We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm welcome”
Review of The Ferry

The Ferry
Ranked #14 of 18 Restaurants in Cookham
Price range: USD 8 - USD 53
Cuisines: European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Ferry serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Called in for lunch during the week without pre-booking. We were met with a very warm welcome from a waiter who was very attentive, without being annoying, throughout the meal. We did not have to wait too long for our food, but then there weren't many people in the restaurant at the time. The food was well presented, well cooked and hot, so me it ticked all the boxes. Reasonable variety/choice on the menu. There is a set lunch menu at a fixed price which is clearly indicated on the menu. The car park is not over large so at busy times this could prove a problem.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzi1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Suzi1948, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Ferry. We sincerely thank you for your review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We read the recent reviews, and therefore approached The Ferry with caution, but we are old regulars and wanted to visit for old times’ sake. Hopefully, things are getting back on track here, as we received very friendly service from waiting staff, and the food arrived hot and was enjoyed by all. I had fresh seabass, which was perfectly cooked.

Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. Thank you for such a lovely review. If there's anything further we can do for you, please get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

A few of us went for an early dinner on a weekend. This place used to be great but we haven't had a great experience the last 2 times we have visited. This is not a criticism of the food as all the dishes ordered were very tasty and presented well. The place is seriously understaffed. There was one waiter serving a large number of tables. You could see other guests getting frustrated because they couldn't get his attention and were waiting a long time for drinks. His attitude wasn't great either. He hardly smiled when serving customers. When we got our mains we asked where a missing dish was and he said "it's coming, I only have two hands!". Unbelievable! He started to smile towards the end of our meal but that was probably because he was on his third glass of red wine which he was drinking in the corner! The Ferry really needs to look at staffing issues if they want people to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 700asa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi 700asa,

we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Please can you get in touch with us at enquiry@theferry.co.uk to discuss your experience further?

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Kind of went from bad to worse here!

Slow service (so bad that the table next to us left because they’d waited 40 minutes just for drinks!!), lacklustre food and poor attention to detail. All of which are a massive shame because the pub looks great inside and out.

One of our starters had a hair on it. The waiter took it away (half eaten) and the next time we saw him - he was delivering our mains. No question or mention of whether we wanted the starter replaced!? The mains were ok - nothing special.

And the dessert arrived with the wrong ice cream (asked for praline, received bourbon for someone who doesn’t drink alcohol).

Some items were taken off the receipt at the end, but that’s besides the point - I’d rather pay full cost and enjoy a proper meal.

1  Thank Hardeep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hardeep N, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the opportunity to turn your experience around. Please reach out to us at enquiry@theferry.co.uk at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn this experience into a positive one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Free-flowing Prosecco lunch which needed constant prompting for top-ups. (Not that we're alcoholics... Obviously!) Got the order wrong, often, and only our honesty saved them approximately 50% of what we'd ordered. Lovely Outlook and decor but still a chain and food mediocre and overpriced.
Probably would go back again only because of the good deals and familiarity unfortunately.

1  Thank Mark17007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Ferry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention though Mark. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ferry also viewed

Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing