We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise found”
other travellers have booked this property
minimal design, maximum views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
minimal design, maximum views
Lounging at the X-spot Breakfast with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
minimal design, maximum views
Lounging at the X-spot
Breakfast with a view
land- and seascape, an Xspot!
modern eco comfort
views forever
Lounge....
Cliff top
Your hosts, Roger and Hilde
The unheated pool is shared with your hosts
Looking north from the open plan lounge
The view is always different
Located on top of the cliff
Sunset reflections
X-Spot, view at dusk from the deck
Pah Beach, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island
Harataonga Beach
Kaitoke Hot Pools, Great Barrier Island
Harataonga Beach, close up
Palmers Beach, Great Barrier Island
X-Spot, eco cliff house.
Mermaid pool, Kaitoke Beach, Great Barrier Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tryphena, Great Barrier Island, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ghostviki...
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The X-spot is off the beaten track in many ways. It is a long drive to get there, you should have a 4WD, but we had no trouble finding the place or driving the inclines with a Toyota RAV. But the isolation and breathtaking views are just what make this place one of a kind. We travelled New Zealand for seven weeks total, and spent time in so many beautiful places. But The X spot always comes to mind when thinking of the most special place we visited. Hilde and Roger are lovely hosts, never intrusive, and very friendly. The rest of the family are also great, and we enjoyed our conversations with them a lot. We had stunning weather for a week, which made the whole thing all the more special. It might be a bit boring if it is pouring down outside. We also missed blinds in the bedroom windows to keep the light out early morning. All in all this is highly recommended, not to be missed, it you want a one-of-a-kind stay on Great Barrier island, one of the best places in New Zealand all together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the people, the isolation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks very much for your kind words. You were our first guests from Scandinavia, and Roger and I both really enjoyed having you stay. I do appreciate you comment about the curtains, but many of our guests love being able to see a star-filled night from the comfort of their bed. I promise we'll think about that one for your next visit, tho ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita H
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing, beautiful, stunning - a real escape”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

X Spot was truly one of the most amazing places we have stayed. We spent our honeymoon there and had an amazing 10 days. The location is so beautiful, you feel like you've totally escaped, we left feeling absolutely relaxed and recharged. The property has everything you could possibly need to be comfortable. Couldn't recommend staying here more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your great review, Anita. It's so special to have honeymooners, and be part of an amazing memory! ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natchiram
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This accommodation is all about breathtaking view, serenity and rejuvenating. The hosts 'Hilde and Roger' are very friendly and helpful and made us feel home from the moment we entered the apartment. If you sit on the couch in the lounge facing nothing but beautiful sea all around you won't feel like getting up and do anything else. The kitchen is self-sufficient and has wide range of utensils to cook sumptuous meals. The bedroom has an excellent ocean view as well. I could have never found a more romantic place than this to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The best Eco-friendly accommodation that we have visited so far. Really looking forward to staying here again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thanks for your wonderful review. Looking forward to welcoming you for many more wedding anniversaries ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IJArchiba...
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My wife and I stayed at The X-Spot for a weekend away from the kids, Hilde and Roger the hosts were amazing, the location is unbeleivable, the house/apartment beyond our expectations, the drive out there in itself is an awesome experience. We would love to move in there permanently, but what to do with the kids( oh yes boarding school :)
A great big thank you to Hilde and Roger for making our weekend away, relaxing and exciting, can't wait to get back for another weekend !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2012
Dear Erica and Archie
Thank you very much for your comments. We really enjoyed having your here. Great that you had a wonderful time with us, away from the kids. It really is wonderful and quiet here. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. (Boarding school it is, then) :-)
Roger and Hilde
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing