We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night with the animals - good and bad points”

McDermott's Coaches
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Legana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: McDermott’s Coaches – Specialty Tours and Charters are the State’s largest transport provider supplying tours, transfers, hire and coach charter for large and small groups around Tasmania and interstate.Touring, transport and sightseeing to destinations statewide including Cradle Mountain National Park and other options are avaialble in modern premium coaches with expert driver/guide commentary. All tours offer a guaranteed departure and complimentary pick up and drop off at accommodation venues.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Night with the animals - good and bad points”
Reviewed 26 January 2017

This is really a tour of two halves - one much better than the other. It started with a pick up at the hotel. Our tour guide was polite and well spoken. The bus was dedicated for animal spotting with a couple of spot lights. We had a short drive to the Devils at Cradle wildlife sanctuary where we were told we'd be seeing feeding of tasmanian devils and quolls. We did, but with a huge group of other people (>50 compared with the 9 on our tour). The feeding was about to start when we arrived and we had to push our way in to the crowd to watch it. Far far too big a group for viewing what was going on. I know these places need to earn money, but having paid for a specific tour, it would have been nice to have had a little more personal tour, with only our group, rather than being all lumped in together to such a big crowd. This was the first part of the tour, and I'd say 3 out of 5 given it was so hard to get space to watch what was going on.

Now the second part. The driver took us round some of the nearby tracks and locations, using a spot light to see the local wildlife. We saw loads of wombats, possums, wallabies and pandemelons. This bit of the tour was great, although I found myself stepping in to help out by holding a second spotlight, as the driver couldn't illuminate anything on the passenger side of the bus. This limited taking photos for me, but made it a much better experience for everyone else. There was no getting out whenever anything was spotted, but the windows opened and driver stopped until everyone had the pictures they wanted. I'd give this part a 5 out of 5.

Perhaps I'm being over critical here, and I umm'd and ah'd between a 3 and 4 star review. Despite the issues with the large group at the feedings, I'd still recommend this, but the tour operator should make it clear that it'll be a huge group for the feeding, and not just the people in the tour you're part of. All pictures attached were taken during to tour.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent Start to Finish”
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Geoff Piper is a coach driver for McDermott's Coaches and it's obviously his great skill and vast experience as a driver, not to mention the responsibility he constantly shows for the care of his passengers and also his knowledge of Australian fauna and history - along with his always unruffled demeanor! - that makes journeying with him a great pleasure and for a memorable holiday.
It says a lot for McDermotts too, who have the good sense to employ Geoff and whose coach was obviously well maintained and always clean and well presented throughout our fortnight's tour, that I should, unusually for me, sit down to write this 'review'.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank virgil851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim J, Director of Sales at McDermott's Coaches, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
We thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review .. it is so nice for our drivers to be acknowledged for their effort out on the road when on tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravelly Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day and Overnight Tours - Fantastic Value and Good Old Fashioned Service”
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Staff on board bus professional, friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Comfortable, quiet buses, fantastic day and overnight tours with always a couple of surprises in store. Gain good commentary and broad knowledge on history of Tasmania. Highly recommended if you are after a relaxing and informative tour, with a large variety of excursions to the choose from, be it a day trip, overnight stay or be more adventurous and join the happy tour venturing on a trip out of the state.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank paulieblack61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim J, Director of Sales at McDermott's Coaches, responded to this review, 21 November 2016
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Travel Club experience with us and hope you can join us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant 2 week trip”
Reviewed 8 November 2016

With Geoff Piper as our coach driver it was all excellent. His knowledge of Tasmania, the history, the animals was amazing. Down the East Coast of Tasmania together with scallop pies was to be well remembered, then our stay in Hobart, then back up the West Coast so different. Our Cradle Mt sightseeing with Mel was another afternoon to go down as a highlight. Geoff made the whole experience just great with all his history and anecdotes. He looked after us well and if you are lucky enough to have him as your driver you will appreciate it.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank marmac828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim J, Director of Sales at McDermott's Coaches, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
Thank you for your great review, really appreciated and the best part is to remind our hard working staff what a great job they do and they are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The #1 option for Cradle Mountain”
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The national park at Cradle mountain use McDermotts as the bus company to operate their transfer of tourists in and out of the park, so that says something about their ability to function at a high level. Also, they can take you from Launceston to Cradle mountain on a day tour, or they can pick you back up in a few days and take you back. Also, for those who might do the Overland Trail where you finish up at Lake St. Clare, they can pick you up from there and take you back to Launceston. However, the Lake St. Clare does not operate every day so you'll need to check to see if it suits with your travel plans
These are comfortable buses, the drivers give you a nice commentary tour as you drive the 2 hrs, and some really interesting facts about the development of agriculture in the area, sounds dry but its really good.
They have an office at Cradle mountain and they were always pleasant and easy to talk to.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank WakeBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McDermott's Coaches also viewed

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to McDermott's Coaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing