We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Open Water Course

I start the Scuba diver course and ended to Open water diver. Big credit to our instructor mr... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2018
Trip665829
via mobile
Best food and great people - Thanks

I was very late in writing this, but we actually went in December 2015. Diane was amazing at... read more

Reviewed 2 January 2017
WildfireS3
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 81 reviews
  
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
76
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
2
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I was very late in writing this, but we actually went in December 2015. Diane was amazing at offering us advice on getting about in Samana and when we visited her in Las Galeras the food was great.

We booked a snorkeling trip out for our penultimate day out and despite my girlfriend not being able to swim we gad a great time. The trip out to Bacardi Island was a lovely lunch and it was a great way to finish off our holiday.

You cannot go wrong with TDA and would not hesitate to recommend going to see them.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank WildfireS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Paul & the Crew are an excellent team, full of knowledge and great fun to dive with, totally focused on providing the best diving in the area, very professional and nothing is a problem, Paul, Audrey & Roy made sure our 6 dives we well planned and enjoyable, can't recommend them enough, and will be going back for sure, hopefully soon!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Diane and the rest of the staff were great! The snorkeling was wonderful and the lunch provided was delicious. Are trip started with a ride down to Samana, where we caught a boat out to Cayo Levantado to snorkel. After about 2 hours, we went to a new location to see a sunken ferry. After the snorkeling we ate food at cayo levantado and were able to spend some time on the beatiful beach before heading back up to Las Galeras. Food was great, snorkeling was great, and the price was great.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Tyson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

The Dive Academy has the most incredible excursions for both novice and experienced divers as well as first timers for both snorkeling and diving! Diane and her well trained and friendly staff made sure from the moment we began asking questions to the end of our excursion, that we were safe well informed and delighted beyond words with our adventure! Don't waste your time looking elsewhere for an ocean excursion or diving experience. They are the best you can find. Both divers and snorkelers alike saw beautiful underwater plant life and colorful sea life and were allowed plenty of time for exploring the reefs and wreck. We were then taken to Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island), to again be waited on and fed delicious local delicacies and then off to rest under the palm trees and swim the crystal clear waters. Our family cannot wait to return and further our experience with Diane and her team! Love you guys! Maryann, Tony, Alex, and Justine.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank shirleyTemple59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tda-adventures, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Hi ShirleyTemple

Thank you for writing a review for us, we really appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know how much they enjoyed their time with us. You and yur family were a delight to have on the Samana Marine Excursion and we often look at the pictures you took of your day.

Looking forward to your return

All The Crew at TDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We were very lucky to meet the team on the beach and immediately planned a dive with them. We went the next day for 2 dives and were very impressed with their professionalism. I am not the most experienced diver and at no time did I feel unsafe. Small group dive, there were 5 of us and a dive master, an instructor and a spotter above us. Wonderful time, wonderful staff. Would absolutely recommend

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank stargazerr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews