We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Winery in the area”
Review of Jester Hill Wines

Jester Hill Wines
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 7/3
20:00
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Glen Aplin
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

We accidentally found Jester Hill Winery yesterday. They had some local artists doing the Art Trail live art and letting tourists participate in water colours. They were brilliant and also had their own works for sale on the walls - of particular note landscapes, so beautiful and reasonably priced.

The owner of the winery was behind the tasting counter...... what an amazing person. Very down to earth, knowledgeable and generous person. We really wanted to spend more time here but alas had to keep moving.

The vines are in excellent condition, as are the rest of the grounds. The kitchen was serving a large group of cyclists and the whole atmosphere was fantastic.

The wines are on the higher end price wise but very good and the prices are fair for the quality. You may join the mailing list and get a very decent discount for just purchasing 6 bottles a year....... well worth the commitment.

The wine list is VERY VERY good.

I would recommend this winery as a MUST SEE experience. Take your time here and stay for lunch. We are coming back to the Granite Belt again soon, purely to come here.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Jenflipcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jester_Hill_Wines, Owner at Jester Hill Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thanks Jen for your fabulous review. We are so pleased that your experience was a positive one. If you are in the area over the winter period come and enjoy our son’s beautiful Goat and Shiraz Pie. Enjoy a Petit Verdot as well. Enjoy your purchases Ann and Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2019

We popped into Jester Hill while riding between Stanthorpe and Ballandean and we were so impressed with the whole family business, the friendly welcome and only wished we could have stayed for lunch - it looked fabulous. We will be back.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank LoveTravel787291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jester_Hill_Wines, Owner at Jester Hill Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2019

Thank for taking the time to give us such a great review. The family side of the business is something that we cherish. It is such a good feeling working together :) and producing excellent wine and food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

We went to Jester Hill Winery with a tour for tasting and lunch the wine was wonderful, the lunch was awesome, we had goat and shiraz pie and for desert we had whisky and date pudding, so good, thank you YUM

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jester_Hill_Wines, Owner at Jester Hill Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

Hi Deb thanks for your ‘awesome’ review. We are a family business and strive for the best. All who had the Goat Pie for the first time loved it as well. We look forward to looking after you once again :) cheers Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019

Jester Hills was one of our stopovers on our wine and dine guided weekend tour. The cafe and wine collection were quite good and the big eagle statue at the front of the winery was really quite majestic. One winery worth a visit if you get a chance. I asked the bus drive how it got its name. Something to do with the previous owner pointing to a nearby hill and saying it was just a hill and not a a mountain. Hence Jester Hill.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jester_Hill_Wines, Owner at Jester Hill Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review Jester Hill. We are excited to learn that you enjoyed your experience. ‘Glenda’ the wedgetail is the most photographed aspect of our vineyard i am sure :) i look forward to your next visit. Cheers Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019

Having just moved to the Granite Belt (retired up here to learn how to make wine) it was a very pleasant surprise to find that Jester Hill was only a couple of kilometres from our new abode. Visited here once before, on both occasions had lunch and a tasting and enjoyed both very much, if the Tempura Flathead is on the menu, I highly recommend it.
Good operators who know what they are about !

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gblocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jester_Hill_Wines, Owner at Jester Hill Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thanks you so much for taking the time to review us following your visit. Mick and I love sharing our story with all who visit. All feedback is graciously accepted. And yes the Tempura Flathead is on as usual.
Look forward to another visit soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jester Hill Wines also viewed

 
Stanthorpe, Southern Downs Region
 

Been to Jester Hill Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.