We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you want time to stop.”
Review of L'Olmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Olmo
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I recently enjoyed a 4-night stay at L'Olmo with my wife and our two children aged 12 and 9. As I sit here looking at the pictures I am counting the days to go back there again like someone who is missing a lost love.

This place is amazing. Not only the surroundings which are beyond compare but the service and the unparalleled attention you receive from Julia, Gabriella and Anthony are amazing. You fell like you have your own staff to ask for advice, make bookings for you and share the secrets of nearby places. I am sorry I don't know the names of the cook and the wonderful woman who clears your table but they couldn't be nicer.

We had planned to do many things once we were in Tuscany but I have to admit that many fell by the wayside as we elected to hang by the pool and have dinner at L'Olmo. We had just had a busy few days in Sorrento and L'Olmo was the perfect rest stop we needed before moving on to Florence. Next time we will budget a week in the area so we can tour a little more and rest by the poolside.

We enjoyed the L'olmo suite which gave us a sense of home. The children had their own room ( and their own bathroom complete with robes!) and we enjoyed our beautiful room which was wonderfully separated from the children's room by a cosy and comfortable sitting room.

Incredible views, beautiful rooms, attention to detail and an incredibly awesome staff. There were many times where we felt we were the only ones in this serene environment.

I suppose to be fair I should say we were the only ones with older kids there. The place is set up very well for couples both young and old who wish to spend some quality time together.I was a bit worried about the level of disruption our children are capable of causing. Fortunately for us, they loved the vanishing edge pool and were happy to spend hours in it and the others around the pool didn't seem to mind. But it wasn't busy at the pool ever.

So if you need a luxurious base to explore around Pienza and environs I highly recommend L'Olmo. You'll love it. At least I know we did!

Room Tip: All good I would think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Worlddrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Worlddrummer,

nothing to say but a big big thank you for your lovely and so detailed review about your stay with us.
L'Olmo is indeed a great place to rest and just enjoy the peace and the beauty of this incredible land which is Val d'Orcia. The team here is a big family and we always do our best to assure our Guests can have the most comfortable and memorable stay!
It was a pleasure having you and your family with us, your kids were more than well behaved and we really hope you will have the chance of coming back next year!
Many kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

This hotel is simply fantastic. We (family of four incl. two 10+14 yrs old daughters) stayed in the Olmo Suite for 4 nights, and it was magnificent. L'Olmo only have seven suites in total, and they are spacious and furnished and decorated with great taste and sense of high quality. Service is second-to-none and you feel welcomed and almost as part of the Olmo-family from the second you arrive. Views are spectacular and the pool is very nice. Only minor negatives to mention are 1) that the onsite restaurant have limited capacity and is very expensive compared to what you get, 2) the breakfast system where a stripped down version of continental is included but you have to pay extra for each egg or piece of fruit or glass of juice - and again it's too expensive, and 3) that for the kids it can be a bit too quiet - at least when we were there, our two kids were the only guests below 40 years. But in the end, these small things could not take away that this is one of the best holiday hotels we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Try "La Bandita" Restaurant in Pienza (also known as Townhouse Cafe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Morten Juel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Mr. ….
We thank you very much for your kind review and we are happy to know you had such a nice stay with us at L’Olmo.
Thank you also for your notes about our service; it is true our restaurant is exclusive for our in-house Guests and in order to assure our best service (also because everything from the kitchen is espresso) we cannot have more than a certain number of people for dinner; our prices are in line other hotels of our level.
Regarding our continental breakfast, it includes coffees and hot drinks, selection of yogurts and cereals, fruit juices, local homemade jams and honey, fresh pastries and croissants, home cooked cakes, selection of breads and panini, while we offer local pecorino sheep cheeses, hams and salami, eggs, fresh sliced fruits, squeezed fruits and centrifuges, which are considered à la carte.
Being in the heart of Val d'Orcia, L'Olmo is indeed a very quiet place, maybe too quite for kids but the garden and the pool are at their complete disposal.

We really hope you will have the chance of visiting us again, it was a great pleasure having you here with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Our family of 5 (two adults and three children, ages 12, 9 and 6) have just returned home from a 4-night stay at L'Olmo. We are still glowing with the warmth, beauty and graciousness of this gem of a hotel. It is not easy to find a hotel of true character and charm that is also staffed with the most welcoming, thoughtful and attentive team. It is even more difficult to find such a hotel that is so truly accommodating of and welcoming to children. I believe the name of our suite was the Val d'Orcia and it could not have been more enchanting: 3 large bedrooms and 2 spacious baths spread out on the second level of the hotel. Everyone felt cozily together and also had their privacy. All of our needs were anticipated before we could even think them. The farmhouse itself is a perfectly restored structure of wood and stone, very tastefully decorated. The pool and surrounding vistas are just unmatched. But what stands out the most is the staff. Personable, gracious, attentive and truly a joy to interact with. Everyone matched this description, but we had more encounters with Gulia and Anthony, whose excellent English compensated for our very poor Italian. In light of the excellence of everything, we frankly consider the hotel to be quite reasonably priced. We would consider ourselves incredibly fortunate to return one day and can't recommend L'Olmo more highly.

Room Tip: Families travelling with 2-3 children would be well served to ask for the upper floor suite, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank valkat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you so much Mrs. valkat12,
your family was just lovely and it was a real pleasure for us having you here at L'Olmo.
Please do come back again soon ti enjoy the beauty and peace of this land and of course do come back to stay with us!
Ps. the Suite you had was our Olmo Suite, the biggest one!
Many kind regards form us all, a special one from Antony and Giulia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Everything was perfect... Beautiful rooms, delicious food, refreshing pool, divine views of the countryside, excellent service. Stayed for three nights for a magical wedding. Gabriella and Anna were terrific hosts and kept everything in order all the time. Their recommendations for activities and restaurants were always spot on.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Cathy917,

thank you very much for your lovely review.
The wedding was just gorgeous and we were all happy to help making it most special.
It was a pleasure having you among our Guests and taking care of your stay in tuscany.
We really hope you will have the chance of coming back soon.
Our very kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Attended niece's wedding in mid-July for three days or so. Great views, great facilities, and great staff--that pretty much sums up the experience. The staff members were especially helpful and accommodating with everything and did a beautiful job with all of the activities and decorations associated with the wedding. Our stay at L'Olmo was an experience to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fdw441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara I, Responsabile reception at L'Olmo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear fdw441,

thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at L'Olmo.
The wedding was absolutely delightful and it was a pleasure for us organizing evrything to make the event and your stay memorable.
We all send our best regards to you and your family and really hope we will have the pleasure of having you among our Guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticchiello
25.6 km away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
35 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
778 reviews
2.1 km away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Monticchiello
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
4.3 km away
Terre di Nano
Terre di Nano
#5 of 62 in Pienza
310 reviews
9.3 km away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Olmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Olmo

Address: Podere in Pienza, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Monticchiello
Price Range: $460 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Olmo 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Olmo is a small hotel de Charme in the heart of Val d'Orcia. An ancient farmhouse from XVII century, placed on the top of a gentle hill overlooking one of the most beautiful Tuscany valley. L'Olmo has been renovated in its interior and exterior designs, furniture, wall colours, hydro systems, air-conditioning and strong Wi-Fi. Surrounded by a green garden rich of plants as roses, geraniums, olive and cypress trees, L'Olmo offers a heated pool (12x8mt) equipped with all necessary to sunbathe all day long enjoying the stunning view of the hills all around and little paradisespots where to sit for a light lunch or a snack by the pool. Hidden beside the pool you will find a romantic Pergola, where the shadow will recover you after a sunny day; tables and chairs arethere for breakfast or candle light dinners. A cosy courtyard with sofas and armchairs accompany you to the interior of the house. The Billiard room is the main common area of the whole house. A stoned fireplace surrounded by velvet sofas, a furnished library with books and antiques then the billiard room, with chessboard and the grand Cannon Carambola table. By the sofa area, you will find also a projector where to enjoy a good movie or sports events. Still on the ground floor is the dining room for breakfast in the morning and dinners at night. The dining room respects the country style of the house: light colours for tables and chairs fabrics, white linen for the tables. Three Suites are on the ground floor, each with private garden with roses and climber grapevine Pergola, sunbathe bed chairs and tables for room-served breakfasts. The other four Suites are on the first floor: two can be connected and become a large apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a common living room with sofa bed and fire-place. The grandestroomof the house is "Suite Olmo"composed by a double bedroom with bathroom, common living room with fireplace and a smaller bedroom with single bed and private bathroom. The most scenery room of the house is for sure the "Library Suite"; it was the original Granary room for the old farmhouse and offers a 180° view on the countryside with a spectacular bricked wall which illuminates the high ceiling room (4 mt). Each roomis equipped with satellite tvs, safes, air-conditioning/heating; beds are covered by romantic canopies, wear cotton satin linens and have comfortable mattress (most of them are Simmons, except two special sized) Bathrooms have bathtubs and grand shower stull with powerful shower heads. Equipped with professional hairdryer, courtesy service with an Argan line of soaps and cremes, soft terry towel and bathrobes; from most of the bathrooms you can enjoy the marvellous view that L'Olmo offers form every side. The location is central with the most beautiful cities of Tuscany renaissance and is the ideal place to enjoy the nature, the peace and beauty of the Val d'Orcia and, last but not least, thanks to the special colours and lights of the landscape, it is perfect for photography lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your L'Olmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing