We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
333
18
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
18
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piranha fishing rio negro the river pink dolphins his wife whole family jungle walk thank you so much spent days were greeted warmly birthday cake local flora and fauna anyone wanting family members every meal great hosts optional excursions
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have traveled a lot in Brazil with our family (3 young kids) and this was an excellent holiday for the whole family. We, especially the kids, loved it so much we stayed an extra day.

Family run it is a simple but comfortable place with great food. Fabiola, Germano and the extended family take great care of everyone. The tours were fun for all ages, the pink dolphins a highlight. While not cheap by international standards was the best values we found in the Amazon.

We are recommending this place to everyone we know and would most defintiely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattNZ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We spent 4 days at the Tariri on july 2011 and it turned to be one of the most beautiful travel experiences we ever had. If you want to get the real taste of Amazonas nature and life, the Tariri is definitely the place to stay. We are a family of 4, with 2 young children and for them too the experience has beeen truly unforgettable. The owners Germano and Fabiola make every possible effort to satisfy your needs: Germano has a very deep knowledge of the region and the enviroment and Fabiola is an extremely kind person and an excellent cook. The cabanas are comfortable and you don't even have the chance to notice the lack of eletricity. There are very few mosquitos in the area so you get very good sleep. Your life there will follow the rythm of Nature and that was exactly what we were looking for when we planned to travel to Amazonas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilde_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I spent 4 days at Tariri Lodge with my son in early May, 2011. We had a wonderful time with the hosts, German and Fabiola, and their family and pets The location of this lodge is just perfect and lying in the hammock in the verandah outside our cottage, with the forest on one side and the river on the other, I experienced an indescribable sense of peace. The schedule that German and Fabiola had planned for us included jungle hikes, canoe trips through the waterways in the jungle, visits to local villages, looking for caymen, piranha fishing, and sporting with the dolphins. The program at the lodge provided us with just the right blend of activity and relaxation.

The meals at the lodge were well designed to provide a balanced and nutritious meal. It consisted of fresh fruit juices, salads, meat, fish, vegetables, fruit, dessert and coffee. The quality of food was the best we had in Brazil.

Fabiola is also a very good artist as also German's father. We bought a few of her creations which were very reasonably priced.

The children were a delight. I wish I knew potuguese so that I could have interacted with them more. Just watching them with their cheerful smiles and their animated expressions as they romped all over the lodge was a treat.

We thank German and Fabiola for making our Amazon experience memorable and we wish them the very best in their endeavours.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We arrived at night in the arranged transport and I was a little nervous when after a long drive our taxi driver killed the lights at the end of a dark lane in the middle of the Amazon. A head torch appeared after a few minutes through what I could now see was bushes by a river tributary and Germano introduced himself and helped us and our luggage into his small boat - the adventure had begun !

What followed was 4 days of superb hospitality in an intimate but very impressive setting at Tariri lodge which Germano and his family have clearly sunk their heart and souls into. The Amazon loge - self-bulit by the family is nothing short of breathtaking and Germano knows the river and jungle like the back of his hand.

Go and visit the family and have a truly authentic and educational experience. Handle Cayam which Germano happily jumps into the Amazon to catch for you and go Pirahna fishing with their 2 small and delightful children (small at the time of writing). The food is above and beyond what you would expect and I would go back if only to taste Fabiola's daily homemade bread and take another afternoon nap in the hammocks.

A wonderful 4 days on our month long honeymoon around South America - THANK YOU TARIRI !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandJehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

When you go to Amazon you expect to be integrated to the forest. Or at least you should. And that's what you'll find in Tariri.

Tariri is a family hotel runned by Germano and Fabíola, who were employers of Ariaú Towers. In those previous years of work they must have learnt the best way to welcome guests, with care, attention and refinement. But thanks god it was just that what they brought from there. Ariaú is a shopping mall in the middle of the forest. Tariri is the real thing.

Things that make Tariri real:
- The hotel has 4 bangalows, soon to be 6, that are really cozy and seem to be made specially for you.
- The meals are typical and delicious. Fabíola, who is in charge of the kitchen, is a really nice chef and is always asking if you need or want something special to eat
- Germano is the guide of all tours (sometimes he's accompanied by his brother) and a very kind, pleasant person. And, most important: he is a indian - which is a great thing since brought from birth a huge knowledge of the forest
- There are always just a few guests (when I was there it was max. 6), so the attention you get is almost exclusive
- By the life of the owners, you really see how is the life in the forest
- The lack of electricity. Yes, some people might think it's a disadvantage, but I thought it was great to spend a few days going to bed early and listening to the forest. Actually they have a generator that provides electricity until around 10pm and, then, bed. Anyway, for those who are frightened of dark, good news: Fabíola said that maybe this year the electricity will arrive.

Well, those are some of the thongs that made me feel great while I was there.

Hope you too have an amazing time there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari_Borga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews