We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
128
57
14
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
57
14
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity oil lamps the river jungle experience knowledgeable guides alfredo fresh bananas juan carlos daily excursions staff was incredibly friendly whole thing amazing waterfall sights and sounds motorcycle trip rio napo warm water before dinner
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I went to Cotococha to relax after three weeks climbing in the Andes. We had a great time - very relaxing, great environment- super friendly staff, great food, knowledgeable guides. This was our first time in the Amazonas and we were totally pleased with the experience. The activities were well balanced, really relaxing - just what we were looking for. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a great and relaxing holiday in a comfortable place but still in a 'wilderness - jungle' environment. (Photo - made our own chocolate from a cocoa seeds!)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank edita36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotococha, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

It was our pleasure to host you at Cotococha Amazon Lodge during your stay in the Ecuadorian Amazon Jungle. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
It is always a sincere honor to hear from guests who thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay and we´ll be sure to share your kind comments with the whole team.
We will all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

What a wonderful place - all facilities were fabulous and you couldn't ask for a better location.
We were the only guests the evening we stayed and had very personal attention. The dinner was exceptional - very tasty!
Additionally, Hurricane Irma was heading straight for our home town (Tampa) and we were extremely worried - the manager (Karim) could not have done more to help us be in touch with family back home and also assisted in arranging for us to get back to Quito quickly and a hotel to stay in when we got there so that we could return home earlier than scheduled.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeaandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotococha, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear BeaandBeth,
Thank you for choosing COTOCOCHA during your stay in the Ecuadorian Amazon forest and for sharing a positive comment with us. It was our pleasure to host you and to help you contacting your family in Tampa during the Irma hurricane. We hope you have not found much damage back home.
We will all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

My husband and I spent a few days at Cotococha Lodge during our honeymoon trip to Ecuador. The staff, everyone from the manager Juan Carlos to the restaurant/hospitality staff to the tour guides were all gracious hosts and provided everything we needed for a great experience. When the weather wouldn't allow us to go on the excursion we had wanted to, Juan Carlos made other suggestions that turned out to be fantastic.

The lodge itself is very clean and well-,maintained. We enjoyed the pool the day we arrived. The lodge was comfortable and set up in a way that you could meet new people if you wanted to, or you could hang back and do your own thing.

We went on a jungle walk and saw an incredible variety of plants and insects, we took a boat down the river to a local community who showed us how to make pottery, shoot blow darts, make chicha and pan for gold. We also got to visit a wildlife refuge center where we saw a huge variety of animals that are in various states of rehab and/or retirement in a safe place. We learned and experienced so much during our excursions and really enjoyed them. I have been to a similar lodge with similar experiences in Peru and my biggest complaint there was that some of the excursions were a bit too long and there wasn't sufficient down time to relax and just enjoy being out there. Cotococha provided a great balance of being both busy and seeing a lot of interesting things, but also having time to just relax and be on vacation as well.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotococha, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Kristine,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Cotococha Amazon Lodge during your honeymoon trip in Ecuador. It was our pleasure to host you and thank you for taking the time to share your excursions experience with other travelers. It is always a sincere honor to hear from guests who thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay and we´ll be sure to share your kind comments with the whole team.
We will all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We had a great family trip in Cotococha . It was easy to get to , the direction were very clear on the website. Juan Carlos , the adminstraor was very helpfull . The Kichwa native guide Alfredo was great and very knowlagable . The treks and tubbing on the Rio Napo were very well coordinated. Nothing like coming back from the jungle and being able to get into the jacuzzi . Take towels on the treks!! Will be back!

Room Tip: Get the cabins by the river . Ask which cabins have hot water
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PepePitMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotococha, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Mr. Pepe,
Thank you a lot for having chosen Cotococha Amazon Lodge and for sharing your positive comment with us.
We are happy to know that our Lodge and excursions pleased all your family. We wish to welcome your family and friends back again for your next stay in the Ecuadorian Amazon jungle.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for recommending our Lodge.
Best Regards,
Cotococha Amazon Lodge Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This is one of my favorite places in the world. After 8 days and almost 1,000 miles on a motorcycle, this was the perfect ending to a trip. we arrived in the afternoon and were greeted warmly and shown our room (actually a cabin). We were promptly invited on an excursion, which took us up the Napo river on a motorized canoe to a trail through the jungle that ended at an absolutely amazing waterfall. our guide, Marco, i believe, took the time to share his knowledge of the flora and fauna along the way and even found a millipede for me to hold! we spent a bit of time swimming at the falls and returned to the river where we got into inner tubes and floated down the river at almost sunset (the canoe is present in the event you don't want to float). it was an absolutely beautiful experience.
we returned to the lodge with a bit of time to relax before dinner was served; the food here is incredible - some of the best we had on our trip through the country. after dinner we had a "dessert activity," which consisted of learning about and participating in the making of chocolate!!! we finished by eating our fresh chocolate with fresh bananas and ladyfingers. what an experience!!!
afterward, we walked by lantern (there is no electricity here) to our cabin and finished the evening relaxing on the patio over the river and admiring the sights and sounds of the Amazon.

the room was clean and cozy and all the staff was incredibly friendly. this is such a beautiful and relaxing property! i highly recommend a stay here; i only wish we could have stayed longer, but i definitely intend to return!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaraDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotococha, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Cotococha Amazon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Ms. Lara,
Thank you a lot for having chosen Cotococha Amazon Lodge and for sharing your wonderful comment with us.
We are happy to know that our Lodge represented one of your favorite places that you have visited during your stay in Ecuador. We are pleased to know that your stay and excursions went that well. We wish to welcome you back again for your next stay in the Ecuadorian Amazon jungle.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for recommending our Lodge.
Best Regards,
Cotococha Amazon Lodge Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews