We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sixt Alpine Chalet

Our fantastic living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat! Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Our fantastic living room
With it's winter coat!
Our family room - 'Cathedrale'
Twin/triple room 'Tenneverge'
Double room 'Rouget'
Twin room 'Cascades'
The chalet in summer!
The back garden in the summer
Amazing off-piste skiing in the shadow of Mont Blanc!
Ski touring in the stunning mountains around Sixt
The Via Ferrata in Sixt - bring your head for heights!!
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The magical Lac du Volgelle - an easy day hike from the chalet
The village of Sixt in the Spring
The church in Sixt Fer a Cheval, just 2 minutes from the chalet
Le Point de Sales - Sixt
Para-penting at Samoens
Walking in a winter wonderland!!
The 'washing machine' section of the river Giffre, just after leaving Sixt
The slightly more leisurely end to your rafting trip from Sixt to Samoens
The stunning Fer a Cheval - 10 minutes drive from the chalet
The annual dog sled race - 'Le Grand Odyssee' - which passes through Sixt and the Fer a Che
Walking in the stunning Fer a Cheval
The secluded chalet garden is the perfect place to relax after a mountain activity
Amazing walking - all on the doorstep
The chalet is a great place to celebrate a special occasion - like this wedding reception.
The gorgeous 'Tenneverge' mountain in Sixt
Bathroom 'Tenneverge'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Sixt-Fer-a-Cheval, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Julia C
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in December 2012

First skiing holiday with my brother and sister and their families and had a fabulous holiday. Sean & Liam could not do enough for us to make us welcome and look after us the whole time. Always there to take us to the lifts and collect us even when we wanted an early finish. Coming back to a roaring fire and home-made cakes was a real treat and then a delicious 3 course meal meant the waistline suffered a bit!
The skiing was brilliant with Samoens proving the perfect place to learn with a great beginners area. Progression was easy onto harder blues and easier reds and the views from the top are simply stunning. Already booked in for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service. Food. Super-comfy accommodation
Liked least: Couldn't fault a thing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelRuss20...
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Catered Heaven in Ski Chalet”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

After a busy Christmas, it was great to get away. This was our first visit to Sixt. A lovely French village with a beautiful river running through it. The chalet was gorgeous. Probably one of the best we've stayed in. The rooms were comfortable and warm. The hot water was constant - even at full capacity when everyone comes in from a cold day skiing. My children were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely food and great service. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Sean and Julia, thank you so much for looking after us. A great trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of chalet
Liked least: telecabin access to slopes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatTheSki...
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So Good I am a Frequent Winter Visitor”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I see all the previous reviews are for the summer. This is a great place for a relaxing time skiing from a catered chalet. The welcome and food served up by Sean and Julia are outstanding, the en-suite rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and the living area is massive with a wood burning stove, three ample sofas, great views and lots of entertainment gadgets including WiFi internet. We normally drive there for maximum flexibility, but Sean offers lifts to and from the slopes (Sixt, Samoens or Morillon) and good rate transfers from Geneva if required. Sixt is a small, quiet and very picturesque village just a short steep walk down the hill and possessing a few good restaurants to consider on the night off. You can go to Samoens for interesting shopping and night life if that is your thing. We love the ski area both for its variety of accessible off-piste and its fantastic value season pass (break even after two weeks if bought in November). I have tried more than half a dozen other chalets in the Grand Massif, but this remains my first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Food and comfort
Liked least: My wife injured her knee skiing. The steep path from the car parking to the front door was tough but manageable on crutches.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chalet is large and well-equiped. It also has a large garden.
Liked least: The accessibility by car is limited.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing