We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Suprise”

The Walrus Oyster and Ale House
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located at National Harbor The Walrus Oyster & Ale House prides itself on serving the finest domestic seafood and freshly shucked oysters available. Moderately priced and casual in approach, guests enjoy spectacular views of the Potomac River and Old Town Alexandria from the heart of the National Harbor. The name, The Walrus Oyster & Ale House, is inspired by the Lewis Carroll poem The Walrus and The Carpenter. "O, Oysters, said the Carpenter, You've had a pleasant run! Shall we be trotting home again? But answer came there none And this was scarcely odd, because They'd eaten every one." - Lewis Carroll
Reviewed 26 February 2018

My wife and I visited the National Harbor this past weekend. As it was the CPAC conference at the Gaylord, reservations for dinner were non existent at all local restaurants. Although the Walrus was busy, they were able to seat us almost immediately. Great Bloody Marylanders (Virgin Mary) which preceded a super crab dip with vegetables (as we were gluten intolerant) and the best hamburgers we've had in a great while. Ambiance was great as we enjoyed watching the guy shucking fresh oysters. Service was just as good. Overall, we enjoyed it immensely,

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank docbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018

I worked near national harbor for about six months and came here once a week with my wife who visited. We had a weekly "date" night here and can honestly say that this place is wonderfully. From the attractions being within walking distance to shops, hotels and great views, to the fresh clean oysters and beer this place is recommend for individuals looking to enjoy themselves. Whether your on a date or visiting I would make this place a must if eating in the harbor.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Any time I'm in National Harbor I'm sure to come here. Being an Okie, I don't get fresh shucked oysters often and they offer some great specials on certain varieties. The food is perfect if you're looking to feel a little better after a late night of networking.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank mbarnes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Been twice. Had great experience both times. Large variety of oysters from local and Delmava area. The oyster sample platter was wonderful. Other seafood galore! Appetizers and soaps were excellent. All food we had tasted fresh, and was cooked great. Excellent presentation. Try the lobster bisque soup.

Known brand name and area microbrew beers in draft or bottle. You can take a fresh poured draft home in convenient glass jug.

Warm, comfortable atmosphere. Family friendly. Great bar area. Seating for small intimate or large gatherings

Reasonable cost and nice Happy Hour menu.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sscott3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

An eclectic menu, mostly seafood oriented, BUT with other options. Great PEI Mussels dishes, great Caesar salad, and based on those, a restaurant you should try. Informal too!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walrus Oyster and Ale House also viewed

National Harbor, MD
National Harbor, MD
 
National Harbor, MD
National Harbor, MD
 

Been to The Walrus Oyster and Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing