We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream holiday for the whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tariri Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic one week at Tariri Amazon Lodge and superlatives fail me when describing the lodge and the people who make it all possible.

Although I was born in Brazil, I had never had a truly Amazonian experience and after much prodding from my wife and the in-laws, I agreed to travel with them to the Amazon, and after much trawling the internet I came across the Tariri website. To me, it looked the part and the fact that Germano is a true Amazon rainforest native sold it to us.

Germano has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the forest, its peoples, fauna and flora, and he never tires of explaining and showing things to his guests. Our group's particular interest was birds and Germano took us on several very early morning excursions to find some of the elusive birds that inhabit the Amazon rainforest. He always knew where to find the birds and had extensive knowledge of their habits.

We made several cultural trips to local communities and the unmissable cassava flour house. The highlights of our stay were diving with the pink river dolphins, sunset bird spotting after the rain and seeing the toucans and kingfishers, finding jaguars' footprints on the lake shore near the lodge, and the amazing food prepared by Fabíola.

Germano, Fabíola and their family made our stay very special and we were able to share many great moments in their company, including spending New Year's Eve with them and the other guests.

No request is ever too hard for them to meet; and always with a smile. In short, Tariri Lodge is a MUST for anyone wanting the real Amazonian experience. We look forward to returning in the near future.

I cannot recommend Tariri Amazon Lodge highly enough. It is an Amazonian gem waiting to welcome you.

PS. On a personal note from Lisa (George's wife): Fabiola, thank you so much for the delicious treat of peanut brittle that you snuck into my bag when I left. You are such a kind and thoughtful person, and it is this quality that makes your lodge the amazing holiday destination that it is. The amazing experience of meeting you and your family was one that will remain in my thoughts for many years to come. I hope that we meet again...Lisa x

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeBalbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

We spent 3 days at Tariri and took in a lot over that short period of time. Germano and Fabiola, the owners of Tariri, built the lodge by hand with their family over many years and are passionate about the people and environment around Tariri. This passion is part of the reason Tariri doesn't feel like a hotel. As Germano said to us, 'even if there are no guests, this is our home.'

Germano is an experienced guide and, having grown up about 700 kilometers away in the Amazon, will give you a unique view of life in the forest and in neighboring communities. Fabiola is a lovely host and a great cook. I'm a vegetarian and didn't eat better anywhere in Brazil. Alan, who picked us up and dropped us off in Manaus was, like our hosts, passionate and knowledgeable about the history, the architecture of the region, and the area around Manaus.

I would highly recommend this lodge to those travelers who aren't looking for an air conditioned retreat in the Amazon but are rather hoping for an experience that is focused on the outdoors and offers a flavour for life in the environment. I imagine Tariri would be great fun for families with children. However, it's worth noting that the entire lodge is raised because of the extreme change of water levels in the rainy and dry season and this means that for toddlers and other very little ones the structures aren't ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at the Tariri Amazon lodge for 3 nights at the end of November. Going to the Amazon was our main reason for coming to Brazil and we were really looking for something adventurous but still with some comforts! We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. First of all, the location is perfect. On a beautiful part of the Amazon - on Acajatuba lake, near the Rio Negro. The lodge is beautifully made, and Germano and Fabiola - the perfect hosts - really make you feel at home and that you are part of their family.

Germano knows that jungle, and takes you on the most brilliant trips. He knows the use of every plant and takes you to parts of the jungle where you're sure that no-one has ever been before. Always smiling, you can tell he really enjoys his job and is happy to have you there!

Fabiola, Fabiola, Fabiola, cooks better than my Italian grandmother. By far the best food we had in Brazil, and made with such attention to detail you just can't stop eating! Thank goodness for the jungle walks to build up an appetite!

The accommodation is exactly what we wanted - just 6 cabanas so you know it won't get crowded - very comfortable and spotlessly clean. For me I was worried about bugs (!) and trust me nothing is getting in those cabanas! Every window has a net and I didn't get bitten once.

Thanks again to Fabiola and Germano and all your family. Only regret, we wish we'd stayed longer! We'll be back!

Caro and Marcello

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank car0bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

If you like air conditioning and room service, this place is NOT for you. At Tariri I had one of the best trips of my life. It was just four days there but it should be a couple more. The owners, Germano and Fabíola treat you like family, or, even better, a very welcome relative. Germano knows how to make you feel comfortable and safe in an adventure-like environment. They really know about the area and they REALLY care about environment like issues. I recommend and I´m already dying to go back there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristianoseixas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We spent 4 short nights at Tariri Lodge and we have never been so sad to leave a place or have a vacation come to an end! The lodge owners (Fabiola and Germano) as well as their family are ideal hosts! There was just enough exploration planned each day (walk through the jungle, river walk, caiman hunting, river dolphin encounter, pirana fishing) to educate and immerse us, allowing for many free hours to take a dip in the river, or relax in the hammocks. Our children (5 and 7 years old) enjoyed playing with the like age children that live at the lodge each afternoon and evening. In the end it felt as if we were staying with extended family, not visiting a lodge. The meals were fresh, always tasty and of great abundance and variety. We left the lodge speaking about our return. It was a gift to have found this jewel nestled into the Rio Negro region of the Amazon. Find your way to Tariri!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
Amazon Tupana Lodge
#4 of 231 in Amazon River
262 reviews
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#16 of 231 in Amazon River
68 reviews
Amazon Jungle Palace
#3 of 192 in Manaus
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cirandeira Bela
#1 of 35 in Manacapuru
58 reviews
Arawak Jungle Hostel
#5 of 19 in Iranduba
57 reviews
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tariri Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tariri Amazon Lodge

Address: Lago de Acajatuba | Iranduba, State of Amazonas 69450-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range: $486 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tariri Amazon Lodge, is an ecological hotel of unique architecture, a singular mix of typical regional buildings. The structure is composed by 8 independent huts - up to 20 people in total - with double and triple rooms, offering comfort, privacy and, above all, comfort.Our cuisine offers a varied range of diverse Amazon flavors. Our food is cultivated and grow by ourselves, like the fruits used on juices, vegetables, fish and birds, ensuring the quality and authenticity of our cuisine.Your stay will take place in family environment, where we can share, with exclusivity, the wealth of the place and the perfect knowledge of the region. We will grant your trip an international level of service, welfare and quality that is the motto of our family.The big goal and determination of our project is strongly linked to education, learning and discovery. Unique and intense experiences, considering your short stay in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tariri Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tariri Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing