We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
199
5
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
5
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine hot tub haven room wet room little touches breakfast in bed thought of everything treehouse restaurant highly recommend it to everyone proper coffee perfect place to relax on arrival shampoo and conditioner amazing night perfect hosts be visiting again clear night
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a few days away staying at birdsong cottage and all i can say is WOW what a little hidden gem.Richard and Sandra were the perfect hosts.we arrived to a bottle of champagne on ice and the hot tub all ready to go.the room did not dissapoint had everything you need for a few days relaxation.we were woken with a lovely breakfast sausage stottie and fresh warm croissants and orange juice .also the room had a coffee machine and little hidden extras in fridge and little pots around room filled with sweets.we had a fab time for my birthday and most definetly will be visiting again.i would highly recommend it to everyone.tucked away just off the a1 central to everywhere you would need to visit.also Richard gave us tips on where to go for food and daytrios very helpful lovely couple so friendly cant wait to book again

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a great review, Richard and I really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday break and all that the Haven has to offer. Look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed a few times in their Haven suite. Comfortable, cosy room with a hot tub on the balcony. Room well equipped with a tea and coffee machine and snacks. Owners very friendly and welcoming, greet you when arrive and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Will certainly continue to return and would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, we really appreciate it. It was lovely to have you stay with us again and we are delighted that you plan to return. Richard and I look forward to seeing you again and are very grateful for the recommendations..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

We were made very welcome upon arrival and the standard of accommodation was excellent. Everything was clean, in nice condition and of good quality. As well as a kettle for making hot drinks our room also had a fridge with real milk and a proper coffee maker with a choice of good quality coffees. Our breakfast was delivered to our room (never had that before) at the requested time and we enjoyed stotties (never had that before either) and the more usual continental breakfast options. If ever we are looking for accommodation in the area again Richard and Sandra would certainly be our first port of call.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stmartinsdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, Richard and I really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities in your room and our breakfast stotties.
We hope you made the climb to the top of Preston Tower and that you had a safe onward journey and look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Tucked away and hidden from the A1 we found the gorgeous Haven room at the B&B the perfect escape from everyday life. Lots of little hidden charms in the room itself, and the whole place smelt amazing. Lovely bathroom, great black out blinds and very comfy bed. Then there’s outside, we were expecting to be on first floor, especially when we knew about the hot tub. What a treat it was when we found out and the view from balcony and hot tub were stunning looking out over the garden and fields. We opted for sausage stotties (!!!) and they were delivered promptly as promised and were the perfect end to our stay....well not quite the end as it would be rude not to have another dip in the hot tub. Perfect night away for us. Thank you!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rachelaynsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, Richard and I really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that The Haven has to offer. V pleased that you liked my special blend in the oil burner, that is one of my favourite scents. It was lovely that you were able to relax and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We had two nights here last weekend and it was fantastic, Richard and Sandra have thought of everything, looking in the drawer for the hair dryer my wife found the plaster, sun cream, and other essential things you never really think of. Bowl with sweets and crisps on the side with a bar of chocolate in the fridge. Recommended several local restuarants, gave us cab numbers if we needed them and information on the locality and places to go. Local information in the room. They have just covered everything and made us extremely welcome.

Room Tip: LIsten to their recommendations.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraNorthumberland, Owner at Birdsong Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, Richard and I really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are really pleased with the positive feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews