We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner for anniversary ”
Review of Thai Pothong

Thai Pothong
Ranked #1 of 190 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$1 - AU$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Newtown
Description: The iconic Thai Pothong restaurant located in the Sydney’s Newtown district has been a favourite for over 20 years. Its reputation for authentic Thai food, impeccable Thai service, and a truly Thai ambiance is the recipe for a truly Thai experience. Thai Pothong (Golden Pho Leaf) is named after the “Pho” tree under which Buddha became enlightened on the full moon of May in his 35th year.
Reviewed 8 October 2023

Came here for our anniversary and they really made an effort to make it special, with balloons, complimentary deserts with heart themed decorations + a nice hand made tea cup

Food was excellent too, highlight for me was the red curry

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick Thai Pothong, Owner at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

We are so pleased you had a wonderful time and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (2,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2023

The service here was just incredible! The wait staff were so quick, gracious, and overall really friendly. We celebrated our mum’s birthday and they sang, brought ice cream, and even gave us a small gift!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dylan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick Thai Pothong, Owner at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your experience, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023

The menu had a great variety of dishes to choose from, all of which were bursting with rich and flavorful ingredients. The Pad Thai and Green Curry were my personal favorites, perfectly balancing sweet, sour, and spicy flavors.
The service was exceptional, with friendly and knowledgeable staff who made great recommendations. The prices were also reasonable for the quality and portion size of the dishes.
The only downside was the limited seating, so I would recommend making a reservation beforehand. 4 stars!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Y255DBmohamedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick Thai Pothong, Owner at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Wow! Thank you for your review, it’s much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Great service, great food although busiest night of the week and thank you for the warm celebration of my birthday.Strongly recommended

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ebru O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick Thai Pothong, Owner at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Thank you for your positive review, it’s much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2023

The food at Thai Pathong is excellent and the birthday celebrations are great fun! We will be back. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank KMLade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick Thai Pothong, Owner at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Pothong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Pothong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.