We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a fabulous day!

What a truly amazing experience. So interesting! My husband is a forager in the USA and was very... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2018
Pamela G
Tuscany at it's absolute finest!

Mu husband and I just celebrated our 40th Anniversary with a trip to Europe. Although we visited... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
Krystal N
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
15
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews would highly recommend this tour tagliatelle white truffle truffle hunt francesca stages chapel cocoa chef villa meals florence woods dog wine experience
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We visited Fattoria Collebrunacchi for a truffle hunting experience and it turned into the highlight of our trip. Francesca, who was our guide, our host and our chef provided such a great experience for us that we would do it again if we're ever in San Miniato. Ciocco, our truffle hunting dog was a highlight as well. The truffle hunt itself was wonderful because we, luckily, did not have a large group and ended up receiving a private truffle hunt. Ciocco was so great because he found 3-4 truffles even though we went during an off peak season. After the truffle hunt which took us through such beautiful countryside with olive trees and neighbors who were waving to us as we walked through the hillside, we came back to Francesca's home where she served us the most wonderful meal I've ever had in my life. We had our truffles and some wild asparagus we found during our walk in our freshly made meal with white truffle sauce, shaved truffle and truffle flavoring in our omelet, crostini, charcuterie and pasta which was the best tagliatelle I've ever had. Francesca and Ciocco made our experience in San Miniato so wonderful, 2 months later we're still regaling all of our friends and family about what a great experience we had there. I can't say enough about how great this was for us.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank Abfabsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

The restaurant offers many Tuscan specialities, including interesting truffle recipes. The white truffle dishes are included in a separate menu and are priced accordingly! Service is a bit slow and looks quite bored..

Simple choices for wine with excellent prices.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

As fledgling foodies, and just as people who like unique experiences, we had a blast on this day trip to San Miniato to find and eat truffles.

We took a morning train from Florence and were met at the station by Francesca, who drove us to her friends at Tartufo Nacci. There we went on an hour-long excursion with Ricardo and his dogs Nebbia (the bread-winner) and Luna (the adorable trainee). It was so fun to learn about the history and techniques behind truffle-hunting, and then to witness Nebbia as she did her work! She found 4 black truffles, which we took back to headquarters to wash and weigh.

After the truffle-hunting, Monica drove us to meet Francesca at her family's place, Fattoria Collebrunacchi. After giving us a tour of the lovely property, Francesca prepared the most amazing food for us -- charcuterie, thin beef filet, and homemade fettucini with our truffles shaved on top! It was one the best meals of our trip, no question. Francesca and Monica ate with us, and were pleasant company, friendly but not intrusive.

Then it was back to the train station, and back to Florence. Though we spent several more days in Italy, we kept thinking back on this excursion. Definitely a highlight for us!

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank butler730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

I could not wait to surprise my husband with this outing as he loves truffles. Francesca and Choco took us on a wonderful truffle hunting adventure and we found 1 good white truffle and 1 small white truffle that Francesca was going to use to train another dog. Then we found 3 good black truffles. We were hunting the first week of October, 2014 and loved going into the woods. The weather was perfect. Before our hunt we had a little wine with a treat then onto to hunt and after we were served a lovely anti pasta treat and then homemade pasta with truffle butter and fresh white truffles. Then came a little desert and a Happy Birthday song for me. WoW! Very thoughtful! Afterwards we walked the grounds, including a tour of the Chapel that is located on the grounds of the Villa. The family was lovely and I thank you for sharing your life with us.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank fromtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful morning truffle hunting with Francesca and Ciocco (Choco) the lively,clever dog. I've always wanted to do it and it didn't disappoint. A highlight was the 7 truffles we found - and of course eating them afterwards! The farm is extensive and spectacular and Francesca's hospitality was excellent. After the truffle hunt we were treated to pre-luncheon snacks and excellent white wine from their own stock followed by a very tasty luncheon cooked, accompanied by excellent red wines from the farm, and in served in an impressive wood-pannelled and hunting trophy-filled formal dining room. San Miniato is a 30 minute train journey from Florence and well worth the trip. We will be going again.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank KevinR773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews