We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place for a short duration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK place for a short duration”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for a day on our way from Chennai to Colombo by Ferry via Tuticorin port. Probably one of the 'biggest' hotels in Tuticorin. The room was good, staff at all grades were friendly, obliging and accommodative. Had good Indian food for lunch and dinner, relatively cheap. We made a trip to Tiruchendur (45 min by car) temple but decided against visiting Kanyakumari, the southern most point in India (3 hrs), perhaps the only two things to do when in Tuticorin. The hotel was only 2 yrs old, but was already showing signs of poor maintenance (leaky taps, non cooling fridge, safe deposit box not working etc). Overall, good value for money. The hotel has no liquor licence. So, dont forget to bring your own!

Room Tip: Do internet booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muralidhara, General Manager at Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Guest,

I Thank you for taking few minutes to write about your experience that you had with us during your stay.
We are happy to make you fell that this place is value for the money you pay and at the same time sorry for the rooms given to you with a tap that was not working properly.
On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your business and looking forward to serve you again.

Best Regards,

G.Muralidhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    61
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
7
6
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Surely not a hotel I would ever go to again. The quality to price ratio is definitely not good.
I am from Europe and as I often come to India for business trips a good hotel is a must when staying here long periods.
The restaurant food quality is terrible. International breakfast isn't available.
I booked the best room available (suite for 5k rs per night). The rooms are old and not kept to quality standards which you would expect for that much money especially in such a small city in India.
Bad customer assistance.
If you are staying in that area I would recommend RR hotel in Chetticurici. Much less expensive and higher quality standards.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Land_of_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the past two years ever since it opened as 'Mayflower' under the Quality Inn umbrella. It was subsequently acquired & rebranded by GRT. By Tuticorin standards, this hotel is very good. It is located close to the industrial area of the town with companies like Sterlite, SPIC, etc. not being too far away. Buffet breakfast is quite sumptuous & delicious. Staff are quite pleasant & friendly.

Since it is quite a distance away from the town (on the road to Tirunelveli & the airport), local transportation (autos) would be very difficult especially in the late evenings. A major drawback is that despite having been in existence for the last 2 years, the hotel doesnt have a bar / liquor permit. I also had the bad experience of getting a non-veg dish (I am a pure veggie) delivered in my room while I had ordered for a veg snack.

The only other hotel that is generally believed to be on par is DSF Grand Plaza where I have never stayed & hence am unable to rate. But DSF's location is right near the heart of the town & very close to the railway station. Plus DSF has a decent bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muralidhara, General Manager at Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking your valuable time to express your experience & concern on GRT Regency Tuticorin.
I have already expressed your experience to all my team members and strongly commit that we shall make you to feel the place is best at Tuticorin & looking forward to serve you again.

Warm Regards,

G.Muralidhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I would like to begin this letter on point, before going into full detail about my stay. You should be proud to know that i feel that you run "the" best hotel in the city of Tuticorin.It's funny how a preconceived notion can be so completely off base. There is not one, single complaint about this hotel.
Having decided not to rough it out, I chose to stay in GRT .
The hotel is exquisitely appointed, intimate and elegant. All of the staff members were lovely hosts—charming, warm, gracious, accommodating, and meticulously professional. Collectively, their team ensured the stay to be pleasant
The food was amazing and I can never forget the taste. The restaurants menu had some of the finest cuisines
To summarize,this is fabulous and you guys Rock!!

Venkat

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venkat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muralidhara, General Manager at Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate time taken for posting the review about our hotel and your experience.
We are glad to understand that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will share this to my team so that their sprits are high and meet out every guest requirements.
We would like to thank you for your business and hope to serve you again.

Warm Regards,

G.Muralidhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Brand new hotel property in Tuticorin.

Nice Rooms and friendly staff.

Very good Restaurant...try south indian thali.

Check in and check out slow.

Staff inexperienced and hence service quality is relatively poorer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NirajGhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muralidhara, General Manager at Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken for posting the review about our hotel and your experience.
Asure you that we will meet out all your requirements in the best possible ways.
We would like to thank you for your valuable business and expect to serve you again.

Warm Regards,

G.Muralidhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuticorin
5.5 km away
Hotel DSF Grand Plaza
Hotel DSF Grand Plaza
#3 of 12 in Tuticorin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Raj
Hotel Raj
#4 of 12 in Tuticorin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
6.4 km away
SRM Hotel - Tuticorin
SRM Hotel - Tuticorin
#5 of 12 in Tuticorin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Kani Hotel
Kani Hotel
#7 of 12 in Tuticorin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
31.7 km away
Hotel Chitra Park
Hotel Chitra Park
#1 of 9 in Tiruchendur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
31.5 km away
Hotel Udhayam International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels
Address: 3/187, Periyanayagapuram Main Road | Periyanayagapuram Main Road , Opp to. Collectorate, Tuticorin 628101, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thoothukudi District > Tuticorin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin
Price range (per night): $52 - $90
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency by GRT hotels features 51 well-equipped contemporary rooms, studios and superior rooms. Each room is designed with contemporary amenities apart from features such as 24 hours room service, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, and electronic safe deposit lockers. Regency by GRT hotels is the ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers looking for accommodation near Tiruchendur and Tirunelveli as well. The hotel includes a multi-cuisine restaurant as well as a bar, conference facilities, a travel desk, fully equipped fitness centre and modern room amenities.Regency by GRT hotels is an abode of comfort and convenience in the busy port town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing