We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maalaea Banyans
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
41
16
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
16
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnikta houstonhot tubsugar beachbeach bumsocean viewthe ownersecond homewould return in a heartbeatwind blowsgrounds are immaculatefourth floormin walkwhale watchfresh fruitgreat spotmaui ocean centerevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We have stayed here for several years in a row now and will continue to come back. The value is very good. Awesome views, clean rooms and grounds are well maintained. Love the BBQ! We don't use the pool much but we do enjoy the hot tub periodically. We especially love how quiet it is at night and actually have never experienced noisy people there at any time of day.
It was surprising to read a couple of poor reviews here. All I can think is that there are two sides to every story. We have had an excellent rapport with the management at the Banyans. Both, Patty and Rory are super nice people and we have recommended this place to our friends knowing that they will take care of them.
The central location is also very convenient for activities and...the Trade Winds are awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CnRontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here as a group of two couples and a fifth person. While the price seemed reasonable when we booked, after staying a week, I would not recommend this property for the following reasons:
1) The manager was very rude. When we asked for a third pool key, he looked at me as if I were from outer space and told me "that will be $25 for each key if you lose them." He then begrudginly retreived the key and stated " I have NEVER given out THREE pool keys." Hello- with two couples and a fifth person all doing our own thing, was that such a big ask?
2) We received approval from the condo owner before booking to have a catered private dinner party for my wife's 50th birthday on the grounds for eight people. The manager was advised of this. The "quiet" hours posted in the lobby begin at 10 PM. At 9pm, the manager approached our group and demanded that we "stop telling jokes and laughing as I am going to bed." Well, then post the quiet hours as beginning at 9pm and we would have scheduled accordingly. This was rude and against the posted rules.
3) WIND WIND WIND. Due to the venturi effect of the trade winds (easily 25-35 knots ALL the time,) rushing through the West Maui mountains and Haleakola, this is the MOST windy location I have ever been to. Nice for not feeling the sunburn, but not good for reading by the pool or doing anything else outside.
4) Pesky flies ALWAYS at he pool. Don't know if it may be the rotten astroturf by the pool or what, but sure ruined the pool experience every time.
5) Hard to sleep- only one small a/c unit in a 5 person unit. Those upstairs got really hot as the a/c did not do much for that area.
6) Crappy beds. Very dated beds- reminded me of a cheap motel or worse in terms of comfort.
7) Very small second bathroom- no fart fans, and watch out or you'll hit our needs sitting on the toilet.

Overall, next time I will spend more money to get a better place. This place surely does prove the adage "you get what you pay for!!"

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank flyndive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My family spent 7 days in Hawaii and we stayed at the Maalaea Banyans, a top floor loft unit. The Maalaea Banyans is only 15 minutes from the airport, which is very nice, parking was never a problem. The rooms are priced right, but there are shortcomings. The complex was built in the 60’s so many of the rooms are small. Our bathroom was tiny, as well as the Kitchenette. There was a small air conditioner, but we never used it as the trade winds were blowing, and when I say blowing I mean 25-35 MPH constant. The wind whips through the units like a hurricane. Sleeping was very difficult. The up side is that the pool and lawn side of the building that faces the ocean is protected.

The pool is small along with the hot tub. Funky green astro turf around the sides. Very restrictive hours of use and the management is not kid friendly. Food and groceries is another problem, only one small store nearby, otherwise it’s a 20-30 minute trip. There is a very nice view out of every unit, but the beach is rocky. There are two BBQ’s out on the lawn area, with the amount of people in the unit they should have four. Why should you have to wait to BBQ??

If you bring children, the pool is too small , there is no beach, they can't make noise on the lawn area. There is nothing for them to do. These are not top notch units, most are rented by private individuals and the furnishings can be good to poor. The buildings and grounds are kept clean. Would be nice if the pool was larger, or if they had a commercial ice machine. I guess you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank daytripper121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed in unit 208 for the 3rd time. http://www.mauisbestcondo.com is the owner's web site. There you can see just how attractive this place is. Sitting on the lanai you can watch the boats go in and out of Maalaea harbor or watch the whales play during whale season. A person could easily throw a rock into the bay from the lanai, you're THAT close to the water. The unit is equipped with an air conditioner, but we have never used it. The trade winds provide plenty of air movement in the condo keeping it quite comfortable. A fully equipped kitchen is a real money saver, just stop at Wal-Mart or Costco and cook some of your meals "at home" instead of eating out for every meal like you would in a hotel.
The location is great. It's easy to get to and very central on the island. A few minutes drive in either direction takes you to Kihei, Lahaina, Kahului, or Wailuku. There are several very good restaurants in Maalaea and activites like the aquarium, cruises for diving, whale-watching, or dining in the harbor...walking distance from the condo.
The condo building has a very nice pool and a spa as well as barbeque grills.
A person could do a lot worse than choosing this unit for there vacation or honeymoon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeus_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Unit #219 in the Banyans, owned by the very very gracious Nikta Houston, has been our Hawaiian hideway for about the last 5 or 6 years (ever since we discovered it and we are in about our 20th year of visiting Maui). The unit is newly remodeled to "perfection" and lots of pictures are available at "Unitka Vacations.com"). The ocean and sunrise views from the linai are gorgeous beyond belief and walking on 6 mile long Sugar Beach (starts about a block from the Banyans) is a daily "must" for us. I posted two of my favorite pictures of Sugar Beach sunrises on this website. The condo has a lovely and secluded pool, a nicely maintained gas barbeque area, extensive well maintained lawn coverage, and lots of privacy. Managers Patti and Rorie Day keep the Banyans perfectly maintained and they are an exceptionally nice couple who are always happy to assist with any need which you might have (their home is right there on premises). Malaaea area and the Banyans is centrally located for convenient travel to any part of the island within about 30 minutes and the harbor here can meet any whalewatching or snorkel trip wishes that you might have. There are several "very good" restaurants and also some fast food/sandwich shops within easy walking distance (a little over one block) plus handy shuttle bus service to any part of the island. Nikta Houston owns the unit and is 100% customer focused. You will be "in awe" when you first walk into your unit and, for us, staying with Nikta is always the high point of the year. Trade winds are a part of Maui so enjoy it (your unit is always nice and cool for sleeping---other parts of the Island can be considerably warmer especially if facing west). We love it! Roger and Barbara Heskett from Spokane Washington.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gowan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews