We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
74
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful place attention to detail tuscan countryside incredible views were greeted warmly five star treatment private patio stayed nights croissants night stay perfect location every morning eggs anthony pool garden property
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Our stay at L’Olmo for the first part of our honeymoon was absolutely incredible. Gabriella & Giulia took impeccable care of me and my wife during our time at L’Olmo. We had reached out several months in advance and as the arrival date approached, they helped put together an amazing itinerary for us, full of unique, memorable activities that we will forever cherish. We stayed in the Pienza suite which was immaculate and charming – the perfect room for a couple on their honeymoon. The views were absolutely breathtaking and most importantly, the peacefulness that surrounded this place was palpable. Laying by the pool, the only sound we heard all day was the occasional ruffling of the trees – the peace and quiet was incredible and made it impossible not to completely unplug and relax. The location is fantastic if you are looking for things to do in the Tuscan countryside – Gabriella & Giulia helped us organize a day of wine tasting with a private driver/sommelier in Montepulciano and Montalcino, a cooking class & farm/cheese tour at Podere il Casale and provided us guidance on several fabulous meals, especially Osteria Acquacheta in Montelpuciano (make a reservation and come hungry for traditional Tuscan fare, you won’t be disappointed!). The meals we had at the hotel were also fabulous and the service, especially from Antonio, was first class. This truly is a gem in the middle of Tuscany and we hope to return one day to find this place exactly as we found it. Thank you for making our honeymoon so incredibly special!

Room Tip: Pienza Suite for incredible intimacy and views of the Tuscan countryside
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Mr. Scott B,

thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that we helped making your honemoon so special and it was a real pleasure organizing your stay with activities and tours in our beautiful region!
We hope you will decide to come and celebrate your anniversary each year at L'Olmo with us!
Look forward to seeing you again and send our kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We have had the privilege of staying for 11 days at L'Olmo and we never want to leave! Everything about it is extraordinary - from the stunning setting in the Tuscan hills, the beautifully furnished building, the luxurious suites, the lovely infinity pool (from which you can view and enjoy the luscious landscape of the D'Orcia Valley) to the most important part - the superb service provided by a wonderful team - Gabriella, Guilia, Anthony and all the staff - who can't do enough to make your stay perfect - planning days out, booking excellent restaurants, serving breakfast by the pool, in the pagoda or in your room. This truly is a gem and we shall be back as soon as possible. Thank you!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caromoon1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Caromoon1957,

what a pleasure reading your words!
It was lovely having you at L'Olmo for your stay. It was a pleasure taking care of your tours giving you tips and suggestion to best discover our wonderful region!
We really hope time will go fast and you will be back at L'Olmo again!
Our very kind regards from the whole staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We had an extraordinary stay at L'Olmo. We both commented that it was probably the nicest place we'd ever stayed, and we've traveled a lot. It was full of all kinds of thoughtful little touches-- from the fact that they tuck your room in at night, closing the shutters and leaving a treat by the bed, to the way they are constantly on hand to address any need or concern. It was IMMACULATELY clean and spacious, and it's hard to imagine a more beautiful location in Tuscany. The staff was top notch. We would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place!!!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Andi M,

thank you so much for your kind words!
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we deeply hope you will be back soon. This land is full of beautiful places to explore and we will be pleased to disclose them toyou :)
Many kind regards from Val d'Orcia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I recently enjoyed a 4-night stay at L'Olmo with my wife and our two children aged 12 and 9. As I sit here looking at the pictures I am counting the days to go back there again like someone who is missing a lost love.

This place is amazing. Not only the surroundings which are beyond compare but the service and the unparalleled attention you receive from Julia, Gabriella and Anthony are amazing. You fell like you have your own staff to ask for advice, make bookings for you and share the secrets of nearby places. I am sorry I don't know the names of the cook and the wonderful woman who clears your table but they couldn't be nicer.

We had planned to do many things once we were in Tuscany but I have to admit that many fell by the wayside as we elected to hang by the pool and have dinner at L'Olmo. We had just had a busy few days in Sorrento and L'Olmo was the perfect rest stop we needed before moving on to Florence. Next time we will budget a week in the area so we can tour a little more and rest by the poolside.

We enjoyed the L'olmo suite which gave us a sense of home. The children had their own room ( and their own bathroom complete with robes!) and we enjoyed our beautiful room which was wonderfully separated from the children's room by a cosy and comfortable sitting room.

Incredible views, beautiful rooms, attention to detail and an incredibly awesome staff. There were many times where we felt we were the only ones in this serene environment.

I suppose to be fair I should say we were the only ones with older kids there. The place is set up very well for couples both young and old who wish to spend some quality time together.I was a bit worried about the level of disruption our children are capable of causing. Fortunately for us, they loved the vanishing edge pool and were happy to spend hours in it and the others around the pool didn't seem to mind. But it wasn't busy at the pool ever.

So if you need a luxurious base to explore around Pienza and environs I highly recommend L'Olmo. You'll love it. At least I know we did!

Room Tip: All good I would think!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Worlddrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Worlddrummer,

nothing to say but a big big thank you for your lovely and so detailed review about your stay with us.
L'Olmo is indeed a great place to rest and just enjoy the peace and the beauty of this incredible land which is Val d'Orcia. The team here is a big family and we always do our best to assure our Guests can have the most comfortable and memorable stay!
It was a pleasure having you and your family with us, your kids were more than well behaved and we really hope you will have the chance of coming back next year!
Many kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

This hotel is simply fantastic. We (family of four incl. two 10+14 yrs old daughters) stayed in the Olmo Suite for 4 nights, and it was magnificent. L'Olmo only have seven suites in total, and they are spacious and furnished and decorated with great taste and sense of high quality. Service is second-to-none and you feel welcomed and almost as part of the Olmo-family from the second you arrive. Views are spectacular and the pool is very nice. Only minor negatives to mention are 1) that the onsite restaurant have limited capacity and is very expensive compared to what you get, 2) the breakfast system where a stripped down version of continental is included but you have to pay extra for each egg or piece of fruit or glass of juice - and again it's too expensive, and 3) that for the kids it can be a bit too quiet - at least when we were there, our two kids were the only guests below 40 years. But in the end, these small things could not take away that this is one of the best holiday hotels we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Try "La Bandita" Restaurant in Pienza (also known as Townhouse Cafe)
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Morten Juel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Mr. ….
We thank you very much for your kind review and we are happy to know you had such a nice stay with us at L’Olmo.
Thank you also for your notes about our service; it is true our restaurant is exclusive for our in-house Guests and in order to assure our best service (also because everything from the kitchen is espresso) we cannot have more than a certain number of people for dinner; our prices are in line other hotels of our level.
Regarding our continental breakfast, it includes coffees and hot drinks, selection of yogurts and cereals, fruit juices, local homemade jams and honey, fresh pastries and croissants, home cooked cakes, selection of breads and panini, while we offer local pecorino sheep cheeses, hams and salami, eggs, fresh sliced fruits, squeezed fruits and centrifuges, which are considered à la carte.
Being in the heart of Val d'Orcia, L'Olmo is indeed a very quiet place, maybe too quite for kids but the garden and the pool are at their complete disposal.

We really hope you will have the chance of visiting us again, it was a great pleasure having you here with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews