We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
11
42
66
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
42
66
27
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stayed here as part of a tour. Makes the tour company look bad and I wouldn't recommend staying here (I generally don't write negative reviews).
Great location close to shops and restaurants but that's where the positives stop.
Don't bother having the breakfast, even if it's included. We were told ours would be ready at 5:30am so we could be on time for our tour. Breakfast consisted of half a scrambled egg each and a piece of bread with butter (no jam/marmalade, no fruit, no cereal). As someone who can't eat bread, I went off with half an egg for breakfast and it took 20 minutes for them to make it so we were almost late for our tour! I see from other reviews that this is generally the case.
Rooms have windows to a common area and don't keep the noise out so our room was very noisy. People were also smoking in the common area so smoke came into our room.
Room didn't feel very clean and we were given two single beds when we specifically asked for a double.
No wifi in the room.
Hot water takes ages to come through but it did eventually work for us.
We asked to borrow some towels for the hot springs and were told to use the ones for our shower.
They have a pool table... sad thing is there is hardly any space around it so you have to point the cue end up to the ceiling to play on some sides. There are five cues... only one has a tip so you only have the one to play with. And there is no chalk. So in other words, don't waste your time!
I wouldn't stay here again and it is more like poor quality hostel accommodation (I've stayed in a number of hostels in Peru and this is one of the worst). Not value for money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Went there as part of a motorbike tour and stayed for only one night. It is not luxurious but I actually thought it was quite good.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, the bathroom quite ok.

I am a it baffled by some of the criticism I see as we all thought it was ok.

Oh - the wifi is slow and only available in reception

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

This hotel is probably better described as a hostel for the level of accommodation offered. It was not good value but the location was ok. The wifi wasn't great either.
The breakfast was poor and extremely slow (given the deadlines of all those staying!) - incinerated scrambled eggs!!

Wouldn't want to stay here again!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Coloc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

This is a very basic inn located in the main area of Chivay. The staff always had smiles on their faces and were very helpful with any questions we had. Restaurants and shopping stalls and stores are within walking distance of the hotel. Don't expect the Ritz or even a Days Inn, they don't even have an elevator so if you are traveling with elderly people or have a lot of luggage,request a downstairs room. Overall, this place was fine for an overnight stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank goddess_hathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

My Travel Agent booked us into this Hotel and we will have a long talk. First, it is rather grim. The room was very tired, initially reluctant to sit on bed, never mind sleep in it. There was NO hot water so we took showers in either cold or tepid water depending upon the time of day. Breakfast was instant coffee, a bun, juice and jam. No offer of an egg. No WIFI although they report to have WIFI. But worst of all, there was a sign in the room which advised occupants that nothing of value should be left in the room. We therefore brought our computers and money/passports/wallets (we were heading for the hot springs so did not want to bring valuables) to the front desk to be locked in the safe. When we reclaimed our possessions, we noted that some money and a charge card had been taken. We went to the front desk and met a new attendant who did not speak English. We finally located our Tour Guide who thankfully took over and the following morning our cash was returned to us but not our charge card. Trying to contact our bank to cancel our credit card in the middle of Colca Canyon is virtually impossible and we spent two days trying in various WIFI cafes to contact our bank, to no avail. We had to wait until we returned to Arequipa to cancel. Although I appreciate that the Inn returned our money, the bad feeling, the inconvenience and stress of it all was a high price to pay for a dismal stay.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews