We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,189)
Filter reviews
2,190 results
Traveller rating
1,116
635
256
102
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
635
256
102
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo terrace all inclusive package chinese restaurant talei restaurant kids club pool bar naviti staff coral viewing joy spa highly recommend the naviti fiji time sunset cruise family holiday nightly entertainment inclusive menu great holiday coral coast
Filter
Updating list...
2,104 - 2,109 of 2,190 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2007

After our flight being delayed for 4.5 hours we finally headed to our first overseas holiday. We arrived at the Naviti around 1.30am. They had welcome food & drinks for us even at this late time of the night.
When we woke up the next morning, we were amazed at the beautiful view we had from our room. It was gorgeous.
The first day we were there I ran into an old school friend. The world really is small.
All the meals were great and plenty of it. Everyone was so relaxed. We made a lot of new friends & had a great time. You have to get used to the pace of the Fijians which isn't fast, but, it was relaxed. All the drinks were included except for cocktails & milkshakes, which really wasn't a problem.
The only problem I could see was that for the kids club dinner, because it only goes for an hour & if it takes you a long time to get your kids out of the pool like mine, you have a hard time getting the kids to the meal on time.
The waterfall tour, was a bit rough & we were told it only took 20 minutes to do the walk, when it actually took over an hour. It can be dangerous for some & you need to have some fitness level. I lost my footing on some rocks & hurt both my legs, but I still walked to the waterfall & back to the truck.
The staff are very friendly and are happy to make friends.
There are a lot of activities, but a lot of people were just happy to sit around the pool reading or swimming.
The weather was hot, but most days we had showers which only lasted 20 mins or so.
I would highly recommend going to the Naviti. It was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank PortMacquarieKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Well we have just returned from 6 days at the Naviti. We were there during the peak school holiday period. Loads of Australians probably 97% so you must like Australians (hehehe). We had an awesome time (were not Australian). The crowd changes almost daily with people arriving or leaving and we didn't seem to notice any drunkeness or outlandish behaviour. It takes a wee while to slow down so you can't be in a rush to get your drink order fulfilled its just the way it is!!! We noticed some people getting quite rude and impatient about this which was a shame as they obviously didn't embrace the culture. It was a really busy time to visit and we think the staff did exceptionally well in coping with the number of people that were there.

Full credit to the staff at the kids club. They do a fantastic job I dont know how they do it day after day!!! Our 6 year old had a blast and was happy to race off at 10.00 to go to the morning kids club session while we "boringly" sat by the pool.

The pool lounger etiquette is bizarre. There is a mad dash at 8.0am in the morning as soon as the pool towels become available to race back to the new pool and grab a spot. This was quite fustrating as some people didn't come back to the pool for nearly half the day but you didn't dare sit on their chair. We witnessed one such argument about someone taking anothers chair when they hadn't been by the pool for 4 hours!!! So be aware if you want to get a spot by the pool get there early.

The all inclusive was a great deal. We didn't drink a lot but felt that it was a really good deal and takes the hassle out of worrying about paying for meals etc.

The kids can dine with their parents at night at either the Wasawasa or the Nukunuku at no extra charge or alternatively they can eat at the childrens dinner session. Yes there are chips served but we managed to feed our children healthy options at meal times.

Breakfast is the highlight of the day. Get an omeltte from the omelette man they are awesome.

Lunch is either buffet or a la carte with some really nice options on the a la carte menu as well as the unhealthy burgers, pizza etc.. The Chicken tikka was divine as was the club sandwiches. They could do with adding some healthy options to the childrens menu such as yoghurt and fruit with a sandwich for lunch but you can choose from the buffet for the children which always had salad and buns that you could put together.

We loved the staff. They were really nice, you could tell they were overworked due to the capacity but they never let it get to them.

Harry was fabulous.
Cecelia our bookings person an angel
Our baby sitters were great
Kids club staff exceptional

We were in the old part of the resort but it was great. Ocean views, quiet and very clean. We didn't stay in our rooms much at all so it was great (why would you?)

The village trip and school visit were wonderful. We took a box of supplies and toys for the children which was well received. Ask your friends adn family to buy some coloured pencils and books etc before you go and take it with you... they need it! Even old childrens books you no longer use would be appreciated.

We did an afternoon trip to Sigatoka to watch a local rugby game and travelled by bus then looked around the town this was a really good experience for the kids they loved it.

Hope this helps..... you need to remember to slow down in Fiji and dont expect things to be done fast or they way you would expect things to be done at home.... you are in their home!!! :)

Stayed: September 2007
14  Thank nziskapai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

just spent 10 nights 11 days with three familys for the 2nd time at the naviti had a wonderful time resturatants were fantastic with excellent food and service. rooms where ok had to keep asking for towels as they where not replaced and extra pillows for bed as they only supplied one each which were very flat
kids club my 10 year daughter found very boring 8 year old son did not complain pool was fantastic weather great showers at night but it was pleasant to here rain. went to the warrick for tea one night very dissapointed with waiter service food was ok rather stayed at the naviti and ate at the chinnse resturatant with the excellent very friendly staff this place is great value for money with the all inclusive deal i am quite sure we drank and ate our moneys worth. tours we went on was the robinson crusoe cruise and the waterfall. the cruise was good with excellent entertainment snorkling was ok. waterfall from the naviti is a bit hard on younger children as it has narrow paths and you have to climb over rocks in between paths but once you are there it is beautifull

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank debbiekeppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

I only wrote this review following discussions with three other people of different ages who have stayed here in 2007 who all had the same experience.
We arrived on the all inclusive package, with an expectation that this was not going to be a 5 star hotel but somewhere between a 3-4 Star.
The fascilities were good - Nice Restaurants and Pool Fascilities. The lagoon is a huge detraction as it is browny and certainly not a swimming area and only usable at high tide.
Problems:
1. Meals were only available at fixed times and nearly always included chips rather than vegetables or salad.
If you have young children you can not eat with them at night time. The children have a childrens dinner early 5.30pm when only children are allowed to eat in the restaurant. You can eat with your children but only at other restraunts which do not open until 6.30pm which is difficult with young children as they often go to bed around this time. The childrens menu has no health food options.
2.You have difficulty obtaiing bottles water before 9.00am. the staff need heavy persuation to give you water and the hotel shop does not open until after 9.00am.
3. Whilst the Staff always greet you with the customary "BULA" you can not help but feel that they do this they have been instructed to. They often will appear from no-where to great you with BULA....but when you ask staff members for assistance they tend to go away never to be seen again.
4. Never make the miskatke of asking for something that is not a standard item or service because they will find this too difficult and almost not know how to achieve the simplest things. ie we asked for a bowl of vegetables for our 1 year old (we did not want to feed her on chips for a week) and they could not work out how to do this.
5.Pools - If you are into heavy drinking then this is the place for you, there always appared to be drunk people at the swimming pool morning and night.
6. A friend who visited had a child 13years old who was not able to attend the kids club (over 12years) and could not spend the evening with the adults as too young for this. So they were heavily restricted apparently staff stated that activitites would be on for this age group but they were always cancelled at the last minute.
We lasted one week and then moved hotels to the Shangri-La which is more upmarket and had none of these problems - I guess you get what you pay for.
The Naviti (and I beleive the Warwick too) would be good for young people and singles and families that want to dump the kids and hit the grog. Anyone who wants to spend time together as a family or relax without drunkness and bad language all around then I suggest you look elsewhere- Definitely recommend the shangri_la

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank peakandsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the fantastic Naviti Resort. Our party consisted of myself, my husband, our 4 yr old daughter and both sets of our parents. We all had a wonderful holiday and plan to return!

A lot has been said about this resort already so I will try and write some extra info. The resort was clean and very tidy, has a lovely friendly feel - this was not our first trip to Fiji and we also stayed at another (more expensive) resort - which left a lot to be desired!. The Naviti is excellent value for money - take the inclusive deal - you wont be disappointed.

We stayed in the new wing; our rooms were beautiful (527, 528. 529). It was a short walk to the restaurants etc but that was our exercise for the day, also far enough from the lounge to not hear the disco in the evenings.

The food is good, however the buffets can be a bit 'ordinary' after a while so don’t forget you can dine at the Taeli fine dining restaurant as part of your 'inclusive' deal. You can also eat at the Chinese restaurant - there is a set menu for inclusive guests or you can eat off the menu with a 25% discount. Mains about $18fj for sweet and sour etc (before discount).
Breakfasts are divine -buffet - the 'egg man' is my new best friend! He makes the best omelettes. Also try the banana bread.
Lunch - buffet or there are a couple of menus to choose from - burgers etc and a pizza menu - yum!

The glass bottom boat is excellent but if the tides are right go in the morning for the coral viewing the winds picked up every afternoon while we were there and it makes it quite choppy.

We took a trip to the Kula Eco Park $20per adult entry. Lots of animals to see. Hand fed sea turtles, held Fijian Iguanas and snakes, saw lots of birds, a lovely day out. Took a taxi from the resort $40fj return (20 mins each way and the cabbie waited for us) and he also stopped at my request in a village so I could shop for shells in the 'shell house' (good prices, lots of selection, lovely lady).

Cocktails are $10 fj however our other resort was charging more than twice that!
The drinks are strong but good, the wines are Aus or NZ, the beer is Fijian. (Inclusive)

The free nightly entertainment shows were great (Fijian dancing, Polynesian dancing, kava ceremony, fire twirling, and church choir).

Our daughter was too young to go to kids club alone; however we could take her along at any time to join in. Lots of fun activities, donkey rides, fish feeding, crab racing, dancing competitions. Special mention to the DJ - he had us all in stiches, and the multi talented Bill.

Hair braiding across the road (next to the car rental), $2 per braid, crafts, clothing, necklaces etc also available in the village next door to the resort.

Things to take with you , bug spray ( tho not as bad as I imagined), sun screen, reef shoes (we picked up some aqua socks at Big W Australia for about $9 a pair they were great for walking on the reef and out to the island).

Previously mentioned by another poster - a 90 min trip from airport, maybe the only drawback, however lots to look at on the way. Not sure I would want to do the trip in the dark!
You will also go home with extra kilos!

All in all a wonderful place to visit, great value for money and lots of happy, friendly staff.
No sign of a coup, no trouble and everyone grateful that people are still coming to Fiji.

Love it - planning to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank charmbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews