We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely well-equipped house ideal for group...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Belmont House

Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Back garden Patio 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Front of House
Back garden
Patio 1
Grindslow Knoll in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Edale, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HarrietMa...
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely well-equipped house ideal for group get-together”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Belmont House is a spacious comfortable house, beautifully furnished in a lovely setting. We were a group of adults staying over New Year with the hills on our doorstep for walking, Buxton, Castleton and Sheffield close by and 2 pubs within very easy walking distance.

The kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed and it lead onto a comfortable lounge area. A warm and cosy house with plenty of fuel for the 2 log-burners. Pleasant garden with BBQ and seating area. The main lounge and dining room provided plenty of space for us all to be together. Bedrooms unfussy and stylish with very comfortable beds though one of the bedrooms on the second floor with its sloping ceilings is better suited to children.

The huge chocolate cake waiting for us on our arrival was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed and comfortable feel of the house and its location for keen walkers
Liked least: one of the 2nd floor bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great Christmas 2014 in a beautiful house”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just back from a fantastic Christmas in a stunning house in the picturesque village of Edale. We were a group of 10 adults and 3 children all together for a week long gathering. The house is immaculate and very clean, with plenty of space for all. The bedrooms were warm and 5 are en suite which was ideal for such a large number of people. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook the all important Christmas dinner. We ordered 2 dishes from a local cook, lasagne and beef and ale pie which were very delicious, full of meat and very tasty. The living room was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine whilst watching the roaring fire. There was plenty of logs and coal.Father Christmas managed to deliver all the presents and left them in the living room. Morgan had decorated the house with natural decorations of ivy and greenery, and there was a huge tree in the dinning room. On the 23rd Dec following a suggestion from Morgan we attended a carol service in the church next door . The vicar was very welcoming and it was a lovely service. We went to both pubs in the village but especially liked ye old Nags Head. The staff were very welcoming, the food superb and all round fab atmosphere .In keeping with our family tradition we had a bbq on Boxing Day using the gas bbq provided which was underneath a shelter just by the back door. Made even more special when it started the snow and before we knew it the garden was glistening white.

Highly recommended, the owner Morgan was very helpful with questions and planning beforehand and popped in a couple of times to make sure we were all ok and had everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snookyput...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of six female friends and colleagues who wanted time together to share common interests and relax. We are all from different parts of the country and this wonderful character property certainly exceeded our expectations, even though we all have high standards. I was the first to arrive and be shown around the house. The fresh flowers were a lovely touch and the huge, delicious chocolate cake was divine. It was great to be together yet all have the privacy of our own individual, roomy bedroom and bathroom. The house is lovely, furnishings are of a high standard yet it is still homely. We really appreciated the lovely open fires in the sitting room and lounge and the huge dining table in the large dining room. The house is extremely well-equipped, particularly the kitchen, which even boasts two sinks! Outside there is a huge wood store and a lovely garden which would be great in summer. We all brought food to share so the large fridge and freezer were ideal as was the dishwasher at the end of each day. Also Morgan was most helpful, getting us extra bits and pieces that we hadn't brought along. We loved the fact that there was everything on hand in the kitchen such as condiments, herbs, oils, tea, coffee, cleaning materials etc, etc - it was better equipped than some of our kitchens at home! The house is in a lovely location in Edale and there were loads of maps and walking guides available for us so we were able to plan a few walks together. All in all a perfect three-day break in a wonderful house with fabulous location!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmTr...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Belmont House - don't miss it!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We came for a big family reunion of people from all over England. Everyone loved the house - we would agree with all the positive comments below. The owner was very helpful with all questions in advance and the house is just lovely - great location, exceptionally well equipped, all mod cons and plenty of period charm, great welcome. Great for relaxing (log burners in sitting/kitchen and sitting room), eating and drinking together, and all the bedrooms very comfortable, great to have so many ensuites/bathrooms. Loads to do and visit locally - Edale feels 'remote' but very well connected and close to lots of pubs, restaurants, country houses, nice towns and villages - and the walks from the front door are great. We would/?will happily go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect on every level, we had the best time”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Belmont House to celebrate my wife Claire's 40th birthday. There were 16 people altogether, 10 adults and 6 children from 10 down to 2. The house is amazing and the kids loved exploring all the floors and the gardens and the facilities were absolutely second to none. I can't think of one thing that we were left wanting for. We ate in on all three nights having loads of fun in the good sized dining room and then retired to the lounge once the kids were asleep. My only regret was it was too warm to light the wood burner but you can't have everything!!
You coudl very easily while away the weekend just hanging around the house and gardens as they are that nice but you must also try the local pubs and surrounding countryside - stunning.
I can't recommend Belmont House highly enough and anybody looking for a good family get together at good value for money must give it a go.
We were greeted with a huge home made chocolate cake on arrival which was a lovely touch and anybody staying must order Julie's steak and ale or meat and potato pies to be delivered - delicious.
We can't wait for another excuse to visit but know we will have to book well in advance as the place is so good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing