We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm”
Review of The Sportsman Inn

The Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Amberley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Sportsman Inn is a public house offering a selection of local and Cornish real ales and delicious pub food. We have 5 en-suite B&B rooms with spectacular views over the Amberley Brooks.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We are visiting family from Canada and wanted to treat my parents to a nice lunch as a thank you. We chose the Sportsman based on the good reviews but it would have been nice to have been able to look at a menu online before we went. We had a table for 1:45 but were there a little early. We were able to sit at the table but weren't able to order until 1:45 which was fair enough. We ordered 4 chicken burgers and a fish and chips. These took about 45 minutes to arrive..a couple came in quite a bit after us and were served extremely quickly and before us. The chicken was lovely, tasty and cannot complain at all. The fish went went back because it was not completely cooked. The replacement fish was the same so we gave up..the sportsman did not charge us for the fish entree but it wasn't really the point. I would not be in a hurry to go back or recommend based on today's experience

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PamelaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie C, Owner at The Sportsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us yesterday. I would like to take this opportunity to say with 100% confidence that the fish was cooked all the way through - we do not serve under-cooked fish and all food is temperature checked before being served. When the fish was returned to the kitchen it was cooked again for a further 5-10 minutes. We work very hard to maintain a high level of food safety and hygiene and the health of our customers is our top priority.

Our wait times are something that we are currently trying to improve, but I hope that you can appreciate that we have a very small team in our kitchen as finding staff in such a rural location is a challenge. This combined with a fully-booked restaurant means that wait times can be longer than usual. We pride ourselves on serving fresh food made to order and some dishes do take longer to prepare than others. The couple you referred to being served before you ordered roast dinners which are quicker to prepare and serve, as that is what we are mainly geared up to do on a Sunday. I can assure you that they were not given priority and had in fact waited for 30-40 minutes themselves for a table to become available as they had not booked.

We are currently working on getting a website up and running which will allow our customers to view our menus online. We have only been open for a few weeks and are working all hours to ensure that our customers are happy.

I hope that you can take this into consideration and that you do visit us again as we would love the opportunity to show you the positive dining experience we strive to give our customers.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018

Incredibly helpful staff and great food at unbelievable prices. Great atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank Tim1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

I visited the sportsman after a day riding the southdowns. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, there was a good choice of beer and the food was excellent, as was the service.

Thank daveparkin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

New owners ! The standard of service and food hasn’t been good at The sportsman for a long time but our visit today was without fault. Friendly helpful staff serving excellent food . Book early to avoid disappointment..

Thank dannibear2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

There are new people in and the wife is behind the bar and her partner is the Chef. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. They have not long moved in just taking over 2nd March and so far so good. The beer range is good (that is what my husband said), they are very friendly look forward to going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nannyp279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sportsman Inn also viewed

Amberley, West Sussex
 
Pulborough, Horsham District
Pulborough, Horsham District
 

Been to The Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing