We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Coastal experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thornwick Bay Thornwick Bay, cottage just visible top right
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Thornwick Bay
Thornwick Bay, cottage just visible top right
View from cottage at sunset
New kitchen and stairs to upper cabin bedroom
The neighbours
Nearby golf courses
Down in the bay
Short-eared owl hunting on High Holme above Thornwick Bay
Jackobob up on the cliff
Thornwick Bay where bottlenose dolphins play -  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NN6PPLQ_rPI
Fabulous sunsets
The cottage and stars at night
Burton Agnes Hall a few miles away
Incredible view of Milky Way and shooting star photographed outside the cottage
The best fish and chip shop in the UK
View from the garden
Cottage from the fields below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flamborough, Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mr Allan...
1 review
“Coastal experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The accommodation is in a wonderful coastal location. It is very well equipped and modernised and provides a comfortable stay in a natural environment.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraj6...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely comfortable cottage with more or lesseverything you need.
We have stayed at many cottages but the views from this are the best you could ever get.
We have stayed here a few years ago and forgot just how gorgeous it is.
We saw puffins, a Perigrine Falcon, Kestral, Gannets, Kittiwakes and many more birds from the cottage.
Its a short walk to the beach and many footpaths give good walks.
We do hope to be back very soon.
Steve the caretaker is helpful and the cottage was clean.
Thank you to Anthony, the owner who is very friendly and made booking easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkies20...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular veiws and a fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Jackobob. It is a clean, comfortable and cosy cottage.

I think the views from Jackobob are my favourite of anywhere we have stayed in England. We walked through the door and all just went "Wow". We had a magical time there.

We loved the heating system and found the cottage to be cosy and warm and were grateful for the generous supply of wood provided. The fabulous triple glazing ensures the cottage retains the heat and you are snug and warm. The beds were very comfortable which meant we all slept really well. The kitchen is very well stocked with all you need for cooking for 6. The new bathroom was fabulous.

we loved being on the cliff top, for the birds, the views, the stars and the access to great cliff top walks from the front door. We really hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the cosy interior
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandyfeet...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best views and locations on the Yorkshire coast.”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
7
people found this review helpful

Mid October 2015 and our first stay at Jackobob, having been intrigued by the little white wooden-clad detached cottage on the cliffs just above Thornwick Bay at the end of a private track. We arrived late, in the dark, wind and rain, but Steve and Lorraine (the caretaker and cleaner) had kindly left the electric heaters on for us and we were immediately struck by the cosy, clean and homely feel of Jackobob. A welcome pack isn't provided, so you will need to take the essentials such as a pint of milk for that first cuppa, but Flamborough village is a short drive away and has an open 7 days til late Co-op.

Our only major disappointment was to find that, for safety reasons, especially with young children, we felt we couldn't use the first floor bedroom at Jackobob. The stairs are wooden, seemed to us slightly steep, narrow and slippery, most importantly the handrail ends before the top, and stairgates were also not available. We felt we had to temporarily block off the stairs at the bottom, and the first floor bedroom remained frustratingly unused all week. It is something that guests with young children or mobility problems need to be aware of. The owner, Anthony, has said that he intends to sort out the handrail and stairgates this winter. I must stress that we were very comfortably accommodated in the two downstairs bedrooms, and of course not all guests will share our concerns. We had some difficulty getting any or enough hot water, but the advice seems to be to keep using the boost switch on the system and there shouldn't be a problem. The kitchen blind fell down several times, so that does need attention. We found the owner, Anthony, was difficult to get hold of when booking or for any queries, and the calendar may not be accurate for availability, but after we had booked, the caretaker, Steve, responded quickly to practical queries about the cottage just before and during our stay.

Waking with a cuppa on our first morning at Jackobob, the views revealed themselves from almost every window in all their glory as the sun came up. It's a location we could never tire of, and it really is good for the spirit. Jackobob is on the cliff top by Thornwick Bay, and looks out over cliffs, sea and farmland. We found the two neighbouring cottages and the distant caravan site and café to be almost completely unobtrusive. There is direct access from the garden gate on to the coastal footpath to Bempton Bird Sanctuary in one direction and Flamborough lighthouse in the other, and beyond. We did have to contend with a slight 'goldfish bowl' sensation as walkers and dog walkers often look in as they pass very close by Jackobob, but who can really blame them? The other neighbours were completely welcome - many sea and farmland birds, a pair of hawks, a Barn owl and a Tawny owl, and two ever-hungry and ever-hopeful ponies. The owner, Anthony, very kindly allowed us to take an extra guest who, especially being a keen bird-watcher, was very happy and content indeed at Jackobob. For guests during the colder months, hot water bottles, extra blankets, a hair dryer and plenty of logs are thoughtfully provided. After dark, the lighthouse flashes in the distance and lights up Jackobob on one side, with the hooting owls, the starlit sky and the logburner only adding to the atmosphere.

Jackobob is a great base from which to explore this part of Yorkshire and the Yorkshire Coast. Equally, you could leave the car parked up outside the cottage and have a fine old time in your walking boots, or even not stray far from the cottage and it's ever-changing views and skies at all. We would be very sorry if this proves to be our only stay at Jackobob, and can definitely recommend it to other travellers. We have already tried to book again, but sadly it was unavailable. We hope to return sometime soon, and this time to make the most of the first floor too, sleeping seemingly up in the stars and looking down in to Thornwick Bay - and according to the children, even to experience the Hobbit-sized loo up there! Anthony and his family are fortunate indeed to be owners and custodians of an iconic cottage like Jackobob. They clearly have plans to look after it, and it's great that they are sharing it with others.

The worst thing about Jackobob? Leaving!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location. Cosiness and homely feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Stairs to the first floor, which were without a handrail near the top and stairgates. Availability of the owner/accuracy of the calendar. Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyn339
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute delight to relax and rewind and recharge”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely location that delivers whatever the weather that provides an uncomplicated time away. Beautiful views and walks literally a step away from the back garden. Bridlington, Filey, Scarborough just a few miles away by car.
Lovely fresh sea fish, and crabs available in the pop-up shop in Flamborough.
House very comfortable, excellent beds and bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing