We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Aloha Spirit is Alive!”
Review of Maalaea Banyans

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maalaea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maalaea Banyans
honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Aloha Spirit is Alive!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

If you've come to Maui looking for a warm welcome and a great experience then you've come to the right place! From the moment we arrived on the property the management was helpful and attentive. Traveling with two toddlers they made sure we had one of their ground floor units which opens up on to the garden/ grassy setting on the ocean! They also made sure we had whatever we needed to accomodate us; porta-crib booster chairs whatever we needed they were on top of it! The setting is gorgeous a tropical paradise on the ocean! Comfortable clean units equipped with whatever you might need and a friendly accomodating staff! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    13
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We have stayed here for several years in a row now and will continue to come back. The value is very good. Awesome views, clean rooms and grounds are well maintained. Love the BBQ! We don't use the pool much but we do enjoy the hot tub periodically. We especially love how quiet it is at night and actually have never experienced noisy people there at any time of day.
It was surprising to read a couple of poor reviews here. All I can think is that there are two sides to every story. We have had an excellent rapport with the management at the Banyans. Both, Patty and Rory are super nice people and we have recommended this place to our friends knowing that they will take care of them.
The central location is also very convenient for activities and...the Trade Winds are awesome!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CnRontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here as a group of two couples and a fifth person. While the price seemed reasonable when we booked, after staying a week, I would not recommend this property for the following reasons:
1) The manager was very rude. When we asked for a third pool key, he looked at me as if I were from outer space and told me "that will be $25 for each key if you lose them." He then begrudginly retreived the key and stated " I have NEVER given out THREE pool keys." Hello- with two couples and a fifth person all doing our own thing, was that such a big ask?
2) We received approval from the condo owner before booking to have a catered private dinner party for my wife's 50th birthday on the grounds for eight people. The manager was advised of this. The "quiet" hours posted in the lobby begin at 10 PM. At 9pm, the manager approached our group and demanded that we "stop telling jokes and laughing as I am going to bed." Well, then post the quiet hours as beginning at 9pm and we would have scheduled accordingly. This was rude and against the posted rules.
3) WIND WIND WIND. Due to the venturi effect of the trade winds (easily 25-35 knots ALL the time,) rushing through the West Maui mountains and Haleakola, this is the MOST windy location I have ever been to. Nice for not feeling the sunburn, but not good for reading by the pool or doing anything else outside.
4) Pesky flies ALWAYS at he pool. Don't know if it may be the rotten astroturf by the pool or what, but sure ruined the pool experience every time.
5) Hard to sleep- only one small a/c unit in a 5 person unit. Those upstairs got really hot as the a/c did not do much for that area.
6) Crappy beds. Very dated beds- reminded me of a cheap motel or worse in terms of comfort.
7) Very small second bathroom- no fart fans, and watch out or you'll hit our needs sitting on the toilet.

Overall, next time I will spend more money to get a better place. This place surely does prove the adage "you get what you pay for!!"

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank flyndive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My family spent 7 days in Hawaii and we stayed at the Maalaea Banyans, a top floor loft unit. The Maalaea Banyans is only 15 minutes from the airport, which is very nice, parking was never a problem. The rooms are priced right, but there are shortcomings. The complex was built in the 60’s so many of the rooms are small. Our bathroom was tiny, as well as the Kitchenette. There was a small air conditioner, but we never used it as the trade winds were blowing, and when I say blowing I mean 25-35 MPH constant. The wind whips through the units like a hurricane. Sleeping was very difficult. The up side is that the pool and lawn side of the building that faces the ocean is protected.

The pool is small along with the hot tub. Funky green astro turf around the sides. Very restrictive hours of use and the management is not kid friendly. Food and groceries is another problem, only one small store nearby, otherwise it’s a 20-30 minute trip. There is a very nice view out of every unit, but the beach is rocky. There are two BBQ’s out on the lawn area, with the amount of people in the unit they should have four. Why should you have to wait to BBQ??

If you bring children, the pool is too small , there is no beach, they can't make noise on the lawn area. There is nothing for them to do. These are not top notch units, most are rented by private individuals and the furnishings can be good to poor. The buildings and grounds are kept clean. Would be nice if the pool was larger, or if they had a commercial ice machine. I guess you get what you pay for

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank daytripper121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn,MI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed in unit 208 for the 3rd time. http://www.mauisbestcondo.com is the owner's web site. There you can see just how attractive this place is. Sitting on the lanai you can watch the boats go in and out of Maalaea harbor or watch the whales play during whale season. A person could easily throw a rock into the bay from the lanai, you're THAT close to the water. The unit is equipped with an air conditioner, but we have never used it. The trade winds provide plenty of air movement in the condo keeping it quite comfortable. A fully equipped kitchen is a real money saver, just stop at Wal-Mart or Costco and cook some of your meals "at home" instead of eating out for every meal like you would in a hotel.
The location is great. It's easy to get to and very central on the island. A few minutes drive in either direction takes you to Kihei, Lahaina, Kahului, or Wailuku. There are several very good restaurants in Maalaea and activites like the aquarium, cruises for diving, whale-watching, or dining in the harbor...walking distance from the condo.
The condo building has a very nice pool and a spa as well as barbeque grills.
A person could do a lot worse than choosing this unit for there vacation or honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeus_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maalaea
10.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
11.9 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
15.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
11.3 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
4.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#11 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maalaea Banyans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalaea Banyans

Property: Maalaea Banyans
Address: 190 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793-9536
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Maalaea
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Maalaea Banyans Hotel Maalaea
Maalaea Banyans Maui, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing