We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a casual sunset dinner 🌅 ”

Waterfront Store and Cafe
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

Found this lovely cafe/restaurant by chance on a summer’s evening drive. It is in such a beautiful location, with a good menu of tasty food. We had the lobster and the Salmon pie. Both dishes were tasty washed down by a nice Chardonnay. I highly recommend this quirky place for something a bit different - we had a lovely evening there and will return.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank wwwazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2020 via mobile

Stay Away from this Venue if you enjoy proper food quality.
My experience today was unequivocally BAD.
Ordered and paid for a Poke Salmon Bowl and what I received was nothing like an authentic Poke Bowl.
Salmon was off-cuts of the belly with fat ‘more fat than salmon flesh!
There was supposed to be a “refreshing Soy and Lime dressing” but no sign of this.
The plate had shredded vegetables around a bland flavoured rice dome and about 80 gram of picked ginger.
I returned the plate and pointed out how poor the salmon was with so little flesh just belly fat and asked the staff about it. The chef didn’t bother to consider my concerns.
I then ordered and paid for a second dish Bouillabaisse and SERIOUSLY again this was nothing like a Bouillabaisse - it was stale seafood swimming in a thick tomato paste soup mixture. The menu stated ‘Fresh Seafood’ and let me say that the 1/2 cut Spanner Crab was completely empty of any crabmeat! The octopus was Off and the fish was like tasteless hard soy....
Yes, I paid for both meals, the mature female manager showed no concern nor interest in my experience -
IF YOU DO GO THERE STAY WELL AWAY FROM THESE TWO DISHES - Appalling

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank SunZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2020

We visited twice in three days - one being Melbourne Cup & we could not fault. Excellent location, fabulous atmosphere, very quirky and casual and the food is delicious with a big selection & well priced, The staff are fantastic - very attentive, professional and friendly - we loved it and will definitely be back !

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denise4554
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

I honestly don't see what the fuss is about.
This place is strange. A small cramped restuarant at the rear of a convenience store overlooking the water. The food is really average. The bouillabaisse was awesome however everything else was just cheap and nasty. $500 ... total rip off. No parking... order and pay at the counter. Very rushed service... they just want to churn out the numbers. Every time you want to order a drink , or order dessert or add to your order you have to line up and pay. Two filthy toilets. Alot of people just concerned with clearing your table mid way through the meal. Everytime you come close to finishing a dish , a soldier is waiting at your side to take your plate. Advice to the owner. Life is not just about money. Offer some real Italian food. You would not eat this... why subject people to this cheap food. Stop thinking about your pocket and offer a relaxed environment. Such a shame... never will we return.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank DavidBasilious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2020

The lack of communication from staff spoilt what otherwise was a lovely lunch out with family in a great location. Firstly our entree arrived at the same time as the mains when we had asked for the entree to arrive before the mains. Secondly our coffees had just arrived when we were told we would have to leave as our table was booked for another group and that group had arrived. Before finishing our coffees the door behind us was opened by a member of staff with the group waiting to take our table and we had to leave with one of our group not getting to finish her drink. We were literally ushered out just after 90mins with not having been given any warning that we had limited time for our booking which probably explains why entree and main meal arrived at the same time. I will certainly rethink visiting this cafe again especially after the treatment we received and since at the time of booking there was no indication of a time limit on bookings.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lovetravelling4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Waterfront Store and Cafe also viewed

Church Point, Pittwater
Narrabeen, Warringah
 

Been to Waterfront Store and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.