We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
75
41
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
41
9
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish barstayed here for three nightsgreat foodngorongoro craterother hotelsone nightlong drivebeautiful groundsrooms are largetwo nightsaccommodationlodgetanzaniasafaridinnermealsvegetarian
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The grounds here are beautiful and there is even a pool. The room was comfortable but what impressed us most of all was the attention paid to us as vegans. The chef created our very own "smorgasbord," just for us. Everything was fresh and delicious! We were so touched by that! In most places on safari, as vegetarians/vegans, one simply eats everything put out for everybody else, except for the meat. Not at Octagon Lodge!

Room Tip: Each room is a separate little house in the lodge, and you walk along a beautiful garden path to access it.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brynndabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octagon L, Manager at Octagon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for sparing your time to post a review regarding your stay with us.

We are overjoyed that our staff made every effort to tailor a product to meet your requirement which actually exceeded your expectations.

We are actually humbled by that good gesture and on behalf of all our staff, we wish you well.

Thank you!

Patrick Silas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

I was one of the few people at Octagon since it was the low season and really got awesome care. The staff is very talkative and attentive. You almost feel a bit like family, they really go out of their way for you. The food is generous and has a great variety of amazing flavors and options with all organic background. The Irish open air bar was a delightful surprise in the middle of Africa. I recommend the Tusker as the best pint. I had to stay over a bit waiting for my flight to Zanzibar and the staff was more then accommodating of my needs and making me feel a bit like a local. Stay here and you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Make sure you hit the Irish bar. The cottages are warm and welcoming with full accommodations.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Agent21ADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octagon L, Manager at Octagon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

We thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience during your stay with us.

We are much humbled that we met your expectations.

Our industry is very vibrant, we strive to do our best to enhance the comfort of our guests being far away from home.

We thank you for your honest review and look forward to host you always.

Thank you.

Patrick Silas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Amazing ambience. Staff is so welcoming and they do everything they can to ensure you have a great experience at their place. The food is just superb; it will surprise you how good it is. WiFi throughout the grounds. Hot showers. Very clean rooms. I really cannot day enough good things. Patrick, Daniel, and Frank are such gentlemen. I give Octagon Lodge my absolute highest recommendation.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octagon L, Manager at Octagon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sparing your most golden time to share your experience regarding your stay with us.

We are much humbled that your really enjoyed your stay which left you with good memories for time to come.

On behalf of all the staff who made your stay to be real and great experience, we thank you and wish you a healthy 2018.

Thank you.

Regards,

Patrick Silas,
Lodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We have enjoyed two nights in this very nice lodge. We enjoyed a very good buffet in the evening. We had a very nice room. If I would return to africa, I would definitively go again to this nice lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octagon L, Manager at Octagon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Your happiness is our happiness.

Being far away from home, your stay becomes your second house.

We are indeed happy to learn that we met your expectations and as such fulfilled your dreams.

Thank you for review and wish a healthy 2018.

Regards,


Patrick Silas,
Lodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We stayed here for three nights to visit both Ngorongoro crate and Lake Manyara. Coming back to this beautifully landscaped place was such a charm ! The rooms r spacious , clean , beautifully decorated . Hot water in our room was not great , but I cant complain about anything else here :) . The lady chef is a very talented food , we used to eagerly await all meals to relish the spread. The hotel was also kind enough to help us arrange a party for our friend's birthday , they made all the favorite things he likes n baked a cake for him ! Thank you for your lovely hospitality :)

Room Tip: we were in cabin 8 , its away from the main area but we loved it !
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank drnamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octagon L, Manager at Octagon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us.

Its great to hear that you received great service from our staff towards your friend's birthday.

We thank you for your review and look forward to host you always

Regards,


Patrick Silas,
Lodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews