We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book now or miss out”

CHAR Modern cocina & grill
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in La Caleta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 23 - USD 59
Description: Restaurant CHAR is situated in the chic fishing village of La Caleta & has merged all the essences of modern comfort, visual aesthetics and functionality into one. The core menu embraces deep-rooted Spanish traditions blended with a hint of international fusion. Featuring dishes such as fresh ceviche's, traditional sharing plates, fresh fish & quality select cuts, all cooked in an open show kitchen alongside the latest Josper oven, known to deliver unparalleled flavours & smokey tastes, CHAR is sure to offer you a night you won't forget.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant CHAR is situated in the chic fishing village of La Caleta & has merged all the essences of modern comfort, visual aesthetics and functionality into one. The core menu embraces deep-rooted Spanish traditions blended with a hint of international fusion. Featuring dishes such as fresh ceviche's, traditional sharing plates, fresh fish & quality select cuts, all cooked in an open show kitchen alongside the latest Josper oven, known to deliver unparalleled flavours & smokey tastes, CHAR is sure to offer you a night you won't forget.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Up a side street and easy to miss, save for the fact that the 20s to 40s patronise this up-market high quality restaurant. Really goos food. Limited menu but all recommendable. Failed to get in first night, so booked twice later in week. Yep, it was as good as that.

Thank Tillyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Gerente at CHAR Modern cocina & grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks Tillyman for your review. We're glad to hear this words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Arrived to an empty restaurant having booked a table. The table reserved was bar style with very high chairs, despite there being many empty tables the staff refused to give us an accessible table a disabled person could use. No idea if the food is good or bad but the attitude stinks, never again.

2  Thank LondonCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Gerente at CHAR Modern cocina & grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

I'm very sorry about what happened. We have the all restaurant reserved and the only chance we have was to give u that table, the high ones. That night we had big tables and was impossible to give u another place, not beacouse we didn't want it. Sorry again ablut your bad experience. We take note about your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We ate here while on holiday in March. We booked a table on line and when we arrived we were greeted warmly by the host and shown to our table. The restaurant is very nicely done out and has a good atmosphere. Our waiter was very friendly and gave us his honest opinion on the menu and wine and didn't try and push us to the expensive end like so often happens when you ask for an opinion. The waiter even helped me with my pigeon Spanish. While the steak was excellent my only negative was that it came with what can only be described as crisps instead of chips, its only a small issue but it stopped me from giving it a 5 star review. The rest of the food was very good and I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Gerente at CHAR Modern cocina & grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks Peter H for your review and your opinion about the chips. We are trying to do something different with it. For your next visit we will have another choices to offer u.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Char as a group of 6, including 3 teens. It was wonderful.
We sat at the bar, which was a small negative, but we had booked late, so we didn’t mind.
One plus was the we saw the food being prepared and then served and it all looked delicious.
Chicken wings to start were great followed by various filet steaks and racks of ribs....nothing could be faulted including the skinny fries and spinach (with grilled cheese on top). A couple of bottles of Marquis de Riscal wine and tasty chocolate cake to finish the evening. A bill for €60 a head was worth every penny.
Good atmosphere, served by Marco with Babacar, the head chef doing a great job.
Would certainly return.

Thank ScottLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Gerente at CHAR Modern cocina & grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank u ScottLondon77 for your opinion. Will be great to see u again.
Till next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We found Char to be excellent albeit so busy we had to sit at the bar on both visits. Would recommend booking in advance. Good service, modern, clean and fresh decor. Most importantly though great steak cooked brilliantly in a josper oven. This was the best restaurant we ate at in La Caleta.

Thank RedNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Gerente at CHAR Modern cocina & grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank u RedNoddy for your visits and your opinion. Hope to see u soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CHAR Modern cocina & grill also viewed

 
Costa Adeje, Adeje
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to CHAR Modern cocina & grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing