We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Nearby Hotels
Carcavelos Surf Hostel(Carcavelos)(Great Value!)
USD 85
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Praia Mar Hotel(Carcavelos)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 55
Booking.com
View Deal
ABLA Guest House(Carcavelos)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 46
Booking.com
View Deal
Lagoas Park Hotel(Porto Salvo)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
80
150
85
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
150
85
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallnice hoteltrain stationsame buildingair conper daybar areapleasant staycold meatslisbon city centrepingo doceroom was clean and comfortablewithout exceptionplenty of fresh fruitplenty of choicesea viewminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

This Hotel enjoys a great location for the beach, transport links and is adjacent to a good quality shopping complex. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, but mine had to be rushed due to early work commitments. I wish hotels generally would start breakfast earlier than 7am to accommodate for the early risers and those needing to travel early in the day. I believe the outdoor pool is free for guests (please check readers) but for the indoor spa complex, including pool, there is an additional charge (I think I was quoted €10) as it is managed by a third party company and not the Hotel.

I had made a very late booking for a double room and was pleasantly surprised to receive a free upgrade to a junior suite, which was a very nice size. I’ve read a few of the other reviews on here and would agree that the bed was overly hard, though I slept ok, and that the towels were well used and could perhaps benefit from being refreshed. The decor was tired in places too.

Whilst waiting for breakfast to be served I enjoyed some of the original artwork that was on display and for sale, although I thought the prices being asked didn’t quite match the quality of art that was on display.

The few staff I had contact with were all professional, courteous and spoke excellent English.

Summing up, overall a very pleasant hotel and there wasn’t really anything that tainted my visit. I would recommend it, but checkout the other reviews too before you make your mind up.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera-Carcavelos, E-Commerce Manager at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Riviera. Please be assured that your valuable opinion will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, we do hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust in our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

I’ve stayed here many times over the years and I will continue to do so. The hotel has many advantages but also a few disadvantages.

Advantages:

5mins walk from the beach (max)
Very close to train station (10mins walk)
Close to A5 motorway (5mins drive)
Attached to shopping mall with Pingo Doce
Good breakfast
Plenty of nice restaurants close by
Great outdoor pool
Good reliable wi-fi

Disadvantages:

Old decor in rooms needs updating
Hotel is generally a bit tired and could do with a revamp

Overall, I’d recommend it but it’s not 5 star and a bit basic but the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.





Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank daveincork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera-Carcavelos, E-commerce Manager at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos.
We very much appreciate the attention to detail with every aspect throughout Riviera Hotel and the journey of your stay, we will share your comments and feedback with the respective Heads of Departments.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another stay at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos when we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations and earn a five star review.
Kind regards,

Carla Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

A lovely, quiet and well situated hotel with welcoming staff. Because it’s out of season, tourists are few but attendees at a conference seemed to be the main guests in addition to sportsmen. Sea views from my room were good. The mattress and pillow were far too hard to sleep comfortably however. But the good breakfast (almost) made up for it!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gakeitse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera-Carcavelos, E-Commerce Manager at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Riviera. Please be assured that your valuable opinion will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, we do hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust in our hotel.

Best regards

Carla Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel in August 2017. During the stay at the hotel we were billed for a crack formed in the acrylic bath of our room. How the crack formed we do not know. No evidence, except for the words that there used to be a crack, was not presented by the administration. Furniture and plumbing in the room are not new and need updating. In case of failure to pay the bill, the hotel administration said that it would call the police. In order not to spoil with the police in another country, we had to pay the bill.
To avoid the occurrence of such situations, photograph the number, or draw up certificate of acceptance of the room with a description of all the shortcomings when settling in this hotel
Photos of what can be shown to you for compensation are attached.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vse2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera-Carcavelos, E-Commerce Manager at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos.
We very much appreciate the attention to detail with every aspect throughout Riviera Hotel and the journey of your stay, we will share your comments and feedback with the respective Heads of Departments. We deeply regret this incident but what we can assure you is that the bathtub was in perfect conditions upon your arrival, otherwise you could have reported to our reception desk. Which is the common procedure.
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
Best regards

Carla Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We arrived early as we had a wedding to go to the same day. Check in was 3pm, so we asked if we could check in a little earlier. At 2pm the room was still not ready, but we were offered to stay round the pool and enjoy the sun. They got our room ready for 2.30pm which was very helpful to us, bearing in mind we were in the midst of the peak holiday season. We also asked for the iron and the board which was delivered to our room in the next 30 mins. Most staff were super nice, smiley and polite. Cleaners would always say good morning and smile at you, makes such a difference. Just generally staff seemed to be switched on with common sense which is not very common these days. While I think the hotel itself is a little bit dated with the decor and the plastic flowers are no longer in (not sure it ever was to be honest), the ocean views from the lifts and our room was pretty epic. I also really appreciated the cleanliness, it was kept super clear in all areas of the hotel starting from the room, to lobby to the outside pool area. As for the amenities, the hotel is literally connected to a small shopping mall so it can be very helpful if i.e. you forget your swimming trunks like I did. There are also some great food places across the road. And then of course the see, it is practically stone throw away - 5-10 minutes walk. And if you get bored of the see head to Lisbon for only 1.45 Euro to spend the day! Perfect location to serve variety of holiday needs!

Room Tip: Convenient location, close to see and restaurants. Easy reach to Lisbon if you want a city day out.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gedas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera-Carcavelos, E-Commerce Manager at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time commenting on our Hotel and our team after your visit to Hotel Riviera, we will share your comments and feedback with the respective Heads of Departments.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a second stay at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos when we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations and earn a five star review.
Kind regards,

Carla Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews