We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not surprised it has won awards”
Review of Thai Pothong

Thai Pothong
Ranked #1 of 190 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$1 - AU$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Newtown
Description: The iconic Thai Pothong restaurant located in the Sydney’s Newtown district has been a favourite for over 20 years. Its reputation for authentic Thai food, impeccable Thai service, and a truly Thai ambiance is the recipe for a truly Thai experience. Thai Pothong (Golden Pho Leaf) is named after the “Pho” tree under which Buddha became enlightened on the full moon of May in his 35th year.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

What an amazing authentic Thai restaurant
It was completely full on a Sunday night - a testament to how good it is
Even though it was busy we did not wait long for our lovely food
The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful
It is easy to see why it has won awards
The attached gift shop is fascinating and very tempting
If you live in Sydney or holidaying it is a strong recommendation

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Nerilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,944 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

No complains, great foods, great service, went there for friends birthday..this is the place with lots of thai quirks right? it was a tad creepy for me

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hellogiselgisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I went for dinner before a movie and had a great time. Attentive service, decent chicken larb and the pad khi mao was brilliant. I also like the quite intense gilded stuff that's everywhere.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThaiPothong, Manager at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Hi Claire,

Thanks for your review and choosing Thai Pothong for your Pre-Cinema dinner. Many customers let our staff know how much time they have, so the kitchen can give priority to the food so our guests can relax and enjoy there meal with enough time to have a relaxed walk to the cinema.

Happy to know that you enjoyed our food and admired our Thai decoration around the restaurant which is all for sale. Looking forward to keeping you as a customer.
xxxNick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Came here 6 years ago & returned for the betel leaf prawn which was divine. Not worth the rest of the experience. Unfortunate as staff did their best with an overwhelmed kitchen who forgot our order.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank D8893RAjennifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThaiPothong, Manager at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Jennifer,

Thanks for your review. Yes, the Betel leaf entree is one of our most popular dishes.

I do apologize for the mistake in your order. Luckily, is a rare problem which can occur, but when you mentioned it to your waiter, your order would receive priority.

Thanks you for your time in sending you review which we always use to improve out service and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Great Thai food,

Everything was so delicious no complaints.

Staff very friendly, well presented.

Food was great, starter main and desert..

No complaints.

Enjoy

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThaiPothong, Manager at Thai Pothong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Stefan,

Thanks for your time in sending your review of Thai Pothong. We appreciate your compliments. The team looks forward to reading all reviews in order to improve. Please come back soon.

Regards,
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Pothong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Pothong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.