We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable, cosy, quite and peacefully located...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Northend Cottage

view from the front of the cottage sitting in the Sun Porch - simply stunning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the front of the cottage sitting in the Sun Porch - simply stunning
Beautiful surroundings with and open fire in the comfortable Sitting Room The Dining Room with a double sofa bed, in addition to the upstairs double and twin bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
view from the front of the cottage sitting in the Sun Porch - simply stunning
Beautiful surroundings with and open fire in the comfortable Sitting Room
The Dining Room with a double sofa bed, in addition to the upstairs double and twin bedrooms
The Double Bedroom on the first floor is spacious and full of natural light
The Twin Bedroom with its quirky decor in on the first floor
your view from the sun porch
Northend Cottage from across the bay (we are the white cottage on the end)
Jack, the local fisherman and his creels
Its so peaceful here!
We are in the old parish of Kincardine
alternative view of the double bedroom
The Double bedroom
alternative pix of the dinning room with its sea views
Maybe what you hope to do?
Northend is No.19 in the village
alternative view of the twin room
The Kitchen has a table to enjoy a coffee and a catch up of the days sightseeing.
The fully tiled bathroom has a power shower over the roll top back
The fully equipped kitchen: cooker, micro, toaster, kettle, washing machine and dishwasher.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shilbottl...
Cramlington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“comfortable, cosy, quite and peacefully located accommodation.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well equipped cottage offering quite retreat in stunning setting. The only disadvantage, for those people who need nocturnal visits to the toilet, is that the loo is located on the ground floor. Otherwise, the cottage is very good and near good eating places and sites of interest.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hello and thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caluna-gl
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a delightful cottage, beautifully presented, cosy, well equipped and welcoming of dogs!

We had a short stay here in chilly March but the cottage was toasty (the stove in the living room is terrific). It was the perfect base for our visit, and extremely handy for the Creel Inn - pub and restaurant. Loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
So glad you enjoyed Northend Cottage.
Catterline really a little hidden gem south of Aberdeen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbsEdin...
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Location ever”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We returned to Northend Cottage last month for another holiday on the north east coast of Scotland. Again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is comfortable and well equipped. The reason I am reviewing the cottage again is to say that he banister issue has now been resolved and there is now a solid banister in place on the staircase making it so much easier to go up and down for anyone with mobility issues. It is a wonderful location and we find the evenings watching out over the sea at the every changing scenery. We enjoyed staying here so much again we have booked to return again in a couple of months time - can't give a better recommendation than that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Decor and furnishings and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
We try to, where we can, take action on recommendations/observations from our guests. The banister was a valid point and we resolved the issue ASAP.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Regards, Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great retreat”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage sits at a great location overlooking the sea and is very well equipped to accommodate visitors for a short break as well as a longer stay. Tastefully decorated, excellent facilities and a perfect location between Aberdeen and Dundee, and within minutes from a lovely shingle beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spacious, convenient and very quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Apologies Stefan, I thought my response had been sent to you months ago!!
Thank you for your review. It really helps prospective guests make their choice when they have access to comments given by guests who take the time to write reviews. Thank you.
I am so glad you enjoyed staying at Northend and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbsEdin...
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage with Sea Views”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 1 week with husband and our little cavalier king charles spaniel. What an absolute delight this cottage was to holiday in. It is very well equipped, and very tastefully decorated and furnished. We were amazed at how close to the sea we were. It sits on the cliff path and not only has stunning sea views but you can also hear the sound of the sea - so relaxing. There is a lovely walk down to the sea front which is serviced by picnic tables to enjoy this wonderful coastline (and you pass by the Creel Inn on route!). In the cottage, downstairs has a wonderful comfortable lounge, a dining room which easily accommodates 6 at the table (and has a sofa bed), a very good size kitchen and a good size bathroom (towels plentiful and good quality, same with bed linen), upstairs has 2 bedrooms, 1 double and 1 twin. I would point out however, that the bedrooms are accessed by a steep wooden staircase with a rope style banister. Personally I would have preferred a more solid banister but that is because I have troublesome knees. The rope banister is very authentic in style but not so practical. There is a lovely garden to one side though we only used it for hanging out washing, and there are outdoor chairs and table to sit at other end - we used this loads as we had great weather and sat looking out to sea. The cottage has a small porch area to sit and enjoy the sea views, we used this every evening, watching day turn to night (remembering in the summer the nights are very light til late on). The Creel Inn is a 2 minute walk, a very good restaurant, bar and outdoor seating area to stop for a drink. The food and service is first class and everyone, both local and tourists all very friendly. For grocery shopping, both Stonehaven (6 miles) and Inverbervie (5 miles) are a 10 minute drive away. Places of interest in the area can be found in the guest book in the cottage along with lots of other local information. This is the best holiday cottage we have stayed in (both in terms of accommodation and situation)and we will definitely return, probably again and again and a again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: furnishing and location of cottage
Liked least: No DVD player as advertised (though weather good so did not need)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Hello - Thank you very much for your review. This will give others a true indication of what to expect when booking our fabulous little cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing