We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Baykal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Baykal
Ranked #1 of 3 Bogazkale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This hotel has been one of my " better stays" in Turkey. It is in a very good location for the Hattusa archeological site.
The room I had was very clean, nicely furnished with a modern bathroom. The restaurant had a good choice of tasty dishes and the buffet breakfast was substantial.
There is also a pleasant garden where you can sit.
The owner was charming who made us feel very welcome.
It was also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexlol-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2015

The room is not very big, but comfortable. There are breakfast, lunch and dinner and beer... The night was a little cool, we got a blanket and even a gas-fired heater. I dont need much better. Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Apo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Unless this place has changed radically in the last year, I would not recommend it. We were the only patrons when we stayed there. The room was grim, cold, with worn-out sheets, not enough blankets, poor-to-hostile service. They would not provide breakfast, would not fix us any dinner and could make no suggestions of a place to find food in this tiny town. At night we were left alone in the hotel and informed where we could get out in case of fire. Bizarre.

The Hittite ruins nearby were the only reason we stayed there. They were magnificent.

Room Tip: From our view, no rooms here are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparkybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Having had to 'fight off' our taxi driver from Sungurlu and a man from one of the other hotels who 'advised' us not to go to Baykal hotel, we fianlly made it on foot. We stayed in the Hotel part, so I know nothing of the pension/dorms.
The hotel room was airy, clean, and the furniture in good repair. The meals were adequate if not a great gastronomic experience, but very good value.
The Hotel, being in the centre of the village, is very well situated for Hattusa (better than the big hotel at the entrance of the village), and the Museum (which is brilliant).
Mustapha Baykal, who is now running the hotel, was extremely helpful and friendly. We had a very comfortable three-day stay there.
If you're looking for a big modern hotel with all mod-cons, and lots of tour groups then you won't find it here. On the other hand if you're looking for an excellent value basic hotel then I can recommend Hotel Baykal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArfonParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

After having been pressed by the annoying hotel guys at the entrance of Bogazkale I was so glad I found this hotel. Ahmet the hotel director is a relaxed, friendly and helpful guy speaking excellent English. The rooms are good and the prices are fair. The hotel lies nearer to Hattusha than the hotels at the entrance of Bogazkale which is a big advantage. The Baykal hotel is highly recommended in the German traveller guide by Bussmann/Tröger and I just can agree. Last but not least: Ahmet sent a jacket I forgot in the hotel to my home adress in Germany !! I enjoyed the stay in this hotel very much.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogazkale hotels
0 km away
Hittite Houses
Hittite Houses
#2 of 3 in Bogazkale
27 reviews
0 km away
Baskent Demiralan Hotel
Baskent Demiralan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bogazkale
17 reviews
0 km away
Kale Hotel
Kale Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bogazkale
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Asikoglu
Hotel Asikoglu
#1 of 3 in Bogazkale
34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baykal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baykal

Address: Carsi Mah.Cumhuriyet Meydani No:22, Bogazkale 19310, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Corum Province > Bogazkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bogazkale
Price Range: $28 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BAYKAL - Your House in Hittite Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Baykal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing