We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,540)
Filter reviews
2,540 results
Traveller rating
1,674
592
164
68
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,674
592
164
68
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue vanilla main restaurant junior suite beach boys all inclusive package african restaurant our honeymoon stone town dream come true themed nights african night hakuna matata low tide seafood restaurant recommend this resort palm trees beach area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,540 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2021

We spent 11 days at this excellent hotel in Zanzibar during NY and Xmas. The hotel itself is amazing - big area with garden, very good facitliies with 2 pools, own beach, spa facilities, 4 great restaurants with delicious food.
The most important thing which makes your stay memorable are people - very friendly staff & attentive GM of the hotel who cares of his guests every day.
We had wonderful partys for NY & Xmas with delicious seafood like lobsters and live music & got even a bootle of wine as a present for celebration of Xmas from GM.
But due to location on the eastern cost of the island there are low tides of the ocean practically the whole day, so that if you want to relax and are happy with pool that hotel is definetly for you. We wanted to spend more time in the ocean and had chosen first the hotel on the western part of Zanzibar where the low tides are not so expressive, but our travel agency changed the hotel for this. So there was quite disappointing that we did not enjoy the ocean as we wanted & only some hours in the afternoon or even in the evening when the water was back. The water temperature was like in the hot bath!
There are also lot of seaweed during the tide, but during the low tide you can discover lots of sea stars, sea urchins and other creations so you need slippers for swimming or walking in the water. There are also lots of local intrusive people standing at the beach and offering different excursions for the guests what is also a little bit disturbing if you want to relax.
All in all great job of the staff & really wonderful hotel!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S6289XTekaterinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsche Dumagude, Guest Services / Front Office at TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

What a great way to the start the week! Thank you for your wonderful review and for being so informative. It has been a tough year, but we're so pleased to have spent Christmas and New Years with you as our guest. Your kind words about our staff has put a big smile on our faces. They really do try to make everyone's stay a comfortable an memorable one. We're so pleased that on top of that, our facilities and food options met your expectations. As we are located on the north eastern coast, we are affected by the tides. This gives our guests the best of both worlds, where they can swim in the warm waters and walk out to the reef and witness the ocean life. Of course it is not ideal for everyone, but we can pass it as an experience. The seaweed season is almost at a close. We have a dedicated team that goes out daily to remove all that has washed up on the public beach. Thank you once again and we really hope to see you again. We wish you well for 2021. Please keep safe and keep healthy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

After the nightmare of the airport Tui Blue was an oasis. the hotel itself is lovely (some locally are not so great), the staff were great - helpful, polite and happy! Our room was superb - they gladly gave us an upgrade as we were on honeymoon, thank you Tui Blue!! What we also loved was the food: not just that it was delicious and fresh but very evening something new and different. To really spoil yourselves ask for the Beach seafood special dinner - stunning fresh seafood and super fresh lobster. If you are planning to go to Zanzibar, then plan to visit here.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank BeeGee123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsche Dumagude, Guest Services / Front Office at TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

What a great review! Thank you so much for allowing TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar to host you in the celebration of your marriage. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities, services and ever-smiling team, who are always ready to assist. The seafood dinner is our favorite too, and so happy you got to experience it. We wish you nothing but the best for your marriage and the year ahead! Hope to welcome you back to TUI BLUE soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

I stayed here with my family from 31st December 2020 to 3rd January 2021. The NYE celebrations were good except for a speaker problem and the fact that the service was extremely poor - we asked for champagne glasses 4 different times to 3 difference waiters and nobody delivered until finally we took them off another table. However here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Rooms are spacious

Cons:
1. Bathrooms in the room reek of sewage
2. Not clean - pillows smelt horrible, bedsheets have stains on them.
3. Understaffed significantly - you have to order things repeatively to get them at the buffet like water, soda or coffee.
4. Staff were a bit racist - they preferred to serve the Russian because they get their tips in dollars.
5. Poor management - we were there when a huge fleet of Russian tourists had arrived. There was no law or order at the buffet. For example: if you stood near the live grilled counter waiting for meat, the Russian ahead of you would fill his / her plate to the top clearing out whatever was cooked (probably waste half the plate of food too) and you were then left there waiting for another 15 minutes for food to be cooked for you.
6. The waiters / staff are inexperienced - if something ran out, say ice cream at the dessert section, they wouldn’t replace it with more ice cream. You had to ask the main manager to fetch a new tub. Again, Russian take everything and you’re left standing.
7. Food is always cold. We had lunch at Taste of Asia - food was terrible. The French fries are the only thing to rave about.
8. Beach is dirty (not the hotels fault) but the picture are deceiving - beach is not clean. If you want a clean beach better to go to Nungwi.
9. They treat local Tanzanians / Indians like secondary guests (even though we paid more than the Russians) which was quite frustrating.

Overall:
There are far better hotels in Pwani region and much better hotels in Zanzibar that are more value for money.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank travelersp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsche Dumagude, Guest Services / Front Office at TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Good day to you. We would like to thank you for your feedback and constructive criticism. We regret to know that our facilities and service did not meet your expectations. We will most certainly take all points in a positive light, as this allows us to reflect and improve where need be, however we would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please could you email the BLUE Guide Manager: Porsche.dumagude@tui-blue.com at your earliest convenience. We wish you a successful 2021.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021

We spent 11 great days in this hotel. And I want to say a special word about the work of personnel, they do the great job! And always ready to respond to any guests’ demands, from room service, guarding the beach to accompanying in any activities, such as visiting local villages and having coral reef walk. Many thanks to the staff especially to Santana!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank _B6329SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsche Dumagude, Guest Services / Front Office at TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2021

Happy New Year! Thank you for allowing us to host you at TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar. When we have happy guests such as yourself, we know our hard work has paid off, and thank you for recognizing that we try our best to make everyone's stay a comfortable and memorable one. We wish you nothing but the best for 2021 and really hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

Good service, clean rooms with ocean view. Staff were really friendly and help us in a lot of things . Taste food. Nice live music during the dinner. Special thanks to Nurdin and his team for great service and friendly attitude.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank triffonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsche Dumagude, Guest Services / Front Office at TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

What a way to end off the year! Thank you so much for your kind words. They really go far at a time like this. On behalf of TUI BLUE Bahari Zanzibar, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We're thrilled that our facilities, friendly staff an beach met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to your home away from home in the near future. Have a wonderful 2021!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews