We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Host, Great Cook, Great Apartment, Great...”
Apartment Gufo with spiral staircase leading to sleeping loft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment Gufo with spiral staircase leading to sleeping loft
Roomy sleeping loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Apartment Gufo with spiral staircase leading to sleeping loft
Roomy sleeping loft
Sleeping loft
Looking down
Kitchen with marble counter
Cooking lessons are given in the palazzo's main kitchen.
Meals can be served on the terrace off the kitchen
Join us for meals in the main dining hall on the ground floor
Wine tastings in the cantina on the ground floor
Bettona
The valley with Assisi in the distance
Fields near Bastardo
Morning mist
The Sibilini mountains' Piano Grande
Summer glory
Spoleto's duomo
Along the road in Cannara
Along the road in Cannara
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Bettona, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hermanus...
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Host, Great Cook, Great Apartment, Great View”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Staying in Bettona was definitely a good choice and Palazzo Fiumi-LaPlaca: Gufo probably the best in town. The host/cook definitely made us feel at home. The rustic finish with all amenities made for a very nice stay. We had Palazzo Fiumi-LaPlaca: Gufo as home-base and traveled in all directions on daytrips. Our apartment made for a good kick-back after every busy day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cooking, history, location and the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Michael is a fantastic host.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RGKG51
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All we expected...and more.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Umbria. During that time, we stayed 10 days at Palazzo Fiumi-LaPlaca in the Gufo apartment. First of all, Bettona is an authentic Umbrian hill town that is completely charming and picturesque. The views over the rooftops of the surrounding hills and valley were right out of a travel magazine. From the medieval walls to the postcard piazza, it is everything you could want in a true Italian village.

And we were just as pleased with the Palazzo Fiumi and our wonderful loft apartment. Michael has done a masterful job in completely renovating the former royal home to modern standards while retaining all the features that make you feel you are truly in the heart of Italy. Michael himself goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable and that you have the best recommendations for sightseeing and dining. The fact that he speaks English and Italian fluently is a plus for any non-Italian speaking visitor. His suggestions were spot on and he cooks a fabulous meal made fresh with local produce and ingredients. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Palazzo Fiumi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authentic feel of Bettona
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondac...
Southern Adirondacks
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic trip - perfect location, terrific host, great accomodations”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was in a beautifully restored palazzo, located in a small hilltown, with all the neccesities (ATM, restaurant, cafe on the piazza and groceries) just a short walk away. Michael the owner is available as much or as little as you need, to guide on what to see and do. It's centrally located with Assisi, Perugia and Deruga to name just a all just a short drive away. What did we like, waking up looking out over the countryside, morning cappuccino on the Piazza, walking outside the walls in the evening, visiting the other hilltowns, the wine, the food and the country side What didn't we like - leaving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up in the apartment to find we really there
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio N
West Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
“Best B&B ever!!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012 for a stay in September 2011

This was actually the second time I've stayed at Michael's B&B in Bettona. He's an amazing person and his house is absolutely gorgeous, comfortable, classy and rich in nice architectural details.

Our bedroom had incredible views from the city, was large, had wifi and was very quiet too. So, it's definitely a nice place to relax.

Michael is a great cook and meals were awesome ..a mix of American and Italian/local dishes.

Although this was not included in our package, he was so kind to pick us up and drop us off at the train station upon arrival & departure, not too mention the great guided tour he took us on at the nearby city of Assisi.

As a gay couple, me and my partner felt very welcome there and totally recommend the place if you're looking for good prices, great bedrooms and a relaxing time !!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and views from it are amazing!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing