We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$157
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$252
  • Hotels.com
4.4 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$578
  • Booking.com
4.3 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
  • Vio.com
4.1 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.1 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$271
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
2.6 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
18.7 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
5.3 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$88
  • Booking.com
4.6 km from Amata Borobudur Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Borobudur
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
354
64
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
354
64
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe bungalow family bungalow big pool traditional house welcome drink reception area stayed here for one night nasi goreng rice massage driver temple magelang java staycation lodging transport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I highly recommend AMATA Borobudur. The staff is so genuinely friendly and helpful ( although Emglish can be limited).
The rooms are immaculate, large bungalows and are filled with snacks and other nice amenities. Large and elegant bathrooms.
The pool is a wonderful retreat.
The restaurant is a delightful surprise with really excellent food which is beautifully presented. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner for 2 days, ordering both Indonesian and Western food and it was all delicious and artistically served.
Amata provides free transfer to Borobudur for sunrise ( an absolute must) and for a small fee you can arrange a "tour" around the villages later that day. The village tour includes learning to make pottery, batik and seeing a Tofu factory.. all very local and authentuc.
We had a wonderful time at AMATA... it was all good.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonius Y, Manager at Amata Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your kind word. We are constantly learn to improve our English and confidence day by day to serve our customer better, so we thank you for letting us know.
I have share your feedback to our staff and we are all glad that you had a wonderful time here. We are looking forward to see you on your next trip. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This boutique resort is a quite peace of paradise very close to Borobudur.
The room is a combination of modernity, tradition and comfort. It is just beautiful with every single detail well thought.
The restaurant offers a great choice of local and international food for very reasonable price. The food is tasty and well presented, no mistake there.
The rest of the resort is just a mix of tradition and luxury. And so quiet. Not a lot of villas in the resort so we happened to be the only ones in the swimming pool when we visited.
But the best part of the resort is definitely its staff. At the restaurant, the reception, the driver, every single person we met was incredibly kind and dedicated. We are used to travel a lot with my family, even in Asia where the service is always at the top, but here was definitely way above any expectation we could have. We couldn't be more grateful to the girls there and the entire staff.
I can only strongly recommend as you understood, no downside for this hotel, and I will definitely come back myself the next time I come to Central Java.
Thanks again and congrats to all the staff !!!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank neorower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonius Y, Manager at Amata Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad to be able to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. I will pass on this great feedback to all our staff to motivate them keeping up the service. we hope to see you soon at Amata Borobudur Resort on your next trip to Indonesia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a relaxed resort-type feel to it. Service is relaxed but efficient. The property has lounge areas, nice decor and is just tastefully done all around.

The rooms are individual huts that are very well equipped, quiet and impeccably clean. The beds are comfortable and everything about the rooms and the resort in general show evidence of a strong maintenance program.

The food is excellent, reasonably priced and the kitchen is an efficient operation.

You're very close to the main attractions and when the heat of the day has worn you down at those temples you'll be glad to come back to this property. Highest recommendation.

Free Wifi is robust and reliable. Bring a book. Bring the kids.

Thanks for reading.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SSSUCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonius Y, Manager at Amata Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hello,
Thank you for the great appreciation and positive feedback regarding our resort.
We are pleased to know that you are happy and satisfied to stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon at Amata Borobudur Resort on your next holiday.
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I stayed here for one night with the sole intent to be in close proximity to Borobudur temple in order to make it easier to visit for sunrise. The hotel offers a pick up service (not free) from the airport and it was extremely efficient and easy. Once I arrived the check in process was easy and I had a refreshing welcome drink and snack. The room itself is a small bungalow with all the amenities you'll need and even had a welcome fruit basket in the room. Since the resort is down a driveway and backs up to the river I didn't hear any street noise at all during my stay. They also have complimentary umbrellas in case it rains, which it did during my evening there. I ate at the hotel that night and although not spectacular the service was great and the meal was fine. I woke up early to take the complimentary shuttle to the temple for the sunrise entry and took the shuttle back which allowed for more than enough time at Borobudur. Breakfast at the resort was extremely generous and again the service was great. I was the only person at the pool but the area is quite nice, with several lounging areas and the pool is nicely maintained. I was reluctant to leave and after a less than stellar experience in Yogyakarta proper I greatly missed having to depart so quickly. Wifi also worked well. Overall great stay and a much better value and experience in my opinion to staying at the hotel situated at Borobudur.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michy6195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We stayed just one night at the Amata resort in order to view Borobudur. We really regretted not having a second night just to enjoy our lovely room and the nice ambience at the Amata. We staff was attentive and friendly. The food was good and artistically presented; kudos to the chef. And I found they helped with car hire and didn't gouge the price like hotels often do. I wish we'd been able to stay another day and just hang around the pool. It's a small resort so you will feel pampered. Although we were not right by Borobudur this didn't seem a disadvantage. We walked there the first night just to have a look from afar. They provided a free shuttle the next morning for us to join the sunrise tour.

Room tip: We had a deluxe room and it was very roomy and nice.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia3403
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonius Y, Manager at Amata Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hello, thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though it was just 1 night. We hope to see you soon at Amata Borobudur Resort. Have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews