door breathing. Not very romantic! Hotel reception (and presumably) management are well aware of this problem, but clearly unwilling to spend money on improving sound insulation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank London1000930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you found the noise levels from your neighbours too high during your stay. The cabins are traditional timber built, semi-detached cabins. We sincerely hope that you were able to enjoy your Arctic experience despite this and should you chose to visit us again we would suggest one of hotel rooms, or perhaps one of our new and modern Aurora House rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the Davvi for a week as part of a Transun Northern Lights trip. It is almost impossible to review the trip,and the hotel seperately as everyone staying is on one of the Transun packages. The hotel rooms are adequate for space and facilities if a bit tired - we stayed in the Hotel itself which meant we didn't have to get togged up in our arctic gear to go for meals; the lodges and aurora rooms looked nice and had things like Tea and Coffee facilities which would have been good in the hotel ( or just put tea and coffeee on tap alll day). The Transun organised activities were great and very enjoyable with most of the staff enthusiastic and personable despite this being the last week of the season. It is areally good idea to have something to occupy the days prior to the nighttime Northern Lights watching and unlike other trips Transun include an activity every day. My only real criticism is of the food at the Davvi which has been described as "School Dinners" - the menu is quirky and light on vegetables but the food served was generally overcooked and then kept warm. We felt that a little more effort (not necessarily expense) in the kitchen could have delivered much better meals.
Fortunately the excitement of the Northern Lights, the activities and the camaraderie still made it a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: If you don't want to "dress" for dinner then stay in the Hotel. The facilities in the lodges are better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gricper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Davvi Arctic Lodge and also your experience whilst here in Finland. We value your feedback and will pass your comments onto our head chef. We hope that you will chose to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Recently returned having had a fabulous time! We booked the trip 9 months ago and were becoming concerned at the negative reviews on here, but we needn't have worried. The hotel is more than adequate and all the staff so friendly and welcoming it gives it a really nice feel. The restaurant was clean and has super views of the surrounding area - and the food was plentiful and absolutely fine. The pre-departure information that Transun provides says that the variety of food is limited by what they can obtain and, having done the 2 hour transfer from Kiruna airport and hardly passing through any towns, I can understand why.

There were 6 in our group and we stayed in 3 lodges. We were pleasantly surprised at their size and they were beautifully clean. The heating is really efficient and we were glad we could turn it down or off when we wanted to. Spare pillows and blankets are also provided. The sauna was also nice and clean and a real treat when we'd been out in the cold. I don't think the hotel should bother with the 'cleaning' service as it only consists of emptying bins and straightening the duvet and we're quite capable of doing that.

The activities were well organised and ran to time and the instructors good fun. All the equipment was in a good condition. The thermal suits and boots were also of a really good quality and they really do work. Everyone was really friendly and keen that we got the most out of each activity.

I have to agree that the walls between the rooms are very thin and you can easily hear what is going on next door and sometimes even understand their conversations - this is why I've only given this review 4 stars.

As the majority of people going to the Davvi want to see the Northern Lights, I have to agree with other reviewers that our stay would have been enhanced by some form of alert system. We knew before we went that they don't offer one but it would have meant that we didn't miss them on our first night as they didn't come out until about 2 am and we were shattered after a long journey. We were fortunate that we saw a really superb display on our last night.

Special thanks go to Mandy, the Transun rep who works so hard and was always smiling. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAS150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

We are delighted to hear that your group of six enjoyed your stay. Our semi detached cabins make an excellent choice of accommodation, particularly as they each have a private sauna. We do however appreciate that as they are traditional timber built cabins you can on occasion hear your neighbours. I hope this did not disturb you too much, we do find that any noise is usually minimal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned sadly did not see the lights. Our cabin was lovely and so was the sauna. As previously mentioned the food was rather random and was greatly reduced as the days went on. We left on the last day of the season so breakfast was very little. Worse there was no wine, beer or G&T on our last night as "it was not worth getting any in". We did not have an end of season deal- it was an expensive holiday so I thought that was poor. The trips were great especially the huskys - it could have been longer. As recommended by Bath travel we took Swedish kroner but we were in Finland and the exchange rate to euros was very poor which made everything very expensive. Also they failed to tell us we needed our driving licence to do the snow mobiles.
We were late arriving due to fog and late departing due to an internal flight. On both flights they ran out of food- so take supplies.
Overall the stunning location and activities did make up for the shortcoming so would recommend it but perhaps earlier in the season!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased to hear you had an excellent trip. Although we apologise that our bar stocks ran low on your final night. It is surprising to hear that you were advised to bring Swedish Krona as, although we are on the border, we are in Finland so our main currency is Euro. The tour operator we work with issue travel tips to all clients advising them of currency and to bring a driving licence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews