We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The #1 option for Cradle Mountain”

McDermott's Coaches
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Legana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: McDermott’s Coaches – Specialty Tours and Charters are the State’s largest transport provider supplying tours, transfers, hire and coach charter for large and small groups around Tasmania and interstate.Touring, transport and sightseeing to destinations statewide including Cradle Mountain National Park and other options are avaialble in modern premium coaches with expert driver/guide commentary. All tours offer a guaranteed departure and complimentary pick up and drop off at accommodation venues.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The #1 option for Cradle Mountain”
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The national park at Cradle mountain use McDermotts as the bus company to operate their transfer of tourists in and out of the park, so that says something about their ability to function at a high level. Also, they can take you from Launceston to Cradle mountain on a day tour, or they can pick you back up in a few days and take you back. Also, for those who might do the Overland Trail where you finish up at Lake St. Clare, they can pick you up from there and take you back to Launceston. However, the Lake St. Clare does not operate every day so you'll need to check to see if it suits with your travel plans
These are comfortable buses, the drivers give you a nice commentary tour as you drive the 2 hrs, and some really interesting facts about the development of agriculture in the area, sounds dry but its really good.
They have an office at Cradle mountain and they were always pleasant and easy to talk to.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank WakeBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“McDermotts coach tour tassie Cradle Mountain”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

awesome trip. Tour guide Cathy was Brilliant. Great customer service. New her job. Knowledge was great. Very recommend

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“See Wildlife Come Alive at Night”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

There were mostly pros about this tour but there are a few cons as well.

My mother and I stayed at the Cardle Mountain resort and we were picked up by bus. It was a funky printed bus. The guide was friendly and informative.

The negative was we were taken to the Tasmanian devil rehabilitation center and stood around with another hundred people. I dislike big groups! The guide waited around while the guide at the center fed the Devils and gave a rundown of the life of the Tasmanian Devils!

I preferred the night spotting. NOTE: You stay in the bus and you do not get out!

The experience was ok but the driver didn't stop for long when we saw something. We saw a few wallabies and other small animals.

It was fun knowing that the wildlife comes alive at night. My Australian visit certainly taught me a great deal about the animal kingdom, especially the unique variety only on this continent!

I enjoyed the information and overall intention, but tour could be improved. I would still recommend.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiFreshChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An expensive exercise ”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

We visited the Sanctuary which was OK and then went on the bus to see animals which we had already seen in abundance throughout the park. It really wasn't worth the time and money.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank ACJHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Up close with the Devils!”
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This is a great trip, combining a visit to the Tasmanian Devils sanctuary with animal night spotting. We were able to see the devils at close quarters, as well as Eastern and Spotted Tail Quolls. The team are clearly very dedicated to helping preserve the endangered devils and we learned a great deal about their way of life.
We then went out with a couple of spotlights to see what animals we could find in the wild - we saw wombats, pademelons, wallabies and possums though, sadly, no devils (our guide had seen two the previous night on her way home)
All our guides were very knowledgeable.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank MKMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McDermott's Coaches also viewed

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to McDermott's Coaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing