We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
128
57
15
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
57
15
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity alfredo the river jungle experience knowledgeable guides fresh bananas juan carlos daily excursions staff was incredibly friendly whole thing amazing waterfall sights and sounds motorcycle trip rio napo warm water before dinner three weeks
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2011

After a four-night stay at Cotocoha Lodge, we would heartily recommend Cotococha to anyone. The service was excellent and so was the food. A special mention must go to Sylvia, Jairo, Ricardo for their excellent service at the lodge and to Isaia, the jungle guide who led us on our various excursions.

As for the excursions, they are well planned and the guides are very knowledgeable. A highlight for us was visiting a Kichwa (Qechua) indigenous community with our guide Isaia - who also happens to be a member of that community. There are plenty of excursions to choose from at Cotococha - from a short tubing rides down the river to full-day excursions into the jungle.

Rooms at Cotococha are quite comfortable and you will be lulled to sleep by the sounds of the jungle and the rippling waters of the Napo River. The rooms do not have electricity, but you are provided with two kerosene lamps that keep the room lit enough to read. Paths to the cabins are also lined with kerosene lamps to help you find your way through the grounds.

Room tip: Ask for a cabin along the river.
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenLangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the lodge and it was a nice experience. The rooms are all in little houses, sometimes one room in a house, sometimes 3 in a house. We stayed in an upstairs room and had our own balcony.
The lodge has only electiricity in the restaurant and the bar but once it starts to get dark they illumate the paths and bring 2 oillamps to your room. One for the room and one for the bathroom. The bathrooms are big enough with toilet and shower with hot water. We had several showers and always warm water though it takes a few minutes for the hot water to start running.
Both dinner and breakfast are served at set times but if you have to leave early they will serve you full breakfast (eggs, bread, fresh fruit, fruit juice, coffee, tea). The menu at dinner is set and depending on the amount of people staying will be served at your table or as a buffet. The bar has a fire wich is lighted at night and gives you the opportunity to talk to other travelers.
We went on an motorized canoe trip and visited a wildlife refuge, a village with monkeys and local village were we where shown some handicrafts. The lodge provided good rubberboots and poncho's against the rain.
Staff was very friendly and some of them spoke English quite well.
An experience I can recommand to everyone who wants to see something of the jungle but also wants some luxury.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satehstokje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We arranged 6 days trip with the lodge,visiting terms de papallacta, the amazon lodge, baños, Cotopaxi volcano, a colibri farm and salasaca community. It was simply marvelous. For less than 1000$ we had a personal guide and driver (Carlos and Luis) which made our trip special and perfect. The van was new and clean!a trip with a marvelous (we also went to Galapagos to make it more special), The best value for our money! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Date of stay: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luigidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We were very excited about the Lodge based on reviews. We spend a lot of time camping and we were not expecting anything spectacular, we simply wanted a comfortable base to explore the area from -- hot water was a must and I even emailed the Lodge in advance to confirm that they in fact had hot water.

From day one our shower had cold water. We let the staff know and they were very apologetic and promised to fix the problem. We let them know that we didn't mind switching cabins if they couldn't fix it. We came back from a full day including a hike and visit to a local community and wanted a shower before dinner. Again, no hot water. We let the management know again and they again promised to fix the problem. A couple hours later we went back to the room and still, no hot water. They assured us it would be fixed by morning. We again offered to switch cabins (the place was nearly empty) but they promised it would be fixed by morning. Suprise, Suprise, the next morning we STILL had cold water. We were given no discount or any type of consolation. There are many other nearby lodges which don't advertise hot water and are much less expensive.

The lunch and dinner meals were great and very filling. Unfortunately the breakfast was severely lacking. The staff was very nice (although not exactly helpful in fixing a cold shower) and I highly recommend the butterful farm. Another downside is that not all of the cabins actually sit on the Rio Napo which is what the web site implies. Several are very far removed.

Pay the extra $50 and stay at the Hamadryade Lodge and you'll be guaranteed hot water and beautiful surrounding!

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kskwared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Cotococha Amazon Lodge is an escape for the adventurous traveler and is located in Tena, Ecuador at the mouth of the Amazon River. If you get a chance to stay at Cotococha make sure to rent one of the private cottages where you will find complete privacy among botanical paths and trails. Activities include tubing on the river, hiking to the nearest waterfalls, and serene nature walks through Cotococha's landscape. Happy travels! and check out the video of the lodge here http://bit.ly/aQmNng

Date of stay: May 2010
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DavidHMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews