We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk shower room breakfast was delicious comfortable bed glyndebourne downs lewes ensuite cereal annabelle
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

My new wife and I decided to book one night at Ranscombe House B&B as part of our honeymoon. Upon our arrival we were both really pleased to see that were was plenty of secure parking available, and for private use by the B&B patrons only.
Walking up to the house, we were treated to a fantastic short walk through a garden that is obviously well looked after and taken care of. It really is picturesque.
Upon entering the house we were met by Annabelle who showed us to our room. It was absolutely huge and totally not what we expecting! It even had big windows overlooking the amazing garden we'd just walked through and had breathtaking views across the rolling Sussex fields towards the coast.
Spending a very comfortable night at Ranscombe (and being treated to a 5* delicious home-cooked full-English by Annabelle) we grudgingly departed and headed towards our next B&B in the heart of Eastbourne.
Unfortunately, the B&B we had booked into was absolutely filthy and we decided to leave after the owners became abusive.
At 9:30pm at night we gave Annabelle a call and she came to our rescue! We were given the same room we had previously had, and we felt instantly "at home" back at Ranscombe House.
Overall, we stayed for 3 nights. And there is honestly nothing bad we could say about the place or Annabelle and her husband. The house is spotlessly clean, a pleasure from start to finish and nothing was too much trouble for them. They really, really made us feel welcome and spent some time getting to know us. Far too many B&Bs these days just take your money and that's that. Ranscombe House really is a breath of fresh air, and it was wonderful to stay in such a beautiful house where you can tell that the owners are still passionate to give you a fantastic stay and a wonderful experience.
We will definitely be returning here as soon as we can get some more time off from work. We are already missing the perfect breakfasts Annabelle served up!
(Extremely recommended if you need a picturesque base and want to travel into Brighton, Eastbourne, Lewes, etc).
We'd both rate this place 10 out of 5 if TripAdvisor would allow it!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank -M-Jones-Ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Stayed for two nights at Ranscombe House this week. What a lovely place.

Very conveniently located next to the A27, so easy to get into Lewes or travel further afield towards Brighton or Eastbourne. (Although its location did mean some traffic noise in our room which faced towards the main road. Wasn't really a major bother to us, and closing the window did make a difference - but if that sort of thing bothers you a room facing another direction might help.)

Our room was very spacious and beautifully furnished, with a nicely-equipped bathroom which was larger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in! A fantastically comfortable bed, plenty of nice touches like bottles of water in the room, loads of space and impeccably clean. Everything you could want from a guest room.

Breakfast was great - a great choice of fruit and cereals, plentiful coffee and juice, and a delicious cooked breakfast prepared to order by Annabelle.

We'll definitely be looking to stay here again the next time we visit this part of the country.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GarethH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My wife and I stayed at Ranscombe House in July and were warmly welcomed. Our room was well appointed, a comfortable bed, armchairs, dressing table, tea and coffee making facilities as well as bottles of still and sparkling waters were available. Our shower room had a thermostatically controlled shower in a new cubicle. Toilet and washbasin nearby.

The B&B had been freshly decorated and the carpets appeared to be new or freshly cleaned. Plenty of parking was available and there was a good garden receiving attention.

Breakfast was served between 8am and 10am and there was a choice of cereals, plain yogurt and fresh berries. A range of cooked breakfasts were available with tea and coffee.

Glyndebourne is at a convenient distance, as is Lewes, and Charleston, the home of the Bloomsbury Group. My wife and I enjoyed visiting to the nearby village of Firle where a good lunch was enjoyed at the Ram Inn.

We found the website of Ranscombe House to be helpful. The Ranscombe House near Glynde should not be confused with a B&B if the same name at Brixham.

Room Tip: See website, some distant traffic noise from A27 on one side of house
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barnhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I recently stayed at Ranscombe House B & B and found it to be an ideal location to travel to see family and friends in both East Sussex and West Sussex. My room and bathroom were very nice, comfortable and clean, the breakfast was excellent but the nicest part of the stay was how nice and friendly and helpful the host was and nothing was too much trouble. I look forward to a return visit when next in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JacquieR181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The room was comfortable and spacious, the breakfast was delicious and the welcome friendly. There is plenty of room to park and for us is was perfect being 5 minutes down the road from Glyndebourne - we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Treetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews