We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
72
58
21
17
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
58
21
17
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great food continental breakfast croissants sense of humour auxerre wines restaurant alain cheese les france terrace lunch
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We have just had lunch at this restaurant, I ordered the Plat du Jour which was 18 euros, my husband not liking salmon ordered steak off the main menu. This was 38 euros for a piece of steak no thicker than a rasher of bacon. Because my husband ordered off the main menu he charged both meals at these prices. Plat du Jour and my husband meal with 2 beers no wine was 110 euros.
Be warned!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L8830PLlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaudinalain, Propriétaire at Auberge Les Tilleuls, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Je ne cuisine pas de saumon et ne propose pas de steak avec du bacon, êtes vous sur d'être venu chez moi ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

My wife got sick from the apparently exquisite cuisine. The food looked wondzrfull but was not fresch. We would have prefered a price list of all drinks,now we paid 34 euro for a glass of housewine,a glas of not cooled champagne, some fruit juice and a bottle of water. We also got no bill. A pitty for this nicely located restaurant.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Talleyrandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We first visited this restaurant in 2000 when in France for a conference. My maternal grandfather came from this village and we were keen to visit the village where, to our immense surprise and enjoyment, we discovered Alain's restaurant whre we had a delightful luch before heading back to Paris.

Sixteen years later, with more time on our hands, we visited Vincellottes again and this time stayed at the Auberge as well as dining there. Alain met us on arrival and, as the restaurant was not open that evening in April, we joined him and his wife and Daniel Defaix, a sixteenth generation winemake from Chablis, for dinner in nearby Auxerre.

Accommodation was very good and breakfast excellent, as too was dinner in the restaurant. Alain is recommended in the Michelin guide and his standards are high as is the variety and quality and variety of food. Staying in the hotel gave us a view of the ingredients and their preparation, and I can only say they were superb. Try this establishment before Alain retires or you will miss a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are very pleasant.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We first visited this restaurant in the eighties not long after Alain Renaudin , the Chef-Propietor had taken it over. It was therefore a great pleasure to revisit the Hotel and to find that Monsieur Renaudin was still there and maintaining the high standard that we had encountered all those years ago. The menu at 45 euros is very good and reflects Monsieur Renaudin's commitment to the sourcing of local products. The fish which we ate tasted beautifully fresh. If you are into cheese there is a supplementary charge of 10 euros but what a selection! If there was such a thing as a library of cheese this would be it! Monsieur Renaudin himself takes your order and wiil explain (in good English,if required) what he is offering you.
The hotel room which we stayed in was basic but more than adequate.
We shall not leave it another 30 years before returning!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickadeecroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I take exception to the reviewer who gave Monsieur Alain a bad review. We had come off our le boat charter from Auxerre to wander through the town of Vincelles. We asked at the boulangerie to recommend a place for dinner and we were told everything was closed for the season. We wandered over the bridge to Vencelottes and happened upon les Tilleuls. It was a slice of heaven! He set up a small table across the street for us to enjoy a bottle of wine by the river. At 7:30 we beckoned us across to his restaurant. We also asked if we could sit by the window and he explained it was reserved but gave us a charming table. He then proceeded to explain each dish on
The menu of the day and even brought the fish out from the kitchen to see and insisted we smell it. Dinner was first class and he was quick to tell us that everything was prepared fresh. The bread was fabulous and the desserts were to die for. We were embarrassed to be dressed so casual for such a wonderful restaurant but we were assured it was about the food by Monsieur Alain. It will be a highlight of our trip! Yes the wine was expensive but it was worth every delicious sip.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank lobstermanslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews