We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Priceline
USD 33
View deal
Booking.comUSD 33
eDreamsUSD 33
TripadvisorUSD 33
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
285
49
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
285
49
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papaya jam paddy fields fresh juice gunung merapi charming place fried rice ibu jakarta pak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Villa Sumbing Indah is surrounded by beautiful Indonesian country and is so much nicer a place to stay than the main city. Christophe will take good care of you, and help you to organise your visit from start to end if you'd like.

The rooms are large, comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. The pool is great too, even if you want to sit around and relax with a book. Christophe's food is really good, you don't really need to go elsewhere for dinner.

The surrounding paddy fields make for a lovely walk, the villages nearby are very friendly and will give you a real feel for Indonesia's community as well as its natural beauty.

We'd recommend this stay to everyone.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabiha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Y, Propriétaire at Villa Sumbing Indah, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

We are very happy to have stink to receive you has VILLA SUMBING INDAH, we thank you, in name of all the team to have come visit us.
We shall keep a good memory of your passage and hope we can receive you has new during a next stay.
All the staff of villa sumbing and yanti and christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the lovely peaceful Villa Sumbing Indah. The place was so cozy surrounded by paddy fields with great view of Mt. Merapi and Mt Sumbing. The owner Yanti and all the staffs treated us as special guest. My wife were so spoilt by their kindness hospitality and services by addressing her as 'IBU'. getting everything she need. And not to be forgotten the food was outstanding. I would recommend to all traveller who love to get away from the hustle and bustle of their hectic daily life this will be the convenient oasis surrounding by mountains.
Stayed 13- 18 April 2015 couple from Singapore

Room tip: All rooms is perfect with bamboo designs
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Indo_explorer275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We booked a 3 night stay at Villa Sumbing and really had a great time. The staff is the kindest you can imagine and we found it very nice to be outside the city although close enough from Borobudur. The surroundings are very nice, the villages around are intact and people everywhere are amazingly friendly, smiling and welcoming.
The rooms are spacious, offer each a nice terrace and are comfortable.
The restaurant offers the typical Indonesian food although a lot of the menu is of French inspiration - a pity for us as it felt a bit too much like home. We of course only had the Indonesian food and it was extremely tasty and well prepared.
We used the services of a driver (Dareh) who was very nice, spoke good English and told us a lot about the culture, the country, etc. This was a very useful way to visit.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre-Aloïs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2015

From the time we arrived Christophe and Yanti spoilt us. The accommodation was exceptional and the staff were so helpful and polite. Transport was arranged for all tours we wanted to do and the drivers were knowledgeable. Christophe even woke me at 4.30am and personally took me to see the sun rise over the Merapi volcano. The scenery from the villa was awesome and the walks around there gave an insight into the local lives. It was relaxing and even the chanting gave an atmosphere. The food was great, especially Christophe's steaks. These lovely people have created something very special.

Room tip: Any room is the perfect stay, all with direct access to the pool.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rob_kay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Villa Sumbing Indah in January 2015. The setting is remote, but absolutely breathtaking. The owners are incredibly gracious and make sure that their guests have everything you need. On our first day, we had tickets to go to Borobudur at sunrise, and the villa coordinated our 3am transportation for us. The restaurant has delicious food (with the freshest mangoes I've ever tasted!). The hikes through the rice paddies and the local area are to die for, and the villa will coordinate local guides who are very knowledgeable about the plants and the area.

Even though the rooms are not air conditioned, the mountain air kept everything cool. Overall it was a wonderful stay, and I highly recommend!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorrained434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews