We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen / Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Lounge
Roll Top Bath in the Main Bathroom
May Day Celebrations
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wellow, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jackrusse...
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a really nice stay at this beautiful old cottage. The village was very pretty and the pub was just across the road!
We loved the inside of the cottage, surprisingly big, with two lounge's. we spent most evenings listening to our I pod music on the music player that was in one of the lounges. We also enjoyed watching a couple of the dvd films.
The kitchen was well equipped, and it was lovely to have tea and coffee provided as is dishwasher powder and toilet rolls.
Its lovely to find a cottage that will take dogs as well, our Jack Russell had a lovely holiday as well!
The only thing i would say is that in the past the cottage may of had some damp areas which had been painted over and unfortunately while we were there the paint was flaking off , which did not look good.
My daughter slept in the small double room and she felt that the mattress needs replacing as she could feel the springs coming through on one side of the bed.
These issues are easy resolved so would not stop us from coming back to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Dear Jackrussellmad

The cottage is due some redecoration next week. Thank you for telling us about the mattress - this will be replaced immediately.
We are so glad you had a nice time at our cottage and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, nice facilities for a family
Liked least: Garden, rather have a jacuzzi than a sauna
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the untidiness of our cottage garden. I have held discussions with our gardening company and advised them that their current standard is not acceptable and I will now be completing spot checks. I have sent you a letter by separate cover to your home address and once again apologies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
west midlands
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KfromHels...
Helsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An olde world cottage in a quiet village location”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A quaint old cottage with a traditional interior that one would expect for its age. Our family of 5 adults (+1 dog) stayed here for a week in mid-June 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We are a seasoned 'cottage rental' family and believe its 4 star rating, compared to others we have used, is about right but no higher. Car parking wasn't an issue as we were informed before booking that we'd need to park on the road, a quiet road close to the village green. Access to the garage for other than bike storage is not an option due to shared access/ownership with the neighbour. The seating in the main (TV) room was a little uncomfortable after a time and we suggest the owner considers upgrading to something more fitting with the room's character. Or perhaps move the TV into the other room where the seating is far more comfortable and welcoming. Cottage is dog friendly and the back garden is reasonably secure.

One word of warning....the staircase is very steep with a 90' turn at the top and may not suit the less mobile or infirm guest. Going up wasn't an issue but coming down for a 6 foot person with big feet was interesting.

There's a pub across the road for good food and real ale (The Old Red Lion) but book a table early if you intend going on a weekend evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location close to Sherwood Forst and local outdoor attractions
Liked least: TV room furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you for your comments about the TV. We kept one of the living rooms as a quiet room with lots of books but we are considering buying an additional TV so that there will be one both living rooms.
The garage is small but a can be used for a small car and access is not normally a problem. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future and delighted that you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Mablethorpe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absoluteley superb cottage.
Beautiful comfortable lounges and excellent kitchen/diner.
To use the term "fully equipped" does not do justice to this cottage. The kitchen really does have everything that you could want.
Lots of extra touches such as loo rolls, tea cloths, dishwasher tablets..we could go on!
As other reviewers have noted, the stairs are steep and winding (as you might expect in an old cottage) but we are both around 70 and had no problems.
An added bonus for us was that the garden is secure for our small dog and we could let her out without worrying.
It is easily the best cottage that we have ever stayed in and thoroughly reccommended.
Excellent pub (Olde Red Lion) a short stroll over the village green.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable seating
Liked least: Nothing that we could really pick out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review and glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at White Horse Cottage.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards, Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing