We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brown Bread is brilliant!”
other travellers have booked this property
Brown Bread Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brown Bread Cottage
Floorplan Kitchen, including washing machine and dishwasher
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Brown Bread Cottage
Floorplan
Kitchen, including washing machine and dishwasher
Kitchen, including washing machine and dishwasher
Open plan kitchen, dining room and sitting room with TV
Bedroom 2: two single beds
Bedroom 1: double bed
Shower room with sink and toilet
Shower room with sink and toilet
Picnic Area
From across the field in Winter.
Walk from the door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edale, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Brown Bread is brilliant!”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a fantastic cottage- very comfortable, spotlessly clean and has everything you might need and many more extras. Edale is wonderful at any time of the year and this location is amazing with numerous walks from the doorstep, to suit the very active or less energetic. Best of all, Crista and Andre are the most helpful owners I have met and made us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, helpful owners
Liked least: No issues
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thanks! It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A beautiful cottage in a lovely, peaceful location. We had a great holiday and found Brown bread Cottage very comfortable. It was very well equipped, even including hot water bottles for chilly nights! Crista and Andre made us very welcome and we would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn m
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just stayed for four nights at Brown Bread Cottage, and enjoyed our stay tremendously.
We have stayed in the area on previous occasions, so knew what a great place it is, especially if you have a love of the countryside and wonderful scenery.
The cottage is perfect. Warm, comfortable, well equipped,has a private area at the rear for sitting out in the sun, and ample parking. Hope village is a few minutes drive away and has pubs and shops supplying all your needs, including an excellent bakers and green grocers.Turn right out of the lane from the cottage and there is a 20 minute walk into Edale village -two pubs(okay for a drink) and two cafes. (The cafe near the railway station is very good and run by the National Trust).
We would definately recommend this as a holiday destination.
Thank you Christa and Andre`. We hope to see you again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
We hope you will come back soon as it was a pleasure to host you, plus the marrow was delicious!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect: Clean and ideally located”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Crista and Andre very welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive. Cottage clean, cosy, fully functional, ideally located for cycling (on and off road) and walking from the door and 2 good pubs (and cafes) in walking distance. If you're not feeling energetic you can watch everyone else walk up Mam Tor from the sofa! Loved it, hope to be back and will recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thanks! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We wish you a safe journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRJ321
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful break”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great setting for a much-needed getaway! Beautiful surroundings with therapeutic views as a previous correspondent said. Nice and spacious cottage with lots of natural light coming through. There is wifi connection for when you need to connect to the internet but the only problem was that it's hard to make a phone call for when you want to order a takeout. The only recommendation I would make is that some - but not all! - of the crockery looked like it needed a clean.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
We are sorry to hear that your stay at Brown Bread Cortage was not perfect, as this is always our aim. The telephone reception is unfortunately outside of our control as the whole of the Edale Valley, and indeed much of the Peak District, has poor mobile coverage. We hoped that by making our home landline available to you that this would assist with this problem.
All of the crockery in the cottage is checked between stays and put through a dish washer. If this issue had been mentioned during your stay then we would of course taken immediate action. We aim to provide the very best service for our guests and so we are extremely disappointed that you feel that your stay only warranted a four star review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing