We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, exceptional customer service”
Review of Thai Pothong

Thai Pothong
Ranked #1 of 190 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$1 - AU$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Newtown
Description: The iconic Thai Pothong restaurant located in the Sydney’s Newtown district has been a favourite for over 20 years. Its reputation for authentic Thai food, impeccable Thai service, and a truly Thai ambiance is the recipe for a truly Thai experience. Thai Pothong (Golden Pho Leaf) is named after the “Pho” tree under which Buddha became enlightened on the full moon of May in his 35th year.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Was in a group of 14 people, and all was great and did not disappoint. Food was tasty, staff were plenty and didn't disappoint. Great Thai restaurant to try and prices are good for serving sizes. Even ordering the banquet (Phuket) option there was too much food as serving sizes were big. Thanks thai potong!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Chardlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,962 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Had a Pad Thai each. Tasty, fresh ingredients. Quick and attentive service, and a quite nice atmosphere. The portion size was decent as well...

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank geissepeter825
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Staff are friendly enough... Had to wave someone down to get drinks... Felt pressured to order fast.... Not relaxing. Food very average ..... Wouldn't return

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank FrancesFrankieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Beautiful ambiance, yummy food, fast service, and friendly staff. I went on a weekday evening and there were lots of people there but enough seating to accommodate me and my husband without reservations. The drinks menu is particularly good. Will definitely go back again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Minal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Even with a confirmation email they didn't have our booking for our group BUT they found us a table. We ordered a banquet and the food was delicious. Staff were attentive and helpful.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank SarahMarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Thai Pothong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Pothong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.