We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Something unusual

This place took a lot of finding but eventually arrived in car park. There several wind driven... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2019
jbarryleven
,
Beverley, United Kingdom
A fun place for enthusiasts

It's not easy nowadays to see wind-engines, they are mostly in ruins and in inaccessible places. So... read more

Reviewed 29 September 2019
John B
Read all 25 reviews
  
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
16
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
8
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2019

This place took a lot of finding but eventually arrived in car park. There several wind driven structures in the area.near the tearoom. At first we were left to walk round and not particularly impressed as we did not understand the exhibits. However the owner gathered us all together and gave an excellent and informative talk on each of the wind devices. She took us to each in turn and was able to make them operate which was very impressive. The tour took over an hour and was very interesting. We finished with a coffee and cake before leaving

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jbarryleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

It's not easy nowadays to see wind-engines, they are mostly in ruins and in inaccessible places. So it's a real treat for a historic windpower enthusiast like me to be able to see a collection of them, from home and abroad, with good interpretation , as well as some bits of steam engineering. Nice welcoming people on site to talk to too.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurne, Owner at Wind Energy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Dear John, thank you for taking the tme to reviw your visit with us. Reviews are very important and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We have a new exhibit that we are working on so something new if you revisit us. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019 via mobile

Good day out and good location best for holidays and day trips also it's good for parties recommend to all others across the country

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank brianjQ952VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurne, Owner at Wind Energy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Thank you for your review - we really appreciate it. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

We expected to see a lot of windmills and other "yesterday" derelict engineering. What we got was a tour de force of British heritage of past wonders of engineering that deserve attention from engineers today to help solve present day demands for clean energy. " It's all been done before" is a cliche phrase for take notice and learn from the past as they knew how to make things work. A great learning experience illustrated by working examples of how to get energy out of the (thin) air.
Lovely dedicated amiable volunteers engaged in making things work to demonstrate how to create power and money for nothing. If you are not interested in engineering then there are ample supplies of cake and tea to satisfy you. Wish i lived close by as i would wish to get involved.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank bigchris2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurne, Owner at Wind Energy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. Our volunteers work very hard and without them the museum could not survive. We wished you lived close by too :) - hope to see you again, many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019 via mobile

Something we had planned to do a while ago and finally got around to it. Well worth the visit and was great to have a really informative talk about the history of the area and the exhibits.
We didn’t have children with us but there are activities for them to do as well inside. The majority of the site is outside and there is parking on site.
If coming by boat suggest mooring on the 24 hour quiet mooring between Potter Heigham and the Repps staithe and then taking the short walk along the river behind the bungalows. Check the website for opening as it isn’t open every day.
A welcome cup of coffee with biscuits rounded off our visit.
We look forward to returning when more of the exhibits are restored and running.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 607flissm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurne, Owner at Wind Energy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated - sorry for the delayed response ! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit as our customer experience is very important to us. We have achieved a lot more of the restoration projects throughout the summer and our Wallis Titt wind engine that was laying on the floor is now up in all its glory and a full set of sails! - Hope to see you again and many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews