We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morwellham Quay- Working Village, Mine & Craft Centre
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting place

We arrived at this quay late on in the day and decided there wasn't enough time to pay the entrance... read more

Reviewed 4 December 2018
Ann H
,
York, United Kingdom
An extraordinary insight into the past

First impressions were of a rather run down attraction, not helped by some dull autumnal weather... read more

Reviewed 15 November 2018
Andyy760
,
Wickham, United Kingdom
Read all 763 reviews
  
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
338
217
101
65
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
217
101
65
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ship inn chocolate making train ride victorian school chocolate experience living history copper mining victorian clothes chocolate lolly school teacher period costume tin mine the cottages tamar valley the pub victorian times dressing up
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 763 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Smaller than I thought. Defi overpriced for what it is. We obviously went when the mine train driver was having an off day as he was very rude and impatient! Can think of better ways to spend the day and defi don't feel the need to visit again!!!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank MummyB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This site has had an unusual and interesting history - from supplying half the world's copper for 10 years, to a market garden supplying early fruit and veg to London. There are several buildings to visit, each with something interesting to see. There is plenty of information about the history of the site, along with craft displays, and there is usually a Victorian School Ma'm, waiting to inveigle visiting children into her schoolroom. There is also a train ride through a mine. Nearby, there is an operational hydro power station you can see inside, with story boards describing its construction and history.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank BrianAnalogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had a good day but the entrance fee was overpriced and you pay extra for the mine train when really should be included. We had lunch in the restaurant but they don't start serving till 12 not very good when you have the 12:30 train and hungry children should really start at 11:30.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mufcadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

We visited on a cold snowy day and had a warm welcome from Naomi. Naomi gave us a tour of the village which was very interesting and she was very knowledgeable. All of the staff were friendly and cheerful despite the cold weather. We also enjoyed making chocolate and bread which really added to the experience, and they tasted delicious. We went in the cafe a couple of times to warm up, very friendly service and I had a lovely hot chocolate. We finished the day by learning how to make rope and then playing Victorian games.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank LT0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Arrived mid-afternoon and the place was really quiet, It was a bitterly cold day so that may have played a part. Met by a lady and shown where to pay and given a map of the site. Easy to walk around the place. Video clips were interesting, but it was too cold to hang about for long. Best to visit when it is warmer.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews