We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a beautiful cottage in a lovely village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen
Utility Room, with Washer and Dryer and Fridge Freezer
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Master Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Light and bright upper landing
Sitting out area and summer room
Bifold doors out to the private courtyard garden
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Ashford in the Water Church
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Near by Bakewell
Near by Chatsworth House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mike B
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a beautiful cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here with another couple for 3 nights as a base to explore the peaks and we couldn't have been happier. The cottage was very homely, cosy and provides all basic amenities you need. It was very clean and the double beds were very comfy. The local co-op in bakewell is minutes away so groceries are easy to come by. It's location is perfect and the village has a warm and friendly atmosphere about it as well as being very picturesque. If u want a relaxing stress free break then this cottage is the place for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for the kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Cottage and Ashford-in-the-Water. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth208
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage in a stunning village”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We highly recommend this cute and beautifully presented 2 bedroom cottage. Full of original character the cottage is charming but stylishly redecorated and immaculately clean. Outside at the back is a private paved garden. The village is quaint and friendly, with nice places to eat only a stroll from the front door.
We stayed 3 nights with a small baby. The owners provided everything we needed and check-in/out was very handy.
Only thing to note is that the bedrooms and bathroom are up a narrow and steep staircase. This is obviously in-keeping with the character of the cottage but may pose a challenge to some guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style
Liked least: narrow stairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for the kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We returned to The Old Bakery following a wonderful long weekend there in November last year. We hope to do the same this November. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Bakewell in a beautiful little village. The two pubs, Ashford Arms and Black Bull are minutes from the front door! Both offer a friendly welcome, delicious food and great beer! The village shop sells delicious homemade cakes. The cottage was again cosy, extremely clean and really well equipped. Thank you Liam for allowing us to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Its been a pleasure to welcome you back again and we are pleased that you love the cottage and the area as much as us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyliver...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old BAKERY”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

just returned from a stay at The Old Bakery great location lovley cottage so well equiped

Great kitchen you could not fault anything we hope to return.
well placed for all the pubs and eaterys good location for visiting all the sights of this wonderful Peak District

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and attention to details
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 127
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing